Biomedical Engineering · Carnegie Mellon University
How much do Carnegie Mellon University Biomedical Engineering graduates earn?
Carnegie Mellon University's bachelor's graduates in Biomedical/Medical Engineering earned a median $109,648 four years after graduating, 17% above the $93,451 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
- Median earnings, 4 years after:
- $109,648
- National median, same program:
- $93,451
- Federal debt borrowed at this college (median):
- Not reported
- Monthly payment, 10-year plan:
- Not reported
Carnegie Mellon University, bachelor's in Biomedical Engineering. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. Debt: graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20. College Scorecard, 10 June 2026.
Quick answers
- What do Biomedical Engineering graduates of Carnegie Mellon University earn?
- Carnegie Mellon University's bachelor's graduates in Biomedical Engineering earned a median $109,648 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
- How does Carnegie Mellon University compare with the national median for Biomedical Engineering?
- $109,648 is 17% above the $93,451 national median for bachelor's programs in the same field (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
- How does Carnegie Mellon University compare with other Pennsylvania Biomedical Engineering programs?
- It is 8% above the $101,232 earned by graduates of the typical Pennsylvania bachelor's program in the field (6 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Biomedical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, by credential
2 credential levels have federal figures, largest graduating classes first. Federal program group: Biomedical/Medical Engineering (CIP 14.05), which includes its related specialties.
| Credential | Graduates (2 yrs) | Earnings, 1 yr after | Earnings, 4 yrs after | vs national | Debt borrowed at this college | Total debt incl. other colleges | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master's | 142 | $75,083 | — | — | $65,577 | — | $746/mo |
| Bachelor's | 101 | — | $109,648 | +17% | — | — | — |
The one-year and four-year figures describe different graduating classes (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21 and 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23) in different dollars, so the gap between them is not one class's pay growth. A dash means the Department of Education suppressed the figure because too few graduates were measured.
What the two debt figures mean
Federal debt borrowed at this college: the median of the federal loans (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS) that graduates who borrowed took out at this college.
Total federal debt, including other colleges attended: the same graduates' federal loans from every college they attended, counting only loans at the same level as this credential (undergraduate loans for an undergraduate credential, graduate loans for a graduate one).
Neither figure includes Parent PLUS loans, private loans or accrued interest. The two differ most for transfer students and for degree-completion programs such as RN-to-BSN. Monthly payment is for the debt borrowed at this college. Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation (September 2025), "Cumulative loan debt".
Cite this data
- Statistic
- Carnegie Mellon University's bachelor's graduates in Biomedical Engineering earned a median $109,648 four years after graduating, against a national median of $93,451 for the same program and credential.
- Data period
- Graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19 who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled; earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars (38 graduates measured).
- Source
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field-of-study data (release of 10 June 2026)
- Page
- https://campuspin.com/schools/carnegie-mellon-university/programs/biomedical-engineering
- Suggested citation
- CampusPin (2026). Carnegie Mellon University Biomedical Engineering: graduate earnings and debt. Data: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study, 10 June 2026. https://campuspin.com/schools/carnegie-mellon-university/programs/biomedical-engineering
Or paste these figures into your page as a small table (departments, admissions, counselors)
Plain HTML with no script and no tracking: each credential's figure with its period and source, and one link back to this page.
How does Carnegie Mellon University compare with other Pennsylvania Biomedical Engineering programs?
Across the 6 Pennsylvania bachelor's programs in Biomedical Engineering with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $101,232; Carnegie Mellon University's $109,648 is 8% above that.
| College (bachelor's) | Earnings, 4 yrs after | 1 yr after (later class) | Debt borrowed at this college |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carnegie Mellon University (this college) | $109,648 | — | — |
| Lehigh University | $106,260 | $72,440 | $26,000 |
| Drexel University | $101,362 | $74,860 | $29,666 |
| Temple University | $101,101 | $54,415 | $27,000 |
| Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus | $100,416 | $76,531 | $24,164 |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus | $86,893 | $67,627 | $27,000 |
All 6 Pennsylvania programs, ordered by one federal measure (median earnings four years after graduating), not a ranking of program quality. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed.
Every Biomedical Engineering program in Pennsylvania. Compare Biomedical Engineering programs and share the result
What the new federal loan limits mean for this graduate program
For loans first disbursed on or after 1 July 2026, new graduate borrowers can take at most $20,500 a year and $100,000 in total in federal loans, or $50,000 and $200,000 in programs the Department treats as professional (Federal Student Aid, May 2026). Carnegie Mellon University's master's graduates in Biomedical Engineering borrowed a median $65,577 under the old rules. Which graduate programs' typical debt is over the new caps.
Questions about Biomedical Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University
- How much do Carnegie Mellon University Biomedical Engineering graduates earn?
- Carnegie Mellon University's bachelor's graduates in Biomedical/Medical Engineering earned a median $109,648 four years after graduating, 17% above the $93,451 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
- How does Carnegie Mellon University's Biomedical Engineering program compare with others in Pennsylvania?
- Across the 6 Pennsylvania bachelor's programs in Biomedical Engineering with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $101,232; Carnegie Mellon University's $109,648 is 8% above that.
Keep going
- Carnegie Mellon University: cost, admissions and every program
- Biomedical Engineering major guide: what it pays nationally
- Same degree, different paycheck: how much the college matters
- What does Biomedical Engineering pay at other colleges?
Jobs Biomedical Engineering graduates often go into
From the Biomedical Engineeringmajor guide. Graduates spread across many jobs; these pay figures are for everyone in the job, not for this program's graduates.
Other programs at Carnegie Mellon University with graduate earnings
Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls, where graduates live and the jobs they take, as well as the program itself. Download every program (CSV).
Data sources & methodology
Figures on this page come from the Department of Education's College Scorecard field-of-study file, matched to Carnegie Mellon University by its federal UNITID.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
Program-level median earnings one and four years after completing, and median federal loan debt at completion, by institution, 4-digit CIP field and credential level.
College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation
How the field-of-study cohorts are built, which graduates are counted, and how small cells are suppressed and perturbed for privacy.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. (10 June 2026). Carnegie Mellon University Biomedical Engineering: graduate earnings and debt. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/schools/carnegie-mellon-university/programs/biomedical-engineering