History · New York

New York colleges that awarded History credentials

82 colleges in New York reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 82 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in New York that conferred History credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Columbia University in the City of New York215Degree
New York University136Degree
Binghamton University96Degree
University at Buffalo96Degree
Stony Brook University89Degree
University at Albany84Degree
CUNY Queens College75Degree
State University of New York at Cortland64Degree
Fordham University62Degree
State University of New York at New Paltz57Degree
Empire State University55Degree
CUNY City College50Degree
Syracuse University50Degree
CUNY Hunter College49Degree
SUNY Oneonta41Degree
Cornell University40Degree
College of Staten Island CUNY38Degree
Barnard College37Degree
SUNY College at Plattsburgh35Degree
Siena College34Degree
SUNY Old Westbury34Degree
Colgate University33Degree
CUNY Brooklyn College33Degree
SUNY Brockport33Degree
University of Rochester33Degree
St. John's University-New York32Degree
CUNY Lehman College26Degree
State University of New York at Oswego26Degree
Hamilton College24Degree
Suffolk County Community College24Degree
Hobart William Smith Colleges23Degree
SUNY College at Geneseo22Degree
Skidmore College21Degree
United States Military Academy21Degree
CUNY Graduate School and University Center20Degree
Hofstra University20Degree
SUNY College at Potsdam20Degree
Mount Saint Mary College19Degree
St. Joseph's University-New York19Degree
Excelsior University18Degree
St Lawrence University17Degree
CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College16Degree
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College15Degree
Nazareth University15Degree
St. John Fisher University15Degree
SUNY at Purchase College15Degree
Vassar College15Degree
Adelphi University14Degree
CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice14Degree
Le Moyne College14Degree
SUNY Buffalo State University13Degree
The New School13Degree
Pace University12Degree
Iona University10Degree
St Bonaventure University10Degree
Manhattanville College9Degree
Marist College9Degree
Niagara University9Degree
Houghton University8Degree
SUNY at Fredonia8Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 82.

Looking for History programs in New York? This page lists every college that reported awarding History credentials to the federal government in 2023-24 — 82 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in New York

Credentials awarded
2,255
Share of U.S. total
7.3%
Colleges awarding it
82
Awarding a degree
82

New York colleges conferred 2,255 History credentials in 2023-24, which is 7.3% of the 30,780 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 82 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%3
  • Associate2%47
  • Bachelor's83%1,875
  • Graduate15%330

Most History credentials awarded in New York were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 10% of New York’s History credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these New York colleges cost

Median net price across the 79 of these 82 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a History program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$13,977
30-48k
$15,994
48-75k
$20,133
75-110k
$24,152
110k+
$28,670

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among New York colleges that reported awarding Historycredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year26$9,447
Private51$17,889

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $13,977 at these colleges, against $28,670 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every New York college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in New York — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What History graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with History, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Managers, All Other$136,550106,700Bachelor's degree
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$64,58066,200Bachelor's degree
History Teachers, Postsecondary$81,5001,700Doctoral or professional degree
Historians$74,050300Master's degree
Tour Guides and EscortsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going