Engineering · University of California, Los Angeles
How much do University of California, Los Angeles Engineering graduates earn?
University of California, Los Angeles's master's graduates in Engineering earned a median $177,858 four years after graduating, 48% above the $120,215 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $135,373; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.
- Median earnings, 4 years after:
- $177,858
- National median, same program:
- $120,215
- Federal debt borrowed at this college (median):
- Not reported
- Monthly payment, 10-year plan:
- Not reported
University of California, Los Angeles, master's in Engineering. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. Debt: graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20. College Scorecard, 10 June 2026.
Quick answers
- What do Engineering graduates of University of California, Los Angeles earn?
- University of California, Los Angeles's master's graduates in Engineering earned a median $177,858 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
- How does University of California, Los Angeles compare with the national median for Engineering?
- $177,858 is 48% above the $120,215 national median for master's programs in the same field (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
- How does University of California, Los Angeles compare with other California Engineering programs?
- It is 44% above the $123,810 earned by graduates of the typical California master's program in the field (3 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Engineering at University of California, Los Angeles, by credential
One credential level has federal figures. Federal program group: Engineering, General (CIP 14.01), which includes its related specialties.
| Credential | Graduates (2 yrs) | Earnings, 1 yr after | Earnings, 4 yrs after | vs national | Debt borrowed at this college | Total debt incl. other colleges | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master's | 195 | $135,373 | $177,858 | +48% | — | — | — |
The one-year and four-year figures describe different graduating classes (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21 and 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23) in different dollars, so the gap between them is not one class's pay growth. A dash means the Department of Education suppressed the figure because too few graduates were measured.
What the two debt figures mean
Federal debt borrowed at this college: the median of the federal loans (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS) that graduates who borrowed took out at this college.
Total federal debt, including other colleges attended: the same graduates' federal loans from every college they attended, counting only loans at the same level as this credential (undergraduate loans for an undergraduate credential, graduate loans for a graduate one).
Neither figure includes Parent PLUS loans, private loans or accrued interest. The two differ most for transfer students and for degree-completion programs such as RN-to-BSN. Monthly payment is for the debt borrowed at this college. Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation (September 2025), "Cumulative loan debt".
Cite this data
- Statistic
- University of California, Los Angeles's master's graduates in Engineering earned a median $177,858 four years after graduating, against a national median of $120,215 for the same program and credential.
- Data period
- Graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19 who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled; earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars (46 graduates measured).
- Source
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field-of-study data (release of 10 June 2026)
- Page
- https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-california-los-angeles/programs/engineering
- Suggested citation
- CampusPin (2026). University of California, Los Angeles Engineering: graduate earnings and debt. Data: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study, 10 June 2026. https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-california-los-angeles/programs/engineering
Or paste these figures into your page as a small table (departments, admissions, counselors)
Plain HTML with no script and no tracking: each credential's figure with its period and source, and one link back to this page.
How does University of California, Los Angeles compare with other California Engineering programs?
Across the 3 California master's programs in Engineering with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $123,810; University of California, Los Angeles's $177,858 is 44% above that.
| College (master's) | Earnings, 4 yrs after | 1 yr after (later class) | Debt borrowed at this college |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of California, Los Angeles (this college) | $177,858 | $135,373 | — |
| University of the Pacific | $123,810 | $90,603 | — |
| University of California-Riverside | $122,820 | $102,364 | $31,250 |
All 3 California programs, ordered by one federal measure (median earnings four years after graduating), not a ranking of program quality. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed.
Every Engineering program in California. Compare Engineering programs and share the result
Questions about Engineering at University of California, Los Angeles
- How much do University of California, Los Angeles Engineering graduates earn?
- University of California, Los Angeles's master's graduates in Engineering earned a median $177,858 four years after graduating, 48% above the $120,215 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $135,373; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.
- How does University of California, Los Angeles's Engineering program compare with others in California?
- Across the 3 California master's programs in Engineering with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $123,810; University of California, Los Angeles's $177,858 is 44% above that.
Keep going
- University of California, Los Angeles: cost, admissions and every program
- Engineering major guide: what it pays nationally
- Same degree, different paycheck: how much the college matters
- What does Engineering pay at other colleges?
Jobs Engineering graduates often go into
- Mechanical engineers: pay in California
- Electrical engineers: pay in California
- Civil engineers: pay in California
- Chemical engineers: pay and outlook
From the Engineeringmajor guide. Graduates spread across many jobs; these pay figures are for everyone in the job, not for this program's graduates.
Other programs at University of California, Los Angeles with graduate earnings
- Conservation Science
- Urban Planning
- Education
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Electrical Engineering
- Mechanical Engineering
- Modern Languages
- English & Literature
- Biology
- Microbiology
- Physiology
- Neuroscience
- Mathematics
- Applied Mathematics
- Statistics
- Philosophy
- Chemistry
- Physics
- Psychology
- Public Policy
- Social Work
- Anthropology
- Economics
- Political Science
- Sociology
- Theater Arts
- Music
- Public Health
- Nursing
- Business Administration
- History
Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls, where graduates live and the jobs they take, as well as the program itself. Download every program (CSV).
Data sources & methodology
Figures on this page come from the Department of Education's College Scorecard field-of-study file, matched to University of California, Los Angeles by its federal UNITID.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
Program-level median earnings one and four years after completing, and median federal loan debt at completion, by institution, 4-digit CIP field and credential level.
College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation
How the field-of-study cohorts are built, which graduates are counted, and how small cells are suppressed and perturbed for privacy.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. (10 June 2026). University of California, Los Angeles Engineering: graduate earnings and debt. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-california-los-angeles/programs/engineering