Education major
Education: courses, careers, and where to study
Education prepares graduates for state-licensed teaching careers in public and private K–12 schools, combining content-area study with pedagogy and supervised student-teaching.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Education earn a median $49,808 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $38,641 to $60,792 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
An Education major leads to state-issued teaching licensure. Programs typically require a content-area major or concentration (math, English, science, social studies, foreign language, special ed, or elementary K–6) plus an education-specific sequence (educational psychology, classroom management, assessment, methods, and a semester of supervised student-teaching). The licensure path varies by state, most require passing Praxis I and Praxis II content-area exams.
Graduates work in public K–12, charter schools, private schools, and international schools. The MSEd or M.Ed is a common follow-on degree for teachers seeking specialty certification or administrative pathways.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Education maps to CIP 13.0101, Education, General, within the EDUCATION family. The official definition:
A program that focuses on the general theory and practice of learning and teaching, the basic principles of educational psychology, the art of teaching, the planning and administration of educational activities, school safety and health issues, and the social foundations of education.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Education is awarded as
Of the 26,738 Education credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 4%, 1,170 credentials.
- Associate: 7%, 1,977 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 28%, 7,564 credentials.
- Graduate: 60%, 16,027 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 48 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 14 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Educational psychology and child development
- Classroom management and assessment
- Curriculum design and instructional methods
- Content-area pedagogy (math, ELA, science, social studies)
- Special education foundations
- Educational technology
- Cultural responsiveness and equity
- Student-teaching practicum (12–16 weeks)
Typical careers
- Elementary School Teacher
- Middle / High School Teacher
- Special Education Teacher
- School Counselor (with M.Ed)
- Curriculum Specialist
- School Administrator (with EdD/EdS)
Typical salary range: $45,000–$58,000 early-career (BLS, 2024 secondary school teachers median $64,580)Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Education graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Education earn a median $49,808 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $38,641 to $60,792 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $49,808 | $38,641 to $60,792 |
| Associate's | $41,787 | $29,719 to $52,438 |
| Undergraduate certificate | $47,863 | $26,626 to $67,256 |
| Master's | $65,824 | $52,724 to $82,084 |
| Professional degree | $72,062 | $54,090 to $112,804 |
| Doctoral | $87,373 | $65,101 to $115,386 |
| Graduate certificate | $69,448 | $52,638 to $83,726 |
Compare Education programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Education programs
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities (MN): $66,093, median federal debt $18,125
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus (WA): $65,217, median federal debt $14,159
- Chapman University (CA): $64,917, median federal debt $21,500
- Monmouth University (NJ): $63,068, median federal debt $27,000
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick (NJ): $59,775
- Boston University (MA): $56,556, median federal debt $27,000
- Merrimack College (MA): $55,180, median federal debt $27,000
- Florida Gulf Coast University (FL): $55,116, median federal debt $18,828
- University of Hawaii-West Oahu (HI): $54,648, median federal debt $20,000
- University of Oregon (OR): $54,434, median federal debt $19,500
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Education, General. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Education, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Education Teachers, Postsecondary | $72,090 | 5,600 | +2.1% | Doctoral or professional degree |
| Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Teaching Assistants, Special Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 1 of these 3 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Education does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a Education major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Education program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Education department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Education program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Education credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- National University, CA · 1,131 credentials
- Walden University, MN · 632 credentials
- Teachers College of San Joaquin, CA · 502 credentials
- Northcentral University, CA · 443 credentials
- Liberty University, VA · 326 credentials
- Grand Valley State University, MI · 323 credentials
- Texas A & M University-College Station, TX · 302 credentials
- Johns Hopkins University, MD · 295 credentials
- The University of Texas at El Paso, TX · 279 credentials
- Eastern Washington University, WA · 269 credentials
- Nova Southeastern University, FL · 264 credentials
- University of North Texas, TX · 258 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Education credentials were awarded
37 states have a distinct enough set of Education colleges to be worth its own page.
- California: 64 colleges
- Pennsylvania: 43 colleges
- Texas: 41 colleges
- Ohio: 34 colleges
- New York: 30 colleges
- Massachusetts: 29 colleges
- Tennessee: 26 colleges
- Minnesota: 23 colleges
- Illinois: 23 colleges
- Missouri: 21 colleges
- Maryland: 19 colleges
- North Carolina: 19 colleges
- Indiana: 18 colleges
- Florida: 17 colleges
- Wisconsin: 17 colleges
- New Jersey: 16 colleges
- Washington: 15 colleges
- Oregon: 15 colleges
- New Mexico: 15 colleges
- Connecticut: 13 colleges
- Michigan: 12 colleges
- Georgia: 12 colleges
- Colorado: 12 colleges
- Maine: 11 colleges
- West Virginia: 11 colleges
- Mississippi: 10 colleges
- Oklahoma: 10 colleges
- South Carolina: 10 colleges
- New Hampshire: 9 colleges
- Arizona: 9 colleges
- Louisiana: 9 colleges
- Kansas: 7 colleges
- District of Columbia: 6 colleges
- Nebraska: 6 colleges
- Kentucky: 6 colleges
- Alabama: 6 colleges
- Vermont: 5 colleges
Every Education program with its own CampusPin page
92 programs in 31 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Education programs in Arizona, 2 programs
- Grand Canyon University Master's, $78,699
- University of Arizona Master's, $57,061
Education programs in California, 21 programs
- Ashford University Master's, $49,645
- Azusa Pacific University Master's, $80,114
- Biola University Master's, $76,309
- California Baptist University Master's, $83,297
- California State University-Dominguez Hills Master's, $77,851
- California State University-Fresno Master's, $69,523
- California State University-San Marcos Master's, $95,348
- California State University-Stanislaus Master's, $84,580
- Chapman University Bachelor's, $64,917
- National University Master's, $77,748
- Northcentral University Doctoral, $80,493
- Point Loma Nazarene University Master's, $77,441
- Stanford University Master's, $88,065
- University of California-Davis Master's, $70,796
- University of California-Irvine Bachelor's, $54,356
- University of California-Riverside Master's, $77,408
- University of California-San Diego Master's, $73,566
- University of California, Los Angeles Master's, $80,698
- University of Massachusetts Global Master's, $91,710
- University of San Diego Master's, $91,474
- University of San Francisco Master's, $71,516
Education programs in Colorado, 2 programs
- University of Northern Colorado Master's, $53,688
- Western Colorado University Master's, $57,638
Education programs in Connecticut, 2 programs
- Post University Master's, $65,752
- University of Saint Joseph Master's, $69,844
Education programs in Florida, 3 programs
- Flagler College Bachelor's, $49,104
- Florida Atlantic University Bachelor's, $50,946
- Florida Gulf Coast University Bachelor's, $55,116
Education programs in Illinois, 1 program
- University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Master's, $71,889
Education programs in Iowa, 1 program
- Iowa State University Master's, $60,708
Education programs in Kansas, 1 program
- Fort Hays State University Master's, $55,830
Education programs in Kentucky, 1 program
- Georgetown College Master's, $51,914
Education programs in Maine, 1 program
- Saint Joseph's College of Maine Master's, $67,731
Education programs in Maryland, 5 programs
- Frostburg State University Master's, $63,223
- Johns Hopkins University Master's, $73,350
- Notre Dame of Maryland University Master's, $72,480
- Towson University Master's, $61,994
- University of Maryland, Baltimore County Master's, $69,822
Education programs in Massachusetts, 5 programs
- Bay Path University Master's, $74,030
- Harvard University Master's, $88,307
- Lesley University Master's, $64,580
- Merrimack College Bachelor's, $55,180
- Salem State University Bachelor's, $45,568
Education programs in Michigan, 4 programs
- Grand Valley State University Bachelor's, $49,225
- Michigan State University Bachelor's, $52,243
- University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Master's, $63,577
- University of Michigan-Dearborn Master's, $72,482
Education programs in Minnesota, 3 programs
- Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Master's, $64,965
- Southwest Minnesota State University Master's, $60,873
- Walden University Master's, $64,694
Education programs in Mississippi, 1 program
- Belhaven University Master's, $52,725
Education programs in Missouri, 1 program
- Southwest Baptist University Master's, $50,567
Education programs in New Jersey, 4 programs
- Brookdale Community College Associate's, $45,867
- Georgian Court University Master's, $68,005
- Montclair State University Master's, $65,095
- Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester Campus Associate's, $39,731
Education programs in New Mexico, 1 program
- Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus Master's, $67,168
Education programs in North Carolina, 2 programs
- University of North Carolina Wilmington Master's, $56,340
- Western Carolina University Master's, $54,249
Education programs in Ohio, 5 programs
- John Carroll University Bachelor's, $45,791
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $46,646
- Ohio State University-Main Campus Master's, $57,235
- The University of Findlay Master's, $55,409
- Wilmington College Bachelor's, $43,077
Education programs in Oregon, 3 programs
- Portland State University Master's, $61,014
- University of Oregon Bachelor's, $54,434
- University of Portland Master's, $62,075
Education programs in Pennsylvania, 3 programs
- La Salle University Master's, $69,946
- Pennsylvania Western University Master's, $55,650
- University of Pennsylvania Master's, $87,086
Education programs in South Dakota, 1 program
- Augustana University Master's, $64,083
Education programs in Tennessee, 2 programs
- Tusculum University Master's, $49,617
- Union University Master's, $53,072
Education programs in Texas, 1 program
- Concordia University Texas Master's, $68,531
Education programs in Utah, 1 program
- Southern Utah University Master's, $83,304
Education programs in Virginia, 6 programs
- James Madison University Master's, $58,739
- Liberty University Master's, $57,647
- Longwood University Master's, $59,389
- Shenandoah University Master's, $68,709
- University of Mary Washington Master's, $58,149
- Virginia Commonwealth University Master's, $56,354
Education programs in Washington, 1 program
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus Bachelor's, $65,217
Education programs in West Virginia, 3 programs
- American Public University System Master's, $57,967
- Fairmont State University Bachelor's, $46,625
- West Virginia University Master's, $48,315
Education programs in Wisconsin, 4 programs
- Edgewood College Master's, $61,311
- University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Bachelor's, $44,331
- University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Bachelor's, $49,228
- University of Wisconsin-Stout Master's, $60,490
Education programs in Wyoming, 1 program
- University of Wyoming Master's, $69,554
Related majors
Psychology
Psychology majors study human cognition, behavior, and emotion, preparing graduates for clinical, research, business, and human-services careers (and graduate school in clinical, counseling, and I/O psych).
English & Literature
English develops critical reading, analytical writing, and rhetorical skill, a flexible major that feeds into law, publishing, education, marketing, and any field that values communication.
History
History trains graduates in research, evidence, and argument, feeding into law, education, museums, government, and any field that values long-form analytical writing.
Mathematics
Mathematics develops formal proof, abstraction, and quantitative analysis, feeding into research, finance, computing, actuarial science, and graduate programs across STEM.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Education degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Education & Library careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Education degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Education path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.