Education · University of Massachusetts Amherst

How much do University of Massachusetts Amherst Education graduates earn?

University of Massachusetts Amherst's master's graduates in Education earned a median $67,432 four years after graduating, about the same as the $65,824 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $44,038; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.

Median earnings, 4 years after:
$67,432
National median, same program:
$65,824
Federal debt borrowed at this college (median):
Not reported
Monthly payment, 10-year plan:
Not reported

University of Massachusetts Amherst, master's in Education. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. Debt: graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20. College Scorecard, 10 June 2026.

Quick answers

What do Education graduates of University of Massachusetts Amherst earn?
University of Massachusetts Amherst's master's graduates in Education earned a median $67,432 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How does University of Massachusetts Amherst compare with the national median for Education?
$67,432 is about the same as the $65,824 national median for master's programs in the same field (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How does University of Massachusetts Amherst compare with other Massachusetts Education programs?
It is about the same as the $68,517 earned by graduates of the typical Massachusetts master's program in the field (8 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Education at University of Massachusetts Amherst, by credential

2 credential levels have federal figures, largest graduating classes first. Federal program group: Education, General (CIP 13.01), which includes its related specialties.

Education at University of Massachusetts Amherst: median earnings one and four years after graduating, the national median for the same program, and median federal debt borrowed at this college and including other colleges, by credential.
CredentialGraduates (2 yrs)Earnings, 1 yr afterEarnings, 4 yrs aftervs nationalDebt borrowed at this collegeTotal debt incl. other collegesPayment
Master's1$44,038$67,432about the same———
Doctoral—$72,570$110,816+27%———

The one-year and four-year figures describe different graduating classes (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21 and 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23) in different dollars, so the gap between them is not one class's pay growth. A dash means the Department of Education suppressed the figure because too few graduates were measured.

What the two debt figures mean

Federal debt borrowed at this college: the median of the federal loans (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS) that graduates who borrowed took out at this college.

Total federal debt, including other colleges attended: the same graduates' federal loans from every college they attended, counting only loans at the same level as this credential (undergraduate loans for an undergraduate credential, graduate loans for a graduate one).

Neither figure includes Parent PLUS loans, private loans or accrued interest. The two differ most for transfer students and for degree-completion programs such as RN-to-BSN. Monthly payment is for the debt borrowed at this college. Source: College Scorecard, Field of Study data documentation (September 2025), "Cumulative loan debt".

Cite this data

Statistic
University of Massachusetts Amherst's master's graduates in Education earned a median $67,432 four years after graduating, against a national median of $65,824 for the same program and credential.
Data period
Graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19 who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled; earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars (46 graduates measured).
Page
https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-massachusetts-amherst/programs/education
Suggested citation
CampusPin (2026). University of Massachusetts Amherst Education: graduate earnings and debt. Data: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study, 10 June 2026. https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-massachusetts-amherst/programs/education
Or paste these figures into your page as a small table (departments, admissions, counselors)

Plain HTML with no script and no tracking: each credential's figure with its period and source, and one link back to this page.

How does University of Massachusetts Amherst compare with other Massachusetts Education programs?

Across the 8 Massachusetts master's programs in Education with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $68,517; University of Massachusetts Amherst's $67,432 is about the same as that.

Master's programs in Education in Massachusetts with the highest median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
College (master's)Earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college
Harvard University$88,307$65,968$20,500
Cambridge College$82,941$76,955$23,060
Bay Path University$74,030$55,271$41,152
Springfield College$69,601$56,328$28,856
University of Massachusetts Amherst (this college)$67,432$44,038—
Lesley University$64,580$64,854$31,458
Merrimack College$62,474$53,770$24,731
Clark University$60,005$55,421—

All 8 Massachusetts programs, ordered by one federal measure (median earnings four years after graduating), not a ranking of program quality. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed.

Every Education program in Massachusetts. Compare Education programs and share the result

Questions about Education at University of Massachusetts Amherst

How much do University of Massachusetts Amherst Education graduates earn?
University of Massachusetts Amherst's master's graduates in Education earned a median $67,432 four years after graduating, about the same as the $65,824 national median for the same program (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). One year after graduating, a later class (2018-20 graduates, measured 2020-21) earned a median $44,038; the two figures describe different graduates, not one class's growth.
How does University of Massachusetts Amherst's Education program compare with others in Massachusetts?
Across the 8 Massachusetts master's programs in Education with a federal earnings figure, the typical program's graduates earned $68,517; University of Massachusetts Amherst's $67,432 is about the same as that.
Which Education degree at University of Massachusetts Amherst pays more?
Median earnings four years after graduating, by credential: master's $67,432; doctoral $110,816 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). Each figure describes a different group of graduates, so the gap reflects who enrolls and the jobs each credential leads to, not only the credential.

Keep going

Jobs Education graduates often go into

From the Educationmajor guide. Graduates spread across many jobs; these pay figures are for everyone in the job, not for this program's graduates.

Other programs at University of Massachusetts Amherst with graduate earnings

Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls, where graduates live and the jobs they take, as well as the program itself. Download every program (CSV).

Data sources & methodology

Reporting period: 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23.

Figures on this page come from the Department of Education's College Scorecard field-of-study file, matched to University of Massachusetts Amherst by its federal UNITID.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. (10 June 2026). University of Massachusetts Amherst Education: graduate earnings and debt. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/schools/university-of-massachusetts-amherst/programs/education