Education · North Carolina

North Carolina colleges that awarded Education credentials

16 colleges in North Carolina reported conferring Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 15 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in North Carolina that conferred Education credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
University of North Carolina Wilmington44Degree
Western Carolina University40Degree
North Carolina State University at Raleigh30Degree
Wingate University19Degree
Campbell University16Degree
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill15Degree
Belmont Abbey College13Degree
Guilford College12Degree
Pfeiffer University12Degree
Salem College10Degree
Davidson College9Degree
Carolina University5Degree
Methodist University5Degree
Wake Forest University5Degree
North Carolina A & T State University1Certificate only
William Peace University1Degree

How much of this field is in North Carolina

Credentials awarded
237
Share of U.S. total
0.9%
Colleges awarding it
16
Awarding a degree
15

North Carolina colleges conferred 237 Education credentials in 2023-24, which is 0.9% of the 27,206 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 16 colleges here, 15 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Associate6%15
  • Bachelor's49%116
  • Graduate45%106

Most Education credentials awarded in North Carolina were bachelor's degrees. That is 17 percentage points less weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 62% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 19% of North Carolina’s Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these North Carolina colleges cost

Median net price across the 16 of these 16 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$15,608
30-48k
$17,901
48-75k
$18,734
75-110k
$23,232
110k+
$25,310

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among North Carolina colleges that reported awarding Educationcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year5$7,314
Private11$17,966

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $15,608 at these colleges, against $25,310 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every North Carolina college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in North Carolina — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$72,0905,600Doctoral or professional degree
Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going