Borrowing and outcomes
Student debt at New York colleges
Across the 191 New York colleges that report both figures, median federal student debt at graduation is $19,500, and a median of 47% of students take federal loans. Those two numbers belong together: the dollar figure describes only the students who borrowed, so it means something quite different at a college where most students borrow than at one where few do.
Which student-debt number this is
This page measures debt at graduation, by college: what students who borrowed had taken in federal loans by the time they finished at a particular New York institution. Most published “average student debt in New York” figures measure something else, the total balance carried by borrowers who live in New York, which includes graduate-school borrowing and years of accrued interest and is therefore much larger. Both are real; they answer different questions. Use this one to compare colleges, not to estimate a lifetime balance.
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
Middle half: $12,000 to $23,875
Median share who borrow
47%
Across 191 colleges
Illustrative monthly payment
$222/mo
10-year standard plan at 6.52%
New York colleges by median federal debt at graduation
Lowest median debt first, showing 60 of 191 colleges (78 public, 113 private). This is a sort of one reported figure, not a ranking and not a recommendation. Every row shows the borrower share beside the dollar amount because neither number means much alone.
| College | Median federal debt | Share who borrow | Illustrative payment | Earnings 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUNY Stella and Charles Guttman Community College, New York, NY · Public two-year | $6,500 | 1.1% | $74/mo | Not reported |
| Boricua College, New York, NY · Private four-year | $6,733 | 15.9% | $77/mo | $35,348 |
| CUNY Kingsborough Community College, Brooklyn, NY · Public two-year | $7,100 | 3.4% | $81/mo | $42,621 |
| CUNY LaGuardia Community College, Long Island City, NY · Public two-year | $7,407 | 3.2% | $84/mo | $41,653 |
| CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College, New York, NY · Public two-year | $7,574 | 4.6% | $86/mo | $42,306 |
| Suffolk County Community College, Selden, NY · Public two-year | $8,250 | 7.2% | $94/mo | $49,907 |
| New York School for Medical and Dental Assistants, Long Island City, NY · Private two-year | $8,309 | 72.1% | $94/mo | $38,899 |
| CUNY Bronx Community College, Bronx, NY · Public two-year | $8,384 | 5.9% | $95/mo | $41,307 |
| CUNY Hostos Community College, Bronx, NY · Public two-year | $8,442 | 6.1% | $96/mo | $40,485 |
| Rockland Community College, Suffern, NY · Public two-year | $8,497 | 7.3% | $97/mo | $50,243 |
| CUNY Queensborough Community College, Bayside, NY · Public two-year | $8,600 | 4.3% | $98/mo | $44,214 |
| United States Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, NY · Public four-year | $8,833 | 6.6% | $100/mo | $90,610 |
| Erie Community College, Buffalo, NY · Public two-year | $9,250 | 20% | $105/mo | $41,228 |
| Monroe Community College, Rochester, NY · Public two-year | $9,750 | 27.3% | $111/mo | $40,174 |
| Onondaga Community College, Syracuse, NY · Public two-year | $10,000 | 17.9% | $114/mo | $41,190 |
| Ulster County Community College, Stone Ridge, NY · Public two-year | $10,000 | 5.3% | $114/mo | $41,896 |
| Dutchess Community College, Poughkeepsie, NY · Public two-year | $10,039 | 11.5% | $114/mo | $43,929 |
| Sullivan County Community College, Loch Sheldrake, NY · Public two-year | $10,150 | 13.1% | $115/mo | $38,354 |
| Elim Bible Institute and College, Lima, NY · Private four-year | $10,247 | 36% | $116/mo | Not reported |
| CUNY Queens College, Queens, NY · Public four-year | $10,298 | 8.9% | $117/mo | $62,763 |
| SUNY Westchester Community College, Valhalla, NY · Public two-year | $10,400 | 4.3% | $118/mo | $46,822 |
| Nassau Community College, Garden City, NY · Public two-year | $10,500 | 17.7% | $119/mo | $48,248 |
| CUNY New York City College of Technology, Brooklyn, NY · Public four-year | $10,533 | 5.5% | $120/mo | $49,365 |
| Hudson Valley Community College, Troy, NY · Public two-year | $10,625 | 18.5% | $121/mo | $45,460 |
| CUNY Lehman College, Bronx, NY · Public four-year | $10,950 | 12.9% | $124/mo | $58,013 |
| CUNY Medgar Evers College, Brooklyn, NY · Public four-year | $10,988 | 12.2% | $125/mo | $46,498 |
| Jamestown Community College, Jamestown, NY · Public two-year | $10,990 | 12.6% | $125/mo | $38,242 |
| CUNY Brooklyn College, Brooklyn, NY · Public four-year | $11,000 | 7% | $125/mo | $60,752 |
| CUNY Hunter College, New York, NY · Public four-year | $11,000 | 7.2% | $125/mo | $63,163 |
| CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, New York, NY · Public four-year | $11,000 | 8.5% | $125/mo | $56,195 |
| CUNY York College, Jamaica, NY · Public four-year | $11,000 | 6.2% | $125/mo | $56,945 |
| Mohawk Valley Community College, Utica, NY · Public two-year | $11,000 | 16.6% | $125/mo | $39,850 |
| SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Syracuse, NY · Public four-year | $11,000 | 42.4% | $125/mo | $55,763 |
| Niagara County Community College, Sanborn, NY · Public two-year | $11,039 | 21.6% | $125/mo | $42,285 |
| Schenectady County Community College, Schenectady, NY · Public two-year | $11,049 | 8.7% | $126/mo | $40,902 |
| Herkimer County Community College, Herkimer, NY · Public two-year | $11,365 | 28.7% | $129/mo | $39,199 |
| CUNY Bernard M Baruch College, New York, NY · Public four-year | $11,512 | 12% | $131/mo | $75,971 |
| Genesee Community College, Batavia, NY · Public two-year | $11,622 | 20.3% | $132/mo | $39,674 |
| CUNY City College, New York, NY · Public four-year | $11,990 | 7.5% | $136/mo | $66,039 |
| American Academy of Dramatic Arts-New York, New York, NY · Private two-year | $12,000 | 46.9% | $136/mo | $27,019 |
| Cayuga County Community College, Auburn, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 13.7% | $136/mo | $38,709 |
| Columbia-Greene Community College, Hudson, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 9.5% | $136/mo | $44,441 |
| Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY · Public four-year | $12,000 | 31.4% | $136/mo | $62,696 |
| Jefferson Community College, Watertown, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 23.3% | $136/mo | $39,991 |
| New York Conservatory for Dramatic Arts, New York, NY · Private two-year | $12,000 | 74.8% | $136/mo | $26,921 |
| North Country Community College, Saranac Lake, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 21.9% | $136/mo | $38,276 |
| Orange County Community College, Middletown, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 20.6% | $136/mo | $44,117 |
| St. Joseph's College of Nursing, Syracuse, NY · Private two-year | $12,000 | 97.5% | $136/mo | $81,908 |
| SUNY Broome Community College, Binghamton, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 35.7% | $136/mo | $39,710 |
| SUNY Corning Community College, Corning, NY · Public two-year | $12,000 | 16.6% | $136/mo | $38,817 |
| Fulton-Montgomery Community College, Johnstown, NY · Public two-year | $12,125 | 12.5% | $138/mo | $39,535 |
| SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University, Brooklyn, NY · Public four-year | $12,500 | 44.3% | $142/mo | $109,601 |
| CUNY Graduate School and University Center, New York, NY · Public four-year | $12,584 | 15.1% | $143/mo | $65,991 |
| Finger Lakes Community College, Canandaigua, NY · Public two-year | $12,975 | 24.7% | $147/mo | $40,054 |
| Finger Lakes Health College of Nursing & Health Sciences, Geneva, NY · Private two-year | $12,975 | 71.4% | $147/mo | $40,054 |
| Clinton Community College, Plattsburgh, NY · Public two-year | $13,250 | 15.9% | $151/mo | $39,246 |
| SUNY College of Technology at Alfred, Alfred, NY · Public four-year | $13,750 | 59.2% | $156/mo | $50,445 |
| Excelsior University, Albany, NY · Private four-year | $13,769 | 33.6% | $156/mo | $78,493 |
| Cornell University, Ithaca, NY · Private four-year | $14,000 | 24.1% | $159/mo | $104,043 |
| AMG School of Nursing, Brooklyn, NY · Private two-year | $14,167 | 71.4% | $161/mo | Not reported |
The illustrative payment assumes the standard 10-year federal repayment plan at 6.52%, the U.S. Department of Education, fixed rate for undergraduate Direct Loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. It is an illustration, not a quote.
What the New York borrowing data shows
- Across the 191 New York colleges reporting both figures, median federal debt at graduation is $19,500 and the median borrower share is 47%. The middle half of these colleges falls between $12,000 and $23,875.
- On the standard 10-year federal repayment plan at 6.52%, $19,500 works out to about $222 a month for 10 years. That is an illustration of one repayment plan, not a quote: income-driven plans produce very different payments, and a real borrower's loans carry the rate in force in each year they borrowed.
- The borrower share varies far more than the dollar figure. At CUNY Stella and Charles Guttman Community College 1.1% of students take federal loans; at St. Joseph's College of Nursing it is 97.5%. Read the two numbers together — a low median at a college where almost nobody borrows describes the few who did, not the typical student.
- Median earnings ten years after entry, across the 187 New York colleges here that report it, is $55,458. That figure covers students who received federal aid and reflects the mix of programs and students at each college, not the effect of attending it.
How these figures were built
Every number comes from the U.S. Department of Education (College Scorecard / IPEDS), as carried in CampusPin’s committed snapshot of 2026-08-13. Nothing is recomputed, modelled, or imputed.
An institution appears here only if it reports bothmedian federal debt at graduation and the share of students receiving federal loans. Median debt without the borrower share is the misleading half of the statistic, so a college reporting one and not the other is excluded rather than shown incomplete. Institutions sharing an identical debt, borrower-share and earnings tuple are also excluded, because that pattern means one record’s series was attached to several colleges upstream and the figure cannot be attributed to a single school.
Federal loans only. Private loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are not in this data, so real household borrowing is higher than these figures. Median debt describes students who borrowed and completed, not all students. Figures reflect a prior cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
Frequently asked questions
- How much student debt do New York college graduates have?
- Across the 191 New York colleges that report both figures, the median federal loan debt at graduation is $19,500, and a median of 47% of students take federal loans. Individual colleges range from $6,500 to $30,426. These are federal loans only, so households that also used private or parent PLUS loans borrowed more than this.
- Does a low average debt figure mean a college is affordable?
- Not on its own. Median debt describes only the students who borrowed and completed. A college where 15% of students borrow can post a low median while most families pay a high price out of pocket, and a college where most students borrow can post a modest median because its price is genuinely low. Always read the dollar figure together with the share who borrow, which is why this page never shows one without the other.
- Is this every college in New York?
- No. This page covers the 191 New York institutions in CampusPin's dataset that report BOTH median debt at graduation and the borrower share. A college reporting only one of the two is excluded rather than shown with half the statistic. CampusPin's dataset is also not the complete federal Title IV universe.
- Why is this lower than the average student debt figure I have seen for New York?
- Because they measure different things. This page reports median federal debt AT GRADUATION for students at New York colleges. The widely published state figures report the total federal balance carried by borrowers who RESIDE in a state, which includes graduate-school borrowing and years of accrued interest on loans taken long ago, so it is substantially higher. Neither is wrong. Use debt at graduation to compare colleges against each other, and the residence figure to understand what people in a state currently owe.
- What is not counted in these figures?
- Private student loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are all outside this data, so real household cost is higher than the numbers here. The figures also reflect a prior graduating cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
Limitations of this data
- Median debt covers FEDERAL loans only. Private loans, parent PLUS borrowing, and money families pay without borrowing are not included, so real household cost is higher than this figure.
- It describes students who BORROWED and completed, not all students. Read it together with the borrower share on the same row.
- Figures reflect a prior cohort and lag the current academic year by one to two federal reporting cycles.
- Median earnings ten years out covers students who received federal financial aid, and reflects the mix of programs and students at each institution, not the effect of attending it.
- Reflects institutions in CampusPin's dataset, NOT the full federal Title IV universe.
More Northeast states
Cost and outcomes in New York
- Affordable colleges in New York
- All colleges in New York
- Compare debt across every state
- What college costs at your family income
- Research: college cost vs. outcomes
- Research: where college costs more than a family can borrow
- FAFSA lower earnings list: 57 New York schools flagged now (70 in December 2025)
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Federal reporting is updated annually. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Debt, borrower-share, and earnings figures for New York colleges come from federal collections reported by each institution.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Student Debt at New York Colleges. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/student-debt/new-york