History · Texas

Texas colleges that awarded History credentials

77 colleges in Texas reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 77 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting. Graduates of the typical Texas bachelor's program in History earned a median $52,969 four years after graduating, 5% above the $50,680 national median for the same credential (17 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Quick answers

How much do History graduates of Texas bachelor's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical Texas bachelor's program in History earned a median $52,969 four years after graduating, 5% above the $50,680 national median for the same credential (17 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How much do History graduates of Texas master's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical Texas master's program in History earned a median $54,943 four years after graduating, about the same as the $55,360 national median for the same credential (1 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Which History programs in Texas have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 17 Texas bachelor's programs in History, The University of Texas at Dallas graduates had the highest median, $61,321 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Texas that conferred History credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Texas A & M University-College Station157Degree
University of North Texas147Degree
Sam Houston State University121Degree
Texas State University115Degree
The University of Texas at Austin111Degree
The University of Texas at San Antonio92Degree
University of Houston87Degree
The University of Texas at Arlington83Degree
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley73Degree
Texas Tech University70Degree
The University of Texas at El Paso58Degree
University of Houston-Clear Lake46Degree
Baylor University44Degree
Rice University44Degree
Texas A&M University-San Antonio42Degree
Southern Methodist University41Degree
University of Houston-Downtown39Degree
The University of Texas at Dallas37Degree
Stephen F Austin State University29Degree
The University of Texas at Tyler26Degree
Tyler Junior College24Degree
Texas A & M International University23Degree
Austin Community College District22Degree
Lone Star College System21Degree
Texas A & M University-Commerce21Degree
Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi21Degree
Angelo State University20Degree
Texas Christian University18Degree
Trinity University18Degree
South Texas College17Degree
Texas A&M University-Central Texas17Degree
Tarleton State University16Degree
Austin College15Degree
University of Dallas15Degree
University of Houston-Victoria14Degree
Lamar University13Degree
St. Mary's University13Degree
West Texas A & M University13Degree
Houston Community College12Degree
Texas A&M University-Texarkana12Degree
Sul Ross State University11Degree
Texas Woman's University11Degree
Prairie View A & M University10Degree
Saint Edward's University10Degree
Texas A & M University-Kingsville10Degree
Texas Southern University10Degree
The University of Texas Permian Basin10Degree
Midwestern State University9Degree
University of North Texas at Dallas8Degree
Abilene Christian University7Degree
Dallas Baptist University7Degree
Southwestern Assemblies of God University7Degree
Wayland Baptist University7Degree
Howard College6Degree
Houston Christian University5Degree
Howard Payne University5Degree
McMurry University5Degree
Del Mar College4Degree
Southwestern University4Degree
Texas Wesleyan University4Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 77.

Which History programs in Texas have the highest graduate earnings?

Among 17 Texas bachelor's programs in History with federal earnings data, The University of Texas at Dallas graduates earn the highest median, $61,321 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $19,125. Texas A & M University-College Station follows at $57,783. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $50,680. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)

Compare these programs and share the results

Bachelor's programs · 17 with earnings data · national median $50,680

Bachelor's programs in History in Texas, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
The University of Texas at Dallas$61,321$37,450$19,125
Texas A & M University-College Station$57,783$42,899$16,751
University of Houston-Clear Lake$57,675$57,239$18,750
The University of Texas at Arlington$57,159$44,806$22,000
The University of Texas at Austin$56,881$34,495$18,625
University of North Texas$55,906$36,568$21,000
University of Houston$55,475$39,240$19,500
University of Houston-Downtown$53,555$37,246$20,000
Texas Tech University$52,969$38,687$21,237
The University of Texas at San Antonio$52,655$33,264$21,407

The 10 highest of 17. Every program is on its college's profile and in the CSV download.

Master's programs · 1 with earnings data · national median $55,360

Master's programs in History in Texas, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
Sam Houston State University$54,943$46,738—
Add this table to your website (counselors, libraries, aid offices)

Copy the HTML below into any web page. It is plain HTML with no script and no tracking; it shows the ten bachelor's programs above with their period and source, and links back to this page.

Ordered by median earnings four years after graduating: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: History. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. The one-year column is a later class (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, measured in 2020 and 2021, in 2022 dollars), so it is not the same graduates' pay a few years earlier. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed. Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls and where graduates live as well as the program itself. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major.

Looking for History programs in Texas? This page lists every college that reported awarding History credentials to the federal government in 2024-25 — 77 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in Texas

Credentials awarded
1,989
Share of U.S. total
6.4%
Colleges awarding it
77
Awarding a degree
77

Texas colleges conferred 1,989 History credentials in 2024-25, which is 6.4% of the 31,232 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 77 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 1%, 26 credentials.
  • Associate: 6%, 114 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 80%, 1,584 credentials.
  • Graduate: 13%, 265 credentials.

Most History credentials awarded in Texas were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 8% of Texas’s History credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Texas colleges cost

Median net price across the 75 of these 77 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a History program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$11,426
30-48k
$11,910
48-75k
$14,813
75-110k
$19,673
110k+
$22,683

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Texas colleges that reported awarding History credentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public two-year5$4,774
Public four-year40$9,489
Private30$18,675

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $11,426 at these colleges, against $22,683 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Texas college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Texas — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What History graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with History, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Managers, All Other$136,550106,700Bachelor's degree
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$64,58066,200Bachelor's degree
History Teachers, Postsecondary$81,5001,700Doctoral or professional degree
Historians$74,050300Master's degree
Tour Guides and EscortsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about History in Texas

How many colleges in Texas awarded History credentials?
77 colleges in Texas reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 77 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 1,957 credentials in the fields covered.
Which History programs in Texas have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 17 Texas bachelor's programs in History with federal earnings data, The University of Texas at Dallas graduates earn the highest median, $61,321 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $19,125. Texas A & M University-College Station follows at $57,783. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $50,680. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
Does this mean these colleges currently offer History?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going