History major
History: courses, careers, and where to study
History trains graduates in research, evidence, and argument, feeding into law, education, museums, government, and any field that values long-form analytical writing.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in History earn a median $50,680 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $36,330 to $66,736 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
A History major covers a range of geographical and chronological fields, typically requiring a U.S. survey, a non-U.S. survey, methods, and a senior thesis. Programs emphasize primary-source research, archival work, and historiography. The major produces graduates who can synthesize large evidence bodies and write at length, both rare and valuable skills.
History pairs naturally with Pre-Law (top-3 LSAT-scoring major), Education, Political Science, or Foreign Languages. Graduates work in law, museums and archives, K–12 and higher-education teaching, journalism, government, and consulting.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, History maps to CIP 54.0101, History, General, within the HISTORY family. The official definition:
A program that focuses on the general study and interpretation of the past, including the gathering, recording, synthesizing and criticizing of evidence and theories about past events. Includes instruction in historiography; historical research methods; studies of specific periods, issues and cultures; and applications to areas such as historic preservation, public policy, and records administration.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential History is awarded as
Of the 31,232 History credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 3%, 840 credentials.
- Associate: 7%, 2,342 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 75%, 23,345 credentials.
- Graduate: 15%, 4,705 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 48 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 3 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Survey courses across U.S., European, and world history
- Historical methods and historiography
- Primary-source research and archival skills
- Field-specific advanced seminars
- Senior research thesis
- A foreign language (often required for graduate-bound students)
Typical careers
- Lawyer (with JD)
- High School History Teacher
- Museum Curator / Archivist
- Editor / Journalist
- Foreign Service Officer
- Policy Analyst
Typical salary range: $42,000–$60,000 early-careerRanges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do History graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in History earn a median $50,680 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $36,330 to $66,736 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $50,680 | $36,330 to $66,736 |
| Master's | $55,360 | $40,544 to $73,546 |
Compare History programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's History programs
- Yale University (CT): $109,947, median federal debt $8,250
- Columbia University in the City of New York (NY): $98,079, median federal debt $21,500
- Princeton University (NJ): $80,347
- Boston College (MA): $80,073, median federal debt $18,997
- University of Southern California (CA): $79,940, median federal debt $12,138
- New York University (NY): $74,545, median federal debt $18,875
- College of the Holy Cross (MA): $72,423, median federal debt $27,000
- Fordham University (NY): $72,389, median federal debt $26,000
- University of Virginia-Main Campus (VA): $71,187, median federal debt $18,250
- George Washington University (DC): $70,734, median federal debt $23,250
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: History. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Managers, All Other | $136,550 | 106,700 | +4.5% | Bachelor's degree |
| Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education | $64,580 | 66,200 | -1.6% | Bachelor's degree |
| History Teachers, Postsecondary | $81,500 | 1,700 | -0.2% | Doctoral or professional degree |
| Historians | $74,050 | 300 | +2.2% | Master's degree |
| Tour Guides and Escorts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 4 of these 5 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying History does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a History major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific History program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the History department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a History program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most History credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- Brigham Young University-Idaho, ID · 696 credentials
- Liberty University, VA · 628 credentials
- Southern New Hampshire University, NH · 566 credentials
- American Public University System, WV · 364 credentials
- University of Wisconsin-Madison, WI · 305 credentials
- Arizona State University Digital Immersion, AZ · 291 credentials
- University of California-Los Angeles, CA · 259 credentials
- Harvard University, MA · 257 credentials
- Gettysburg College, PA · 248 credentials
- Yale University, CT · 212 credentials
- Columbia University in the City of New York, NY · 203 credentials
- University of California-Santa Barbara, CA · 198 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where History credentials were awarded
46 states have a distinct enough set of History colleges to be worth its own page.
- California: 174 colleges
- Pennsylvania: 84 colleges
- New York: 83 colleges
- Texas: 77 colleges
- Ohio: 57 colleges
- Massachusetts: 47 colleges
- North Carolina: 44 colleges
- Illinois: 42 colleges
- Virginia: 40 colleges
- Georgia: 40 colleges
- Indiana: 36 colleges
- Iowa: 33 colleges
- Tennessee: 31 colleges
- Michigan: 30 colleges
- Missouri: 30 colleges
- Florida: 27 colleges
- New Jersey: 26 colleges
- Minnesota: 25 colleges
- Wisconsin: 24 colleges
- Alabama: 22 colleges
- Colorado: 22 colleges
- South Carolina: 22 colleges
- Kentucky: 22 colleges
- Oklahoma: 21 colleges
- Maryland: 20 colleges
- Louisiana: 19 colleges
- Connecticut: 17 colleges
- Mississippi: 17 colleges
- Arizona: 16 colleges
- Washington: 16 colleges
- Arkansas: 16 colleges
- Kansas: 16 colleges
- Oregon: 15 colleges
- Nebraska: 14 colleges
- New Hampshire: 11 colleges
- Idaho: 10 colleges
- West Virginia: 10 colleges
- Utah: 9 colleges
- Maine: 8 colleges
- South Dakota: 8 colleges
- North Dakota: 7 colleges
- Vermont: 6 colleges
- Montana: 6 colleges
- New Mexico: 5 colleges
- Nevada: 5 colleges
- Hawaii: 5 colleges
Every History program with its own CampusPin page
118 programs in 34 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
History programs in Alabama, 1 program
- The University of Alabama Bachelor's, $50,213
History programs in Arizona, 3 programs
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $54,798
- Grand Canyon University Bachelor's, $54,209
- University of Arizona Bachelor's, $51,737
History programs in Arkansas, 1 program
- University of Arkansas Bachelor's, $49,972
History programs in California, 20 programs
- Ashford University Bachelor's, $49,773
- California State Polytechnic University-Pomona Bachelor's, $51,217
- California State University-Fresno Bachelor's, $51,676
- California State University-Fullerton Bachelor's, $48,309
- California State University-Long Beach Bachelor's, $52,423
- California State University-Los Angeles Bachelor's, $55,413
- California State University-Northridge Bachelor's, $45,821
- California State University-Sacramento Bachelor's, $55,797
- California State University-San Bernardino Bachelor's, $44,655
- California State University-San Marcos Bachelor's, $52,985
- San Diego State University Bachelor's, $57,861
- San Francisco State University Bachelor's, $58,717
- University of California-Davis Bachelor's, $57,734
- University of California-Irvine Bachelor's, $53,481
- University of California-Riverside Bachelor's, $51,913
- University of California-Santa Barbara Bachelor's, $59,342
- University of California-Santa Cruz Bachelor's, $60,519
- University of California, Berkeley Bachelor's, $64,755
- University of California, Los Angeles Bachelor's, $59,555
- University of Southern California Bachelor's, $79,940
History programs in Colorado, 3 programs
- Colorado State University-Fort Collins Bachelor's, $52,144
- Metropolitan State University of Denver Bachelor's, $48,518
- University of Colorado Colorado Springs Bachelor's, $43,949
History programs in Connecticut, 1 program
- University of Connecticut Bachelor's, $56,937
History programs in Delaware, 1 program
- University of Delaware Bachelor's, $55,388
History programs in Florida, 5 programs
- Florida International University Bachelor's, $56,676
- Florida State University Bachelor's, $56,834
- University of Central Florida Bachelor's, $48,896
- University of Florida Bachelor's, $54,448
- University of South Florida Bachelor's, $47,936
History programs in Georgia, 3 programs
- Georgia Southern University Bachelor's, $45,796
- Georgia State University Bachelor's, $46,554
- Kennesaw State University Bachelor's, $43,954
History programs in Illinois, 2 programs
- Illinois State University Bachelor's, $52,757
- Northern Illinois University Bachelor's, $46,086
History programs in Iowa, 2 programs
- Iowa State University Bachelor's, $52,934
- University of Iowa Bachelor's, $46,819
History programs in Kentucky, 3 programs
- Northern Kentucky University Bachelor's, $48,109
- University of Kentucky Bachelor's, $46,111
- University of Louisville Bachelor's, $45,825
History programs in Louisiana, 1 program
- Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College Bachelor's, $48,454
History programs in Maryland, 2 programs
- University of Maryland Global Campus Bachelor's, $55,336
- University of Maryland, College Park Bachelor's, $60,089
History programs in Massachusetts, 4 programs
- Bridgewater State University Bachelor's, $52,936
- College of the Holy Cross Bachelor's, $72,423
- Harvard University Bachelor's, $70,679
- Westfield State University Bachelor's, $51,439
History programs in Michigan, 2 programs
- Michigan State University Bachelor's, $47,224
- University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Bachelor's, $62,077
History programs in Minnesota, 1 program
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Bachelor's, $54,659
History programs in Missouri, 1 program
- University of Missouri-Columbia Bachelor's, $56,632
History programs in New Hampshire, 2 programs
- Southern New Hampshire University Bachelor's, $49,113
- University of New Hampshire-Main Campus Bachelor's, $54,841
History programs in New Jersey, 4 programs
- Kean University Bachelor's, $60,236
- Montclair State University Bachelor's, $52,160
- Rowan University Bachelor's, $52,523
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Bachelor's, $54,657
History programs in New York, 7 programs
- Binghamton University Bachelor's, $65,984
- Columbia University in the City of New York Bachelor's, $98,079
- CUNY Queens College Bachelor's, $52,406
- Stony Brook University Bachelor's, $50,444
- Syracuse University Bachelor's, $64,871
- University at Albany Bachelor's, $55,377
- University at Buffalo Bachelor's, $50,518
History programs in North Carolina, 4 programs
- North Carolina State University at Raleigh Bachelor's, $49,500
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Bachelor's, $57,952
- University of North Carolina at Charlotte Bachelor's, $49,359
- University of North Carolina at Greensboro Bachelor's, $42,251
History programs in Ohio, 3 programs
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $46,781
- Ohio State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $49,986
- Ohio University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $46,101
History programs in Oregon, 2 programs
- Portland State University Bachelor's, $54,131
- University of Oregon Bachelor's, $48,354
History programs in Pennsylvania, 5 programs
- Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $46,133
- Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $52,871
- Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $52,310
- Temple University Bachelor's, $52,584
- University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Bachelor's, $53,682
History programs in Rhode Island, 1 program
- University of Rhode Island Bachelor's, $54,001
History programs in South Carolina, 3 programs
- Clemson University Bachelor's, $50,125
- College of Charleston Bachelor's, $47,424
- University of South Carolina-Columbia Bachelor's, $45,595
History programs in Tennessee, 4 programs
- East Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $44,142
- Middle Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $51,206
- The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Bachelor's, $52,505
- University of Memphis Bachelor's, $47,449
History programs in Texas, 11 programs
- Sam Houston State University Bachelor's, $50,084
- Texas A & M University-College Station Bachelor's, $57,783
- Texas State University Bachelor's, $52,329
- Texas Tech University Bachelor's, $52,969
- The University of Texas at Arlington Bachelor's, $57,159
- The University of Texas at Austin Bachelor's, $56,881
- The University of Texas at El Paso Bachelor's, $50,510
- The University of Texas at San Antonio Bachelor's, $52,655
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Bachelor's, $50,620
- University of Houston Bachelor's, $55,475
- University of North Texas Bachelor's, $55,906
History programs in Utah, 2 programs
- Brigham Young University Bachelor's, $54,457
- Utah State University Bachelor's, $54,370
History programs in Virginia, 8 programs
- George Mason University Bachelor's, $51,168
- James Madison University Bachelor's, $55,782
- Liberty University Bachelor's, $46,496
- Old Dominion University Bachelor's, $56,715
- University of Virginia-Main Campus Bachelor's, $71,187
- Virginia Commonwealth University Bachelor's, $53,186
- Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Bachelor's, $59,819
- William & Mary Bachelor's, $63,632
History programs in Washington, 3 programs
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus Bachelor's, $61,059
- Washington State University Bachelor's, $58,415
- Western Washington University Bachelor's, $46,000
History programs in West Virginia, 1 program
- West Virginia University Bachelor's, $45,388
History programs in Wisconsin, 2 programs
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Bachelor's, $58,343
- University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Bachelor's, $48,442
Related majors
Political Science
Political Science studies governments, political behavior, and policy, preparing graduates for law school, public service, journalism, and policy research.
English & Literature
English develops critical reading, analytical writing, and rhetorical skill, a flexible major that feeds into law, publishing, education, marketing, and any field that values communication.
Philosophy
Philosophy develops rigorous reasoning, argument, and ethical analysis through the study of logic, knowledge, mind, and morality, building transferable skills used across law, policy, and writing.
Still deciding between History and something else?
These guides put History side by side with the major it is most often confused with, using the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk to show where the two actually lead.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a History degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Education & Library careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
Explore Management careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single History degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a History path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.