Public Health · Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

How much do Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Public Health graduates earn?

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's master's graduates in Public Health earned a median $73,036 four years after graduating, 12% below the $82,751 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $66,357; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.

Median earnings, 4 years after:
$73,036
National median, same program:
$82,751
Federal debt borrowed at this college (median):
Not reported
Monthly payment, 10-year plan:
Not reported

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, master's in Public Health. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. Debt: graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20. College Scorecard, 10 June 2026.

Quick answers

What do Public Health graduates of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University earn?
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's master's graduates in Public Health earned a median $73,036 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University compare with the national median for Public Health?
$73,036 is 12% below the $82,751 national median for master's programs in the same field (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University compare with other Virginia Public Health programs?
It is about the same as the $73,238 earned by graduates of the typical Virginia master's program in the field (4 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Public Health at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, by credential

One credential level has federal figures. Federal program group: Public Health (CIP 51.22), which includes its related specialties.

Public Health at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: median earnings one and four years after graduating, the national median for the same program, and median federal debt borrowed at this college and including other colleges, by credential.
CredentialGraduates (2 yrs)Earnings, 1 yr afterEarnings, 4 yrs aftervs nationalDebt borrowed at this collegeTotal debt incl. other collegesPayment
Master's91$66,357$73,036−12%———

The one-year and four-year figures describe different graduating classes (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21 and 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23) in different dollars, so the gap between them is not one class's pay growth. A dash means the Department of Education suppressed the figure because too few graduates were measured.

What the two debt figures mean

Federal debt borrowed at this college: the median of the federal loans (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS) that graduates who borrowed took out at this college.

Total federal debt, including other colleges attended: the same graduates' federal loans from every college they attended, counting only loans at the same level as this credential (undergraduate loans for an undergraduate credential, graduate loans for a graduate one).

Neither figure includes Parent PLUS loans, private loans or accrued interest. The two differ most for transfer students and for degree-completion programs such as RN-to-BSN. Monthly payment is for the debt borrowed at this college. Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation (September 2025), "Cumulative loan debt".

Cite this data

Statistic
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's master's graduates in Public Health earned a median $73,036 four years after graduating, against a national median of $82,751 for the same program and credential.
Data period
Graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19 who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled; earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars (31 graduates measured).
Page
https://campuspin.com/schools/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university/programs/public-health
Suggested citation
CampusPin (2026). Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Public Health: graduate earnings and debt. Data: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study, 10 June 2026. https://campuspin.com/schools/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university/programs/public-health
Or paste these figures into your page as a small table (departments, admissions, counselors)

Plain HTML with no script and no tracking: each credential's figure with its period and source, and one link back to this page.

How does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University compare with other Virginia Public Health programs?

Across the 4 Virginia master's programs in Public Health with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $73,238; Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's $73,036 is about the same as that.

Master's programs in Public Health in Virginia with the highest median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
College (master's)Earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college
George Mason University$83,248$67,273$41,000
Old Dominion University$73,439——
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (this college)$73,036$66,357—
Liberty University$62,205$51,495$35,783

All 4 Virginia programs, ordered by one federal measure (median earnings four years after graduating), not a ranking of program quality. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed.

Every Public Health program in Virginia. Compare Public Health programs and share the result

Questions about Public Health at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

How much do Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Public Health graduates earn?
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's master's graduates in Public Health earned a median $73,036 four years after graduating, 12% below the $82,751 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $66,357; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.
How does Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's Public Health program compare with others in Virginia?
Across the 4 Virginia master's programs in Public Health with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $73,238; Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University's $73,036 is about the same as that.

Keep going

Jobs Public Health graduates often go into

From the Public Healthmajor guide. Graduates spread across many jobs; these pay figures are for everyone in the job, not for this program's graduates.

Other programs at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University with graduate earnings

Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls, where graduates live and the jobs they take, as well as the program itself. Download every program (CSV).

Data sources & methodology

Reporting period: 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23.

Figures on this page come from the Department of Education's College Scorecard field-of-study file, matched to Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University by its federal UNITID.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. (10 June 2026). Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Public Health: graduate earnings and debt. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/schools/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university/programs/public-health