History · Massachusetts

Massachusetts colleges that awarded History credentials

49 colleges in Massachusetts reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 49 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Massachusetts that conferred History credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Harvard University235Degree
University of Massachusetts-Amherst94Degree
Boston College77Degree
Boston University59Degree
Bridgewater State University58Degree
College of the Holy Cross51Degree
University of Massachusetts-Boston51Degree
Brandeis University47Degree
Tufts University42Degree
Salem State University37Degree
Williams College36Degree
Worcester State University30Degree
Clark University29Degree
Northeastern University29Degree
University of Massachusetts-Lowell28Degree
Amherst College23Degree
Smith College23Degree
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth23Degree
Westfield State University22Degree
Springfield College19Degree
Framingham State University16Degree
Mount Holyoke College16Degree
Simmons University16Degree
Assumption University15Degree
Emmanuel College15Degree
Suffolk University15Degree
Stonehill College14Degree
Wheaton College (Massachusetts)13Degree
Gordon College12Degree
Fitchburg State University11Degree
Wellesley College11Degree
Merrimack College10Degree
Quinsigamond Community College9Degree
Endicott College8Degree
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts7Degree
Mount Wachusett Community College6Degree
Western New England University6Degree
Bunker Hill Community College4Degree
Dean College3Degree
Eastern Nazarene College3Degree
Lesley University3Degree
Cape Cod Community College2Degree
College of Our Lady of the Elms2Degree
Bentley University1Degree
Hampshire College1Degree
Lasell University1Degree
Massachusetts Institute of Technology1Degree
Regis College1Degree
Sattler College1Degree

Looking for History programs in Massachusetts? This page lists every college that reported awarding History credentials to the federal government in 2023-24 — 49 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in Massachusetts

Credentials awarded
1,236
Share of U.S. total
4.0%
Colleges awarding it
49
Awarding a degree
49

Massachusetts colleges conferred 1,236 History credentials in 2023-24, which is 4.0% of the 30,780 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 49 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Associate2%21
  • Bachelor's81%998
  • Graduate18%217

Most History credentials awarded in Massachusetts were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 19% of Massachusetts’s History credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Massachusetts colleges cost

Median net price across the 42 of these 49 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a History program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$14,538
30-48k
$15,769
48-75k
$19,747
75-110k
$25,866
110k+
$34,413

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Massachusetts colleges that reported awarding Historycredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year8$11,218
Private31$17,388

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $14,538 at these colleges, against $34,413 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Massachusetts college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Massachusetts — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What History graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with History, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Managers, All Other$136,550106,700Bachelor's degree
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$64,58066,200Bachelor's degree
History Teachers, Postsecondary$81,5001,700Doctoral or professional degree
Historians$74,050300Master's degree
Tour Guides and EscortsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going