Cost comparison
Affordable colleges in New Jersey
CampusPin lists 85 colleges in New Jersey. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $6,914 and a median average net price of $8,147 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.
New Jersey college costs by the numbers
- Lowest published in-state tuition
- Camden County College ($4,320)
- Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
- $6,914
- Median net price after aid (38 reporting)
- $8,147
- Highest graduation rate
- Assumption College for Sisters (100%)
- Most selective
- Yeshiva Toras Chaim (44% acceptance)
- Largest by enrollment
- Middlesex College (12,044 students)
New Jersey colleges by published in-state tuition
Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.
| College | In-state tuition | Out-of-state tuition | Avg. net price | Graduation rate | Acceptance rate | Public/private | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Camden County College | $4,320 | $4,416 | $5,996 | 31% | Open admission | Public | Blackwood, NJ |
| Middlesex College | $4,764 | $7,356 | $6,000 | 33% | Open admission | Public | Edison, NJ |
| Ocean County College | $4,906 | $6,970 | $11,411 | 42% | Open admission | Public | Toms River, NJ |
| Bergen Community College | $4,913 | $9,294 | $10,345 | 21% | Open admission | Public | Paramus, NJ |
| Rowan College of South Jersey-Cumberland Campus | $5,160 | $6,000 | $6,549 | 33% | Open admission | Public | Vineland, NJ |
| Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester Campus | $5,160 | $6,000 | $12,378 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Sewell, NJ |
| UCNJ Union College of Union County NJ | $5,280 | $9,500 | $8,257 | 35% | Open admission | Public | Cranford, NJ |
| Mercer County Community College | $5,310 | $9,174 | $5,279 | 25% | Open admission | Public | West Windsor, NJ |
| Hudson County Community College | $5,384 | $9,248 | $7,307 | 26% | Open admission | Public | Jersey City, NJ |
| Essex County College | $5,415 | $9,523 | $4,436 | 20% | Open admission | Public | Newark, NJ |
| Warren County Community College | $5,460 | $6,360 | $3,550 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Washington, NJ |
| Sussex County Community College | $5,544 | $9,024 | $7,859 | 37% | Open admission | Public | Newton, NJ |
| Raritan Valley Community College | $5,664 | $7,584 | $6,778 | 31% | Open admission | Public | Branchburg, NJ |
| Assumption College for Sisters | $6,000 | $6,000 | Not reported | 100% | Open admission | Private | Denville, NJ |
| Atlantic Cape Community College | $6,068 | $9,068 | $8,392 | 30% | Open admission | Public | Mays Landing, NJ |
| County College of Morris | $6,210 | $14,310 | $8,895 | 36% | Open admission | Public | Randolph, NJ |
| Brookdale Community College | $6,270 | $10,140 | $11,231 | 30% | Open admission | Public | Lincroft, NJ |
| Passaic County Community College | $6,300 | $10,560 | $7,761 | 19% | Open admission | Public | Paterson, NJ |
| Salem Community College | $6,360 | $10,260 | $10,816 | 40% | Open admission | Public | Carneys Point, NJ |
| Thomas Edison State University | $6,838 | $8,856 | Not reported | Not reported | Open admission | Public | Trenton, NJ |
| Rowan College at Burlington County | $6,990 | $9,510 | $5,344 | 36% | Open admission | Public | Mount Laurel, NJ |
| Bais Medrash Toras Chesed | $8,100 | $8,100 | $6,838 | 33% | 58% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah of Cliffwood | $8,550 | $8,550 | $9,641 | 19% | 70% | Private | Keyport, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah of Woodlake Village | $9,030 | $9,030 | $6,841 | 61% | 84% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah Keren Hatorah | $9,150 | $9,150 | $6,103 | 87% | 86% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedola Tiferes Yerachmiel | $9,600 | $9,600 | $10,016 | 91% | 51% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshivas Emek Hatorah | $9,750 | $9,750 | $6,055 | Not reported | Open admission | Private | Howell, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah Tiferes Boruch | $10,480 | $10,480 | $9,417 | 6% | 89% | Private | North Plainfield, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah Shaarei Shmuel | $10,600 | $10,600 | $8,036 | 89% | 54% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Rabbinical College of America | $10,650 | $10,650 | $15,628 | 22% | 95% | Private | Morristown, NJ |
| Yeshiva Gedolah Zichron Leyma | $11,350 | $11,350 | $6,833 | 67% | 57% | Private | Union, NJ |
| Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok | $11,450 | $11,450 | $16,189 | 14% | 86% | Private | Elizabeth, NJ |
| Bais Medrash Mayan Hatorah | $12,000 | $12,000 | $11,794 | 58% | 68% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Beth Medrash of Asbury Park | $12,010 | $12,010 | $9,766 | 10% | 54% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshiva Chemdas Hatorah | $12,150 | $12,150 | $12,798 | 76% | 80% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Keser Torah-Mayan Hatalmud | $12,460 | $12,460 | $11,055 | 40% | Open admission | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Yeshiva Yesodei Hatorah | $12,500 | $12,500 | $9,429 | 36% | 85% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Rabbi Jacob Joseph School | $12,700 | $12,700 | $5,774 | Not reported | 92% | Private | Edison, NJ |
| Yeshiva Toras Chaim | $12,750 | $12,750 | $5,356 | 31% | 44% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
| Seminary Bnos Chaim | $13,150 | $13,150 | $14,880 | 94% | 44% | Private | Lakewood, NJ |
“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.
What the New Jersey cost data shows
- Camden County College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $4,320 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
- Median published in-state tuition is $5,438 across the public colleges here and $11,000 across the private ones — a $5,562 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
- Median average net price is $8,147 across the 38 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
- 38 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 37 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.
How this list was built
This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for New Jersey, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.
Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.
Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (85 of 85 New Jersey institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the cheapest college in New Jersey?
- Of the 40 New Jersey colleges on this page, Camden County College in Blackwood reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $4,320 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
- Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
- No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 38 New Jersey colleges reporting it here the median is $8,147. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
- Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in New Jersey?
- At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $5,438 at the public colleges listed and $11,000 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
- Will I personally pay these amounts at a New Jersey college?
- Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.
More Northeast states
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Cost, aid, and outcome figures for New Jersey colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in New Jersey. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/new-jersey