History · Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania colleges that awarded History credentials

82 colleges in Pennsylvania reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 82 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Pennsylvania that conferred History credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Gettysburg College219Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus96Degree
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania72Degree
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus68Degree
University of Pennsylvania68Degree
Temple University52Degree
Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania49Degree
West Chester University of Pennsylvania42Degree
Pennsylvania State University-World Campus36Degree
Duquesne University33Degree
Villanova University28Degree
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania27Degree
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania23Degree
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus23Degree
Saint Vincent College22Degree
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania20Degree
Muhlenberg College19Degree
University of Scranton18Degree
Lehigh University17Degree
Millersville University of Pennsylvania17Degree
Carnegie Mellon University16Degree
Dickinson College15Degree
Moravian University15Degree
Grove City College14Degree
Haverford College14Degree
Pennsylvania Western University14Degree
Ursinus College13Degree
Albright College12Degree
Bucks County Community College12Degree
Mercyhurst University12Degree
Saint Joseph's University12Degree
Susquehanna University12Degree
Robert Morris University11Degree
Bryn Mawr College10Degree
Lebanon Valley College10Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown10Degree
Washington & Jefferson College10Degree
Bucknell University9Degree
Geneva College9Degree
Arcadia University8Degree
King's College8Degree
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington8Degree
Seton Hill University8Degree
Swarthmore College8Degree
Westminster College8Degree
Messiah University7Degree
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend College7Degree
York College of Pennsylvania7Degree
Butler County Community College6Degree
Gannon University6Degree
Juniata College6Degree
Lycoming College6Degree
Wilkes University6Degree
Chestnut Hill College5Degree
DeSales University5Degree
Saint Francis University5Degree
Allegheny College4Degree
Eastern University4Degree
Elizabethtown College4Degree
Holy Family University4Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 82.

How much of this field is in Pennsylvania

Credentials awarded
1,362
Share of U.S. total
4.4%
Colleges awarding it
82
Awarding a degree
82

Pennsylvania colleges conferred 1,362 History credentials in 2023-24, which is 4.4% of the 30,780 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 82 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%13
  • Associate2%21
  • Bachelor's74%1,004
  • Graduate24%324

Most History credentials awarded in Pennsylvania were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 16% of Pennsylvania’s History credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Pennsylvania colleges cost

Median net price across the 80 of these 82 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a History program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$17,224
30-48k
$17,949
48-75k
$21,022
75-110k
$25,336
110k+
$29,474

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Pennsylvania colleges that reported awarding Historycredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year18$14,677
Private58$18,847

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $17,224 at these colleges, against $29,474 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Pennsylvania college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Pennsylvania — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What History graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with History, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Managers, All Other$136,550106,700Bachelor's degree
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$64,58066,200Bachelor's degree
History Teachers, Postsecondary$81,5001,700Doctoral or professional degree
Historians$74,050300Master's degree
Tour Guides and EscortsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going