Borrowing and outcomes
Student debt at California colleges
Across the 265 California colleges that report both figures, median federal student debt at graduation is $14,505, and a median of 38.3% of students take federal loans. Those two numbers belong together: the dollar figure describes only the students who borrowed, so it means something quite different at a college where most students borrow than at one where few do.
Which student-debt number this is
This page measures debt at graduation, by college: what students who borrowed had taken in federal loans by the time they finished at a particular California institution. Most published “average student debt in California” figures measure something else, the total balance carried by borrowers who live in California, which includes graduate-school borrowing and years of accrued interest and is therefore much larger. Both are real; they answer different questions. Use this one to compare colleges, not to estimate a lifetime balance.
Median debt at graduation
$14,505
Middle half: $10,500 to $22,395
Median share who borrow
38.3%
Across 265 colleges
Illustrative monthly payment
$165/mo
10-year standard plan at 6.52%
California colleges by median federal debt at graduation
Lowest median debt first, showing 60 of 265 colleges (97 public, 168 private). This is a sort of one reported figure, not a ranking and not a recommendation. Every row shows the borrower share beside the dollar amount because neither number means much alone.
| College | Median federal debt | Share who borrow | Illustrative payment | Earnings 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reedley College, Reedley, CA · Public two-year | $2,819 | 0.6% | $32/mo | $38,493 |
| Barstow Community College, Barstow, CA · Public two-year | $3,500 | 12.3% | $40/mo | $35,104 |
| Fresno City College, Fresno, CA · Public two-year | $4,058 | 0.3% | $46/mo | $37,361 |
| College of the Sequoias, Visalia, CA · Public two-year | $4,500 | 0.7% | $51/mo | $39,092 |
| Fullerton College, Fullerton, CA · Public two-year | $4,500 | 2.4% | $51/mo | $43,366 |
| San Diego Mesa College, San Diego, CA · Public four-year | $4,725 | 2% | $54/mo | $45,120 |
| Santiago Canyon College, Orange, CA · Public two-year | $5,125 | 1% | $58/mo | $44,956 |
| Rio Hondo College, Whittier, CA · Public four-year | $5,500 | 0.5% | $63/mo | $44,950 |
| De Anza College, Cupertino, CA · Public two-year | $5,625 | 2.4% | $64/mo | $56,596 |
| Mt San Antonio College, Walnut, CA · Public two-year | $5,880 | 0.9% | $67/mo | $46,283 |
| Contra Costa Medical Career College, Antioch, CA · Private two-year | $6,333 | 13.7% | $72/mo | Not reported |
| Institute of Culinary Education, Pasadena, CA · Private two-year | $6,439 | 44.6% | $73/mo | $47,865 |
| Santa Monica College, Santa Monica, CA · Public four-year | $6,450 | 2% | $73/mo | $42,193 |
| Irvine Valley College, Irvine, CA · Public two-year | $6,500 | 0.9% | $74/mo | $49,156 |
| Pasadena City College, Pasadena, CA · Public two-year | $6,651 | 0.6% | $76/mo | $43,937 |
| Coalinga College, Coalinga, CA · Public two-year | $6,750 | 1% | $77/mo | $37,633 |
| San Diego Miramar College, San Diego, CA · Public two-year | $6,750 | 0.5% | $77/mo | $48,224 |
| Santa Ana College, Santa Ana, CA · Public four-year | $6,871 | 0.7% | $78/mo | $43,552 |
| Golden West College, Huntington Beach, CA · Public two-year | $7,179 | 1.6% | $82/mo | $43,145 |
| Central Coast College, Salinas, CA · Private two-year | $7,476 | 45.6% | $85/mo | $40,823 |
| San Joaquin Delta College, Stockton, CA · Public two-year | $7,500 | 0.8% | $85/mo | $43,212 |
| San Diego City College, San Diego, CA · Public two-year | $7,689 | 1.1% | $87/mo | $38,503 |
| Citrus College, Glendora, CA · Public two-year | $7,851 | 1.2% | $89/mo | $42,065 |
| Riverside City College, Riverside, CA · Public two-year | $8,000 | 0.9% | $91/mo | $41,091 |
| College of the Redwoods, Eureka, CA · Public two-year | $8,080 | 5.4% | $92/mo | $36,243 |
| City College of San Francisco, San Francisco, CA · Public two-year | $8,218 | 0.7% | $93/mo | $45,805 |
| Coastline Community College, Fountain Valley, CA · Public two-year | $8,250 | 1.5% | $94/mo | $44,483 |
| Bakersfield College, Bakersfield, CA · Public four-year | $8,312 | 0.9% | $94/mo | $37,291 |
| Cerritos College, Norwalk, CA · Public two-year | $8,447 | 2.3% | $96/mo | $41,156 |
| Grossmont College, El Cajon, CA · Public two-year | $8,625 | 1.1% | $98/mo | $40,309 |
| National Career College, Panorama City, CA · Private two-year | $8,645 | 67% | $98/mo | $19,347 |
| MTI College, Sacramento, CA · Private two-year | $8,836 | 30.7% | $100/mo | $45,328 |
| Valley College of Medical Careers, West Hills, CA · Private two-year | $8,876 | 74.5% | $101/mo | $37,453 |
| Bethesda University, Anaheim, CA · Private four-year | $9,000 | 15.4% | $102/mo | Not reported |
| MiraCosta College, Oceanside, CA · Public four-year | $9,000 | 2.2% | $102/mo | $43,845 |
| American Career College-Anaheim, Anaheim, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 66.2% | $108/mo | $38,430 |
| American Career College-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 61.3% | $108/mo | $38,430 |
| American Career College-Ontario, Ontario, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 70.3% | $108/mo | $38,492 |
| Chabot College, Hayward, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 0.5% | $108/mo | $48,143 |
| Concorde Career College-North Hollywood, North Hollywood, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 68.1% | $108/mo | $50,552 |
| Concorde Career College-San Bernardino, San Bernardino, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 74% | $108/mo | $39,993 |
| Concorde Career College-San Diego, San Diego, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 64.8% | $108/mo | $39,169 |
| Galaxy Medical College, North Hollywood, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 80.4% | $108/mo | Not reported |
| Glendale Career College, Glendale, CA · Private four-year | $9,500 | 79.7% | $108/mo | $41,472 |
| Glendale Career College-North-West College-Bakersfield, Bakersfield, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 83.4% | $108/mo | $41,472 |
| Healthcare Career College, Paramount, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 89.9% | $108/mo | $32,613 |
| Institute of Technology, Clovis, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 38.6% | $108/mo | $37,507 |
| Lemoore College, Lemoore, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 1.4% | $108/mo | $40,292 |
| Los Angeles County College of Nursing and Allied Health, Los Angeles, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 26.2% | $108/mo | $115,318 |
| Moorpark College, Moorpark, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 0.9% | $108/mo | $49,044 |
| North-West College-San Diego, San Diego, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 68.4% | $108/mo | $41,472 |
| North-West College-West Covina, West Covina, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 71% | $108/mo | $37,542 |
| Orange Coast College, Costa Mesa, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 1.6% | $108/mo | $47,348 |
| Pima Medical Institute-Chula Vista, Chula Vista, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 53.7% | $108/mo | $38,673 |
| Pima Medical Institute-San Marcos, San Marcos, CA · Private two-year | $9,500 | 44.9% | $108/mo | $38,673 |
| Saddleback College, Mission Viejo, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 1.2% | $108/mo | $50,874 |
| Santa Rosa Junior College, Santa Rosa, CA · Public two-year | $9,500 | 0.6% | $108/mo | $47,224 |
| College of the Canyons, Santa Clarita, CA · Public two-year | $9,612 | 1% | $109/mo | $49,022 |
| American River College, Sacramento, CA · Public two-year | $9,625 | 2.7% | $109/mo | $40,162 |
| Cypress College, Cypress, CA · Public four-year | $10,000 | 1.3% | $114/mo | $43,533 |
The illustrative payment assumes the standard 10-year federal repayment plan at 6.52%, the U.S. Department of Education, fixed rate for undergraduate Direct Loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. It is an illustration, not a quote.
What the California borrowing data shows
- Across the 265 California colleges reporting both figures, median federal debt at graduation is $14,505 and the median borrower share is 38.3%. The middle half of these colleges falls between $10,500 and $22,395.
- On the standard 10-year federal repayment plan at 6.52%, $14,505 works out to about $165 a month for 10 years. That is an illustration of one repayment plan, not a quote: income-driven plans produce very different payments, and a real borrower's loans carry the rate in force in each year they borrowed.
- The borrower share varies far more than the dollar figure. At Fresno City College 0.3% of students take federal loans; at Healthcare Career College it is 89.9%. Read the two numbers together — a low median at a college where almost nobody borrows describes the few who did, not the typical student.
- Median earnings ten years after entry, across the 251 California colleges here that report it, is $48,341. That figure covers students who received federal aid and reflects the mix of programs and students at each college, not the effect of attending it.
How these figures were built
Every number comes from the U.S. Department of Education (College Scorecard / IPEDS), as carried in CampusPin’s committed snapshot of 2026-08-13. Nothing is recomputed, modelled, or imputed.
An institution appears here only if it reports bothmedian federal debt at graduation and the share of students receiving federal loans. Median debt without the borrower share is the misleading half of the statistic, so a college reporting one and not the other is excluded rather than shown incomplete. Institutions sharing an identical debt, borrower-share and earnings tuple are also excluded, because that pattern means one record’s series was attached to several colleges upstream and the figure cannot be attributed to a single school.
Federal loans only. Private loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are not in this data, so real household borrowing is higher than these figures. Median debt describes students who borrowed and completed, not all students. Figures reflect a prior cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
Frequently asked questions
- How much student debt do California college graduates have?
- Across the 265 California colleges that report both figures, the median federal loan debt at graduation is $14,505, and a median of 38.3% of students take federal loans. Individual colleges range from $2,819 to $40,326. These are federal loans only, so households that also used private or parent PLUS loans borrowed more than this.
- Does a low average debt figure mean a college is affordable?
- Not on its own. Median debt describes only the students who borrowed and completed. A college where 15% of students borrow can post a low median while most families pay a high price out of pocket, and a college where most students borrow can post a modest median because its price is genuinely low. Always read the dollar figure together with the share who borrow, which is why this page never shows one without the other.
- Is this every college in California?
- No. This page covers the 265 California institutions in CampusPin's dataset that report BOTH median debt at graduation and the borrower share. A college reporting only one of the two is excluded rather than shown with half the statistic. CampusPin's dataset is also not the complete federal Title IV universe.
- Why is this lower than the average student debt figure I have seen for California?
- Because they measure different things. This page reports median federal debt AT GRADUATION for students at California colleges. The widely published state figures report the total federal balance carried by borrowers who RESIDE in a state, which includes graduate-school borrowing and years of accrued interest on loans taken long ago, so it is substantially higher. Neither is wrong. Use debt at graduation to compare colleges against each other, and the residence figure to understand what people in a state currently owe.
- What is not counted in these figures?
- Private student loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are all outside this data, so real household cost is higher than the numbers here. The figures also reflect a prior graduating cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
Limitations of this data
- Median debt covers FEDERAL loans only. Private loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are not included, so real household cost is higher than this figure.
- It describes students who BORROWED and completed, not all students. Read it together with the borrower share on the same row.
- Figures reflect a prior cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
- Median earnings ten years out covers students who received federal financial aid, and reflects the mix of programs and students at each institution, not the effect of attending it.
- Reflects institutions in CampusPin's dataset, NOT the full federal Title IV universe.
More West states
Cost and outcomes in California
- Affordable colleges in California
- All colleges in California
- Compare debt across every state
- What college costs at your family income
- Research: college cost vs. outcomes
- Research: where college costs more than a family can borrow
- FAFSA lower earnings list: 103 California schools flagged now (132 in December 2025)
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Federal reporting is updated annually. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Debt, borrower-share, and earnings figures for California colleges come from federal collections reported by each institution.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Student Debt at California Colleges. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/student-debt/california