Education · California

California colleges that awarded Education credentials

64 colleges in California reported conferring Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 63 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting. Graduates of the typical California master's program in Education earned a median $79,462 four years after graduating, 21% above the $65,824 national median for the same credential (31 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Quick answers

How much do Education graduates of California master's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical California master's program in Education earned a median $79,462 four years after graduating, 21% above the $65,824 national median for the same credential (31 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How much do Education graduates of California bachelor's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical California bachelor's program in Education earned a median $54,356 four years after graduating, 9% above the $49,808 national median for the same credential (3 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Which Education programs in California have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 31 California master's programs in Education, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona graduates had the highest median, $95,883 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in California that conferred Education credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
National University1,131Degree
Teachers College of San Joaquin502Degree
Northcentral University443Degree
University of California-Irvine236Degree
Ashford University219Degree
San Diego State University206Degree
University of California-Los Angeles197Degree
University of California-Santa Barbara184Degree
Point Loma Nazarene University161Degree
California Baptist University156Degree
University of California-Riverside151Degree
University of California-San Diego143Degree
California State University-Bakersfield138Degree
Stanford University132Degree
University of California-Berkeley117Degree
California State University-Sacramento102Degree
University of Massachusetts Global102Degree
University of La Verne84Degree
Cuesta College79Degree
California State University-San Bernardino74Degree
California State University-Dominguez Hills72Degree
California State University-Long Beach72Degree
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona69Degree
Lake Tahoe Community College69Certificate only
California State University-Fresno63Degree
Claremont Graduate University60Degree
Dominican University of California60Degree
University of California-Davis58Degree
University of San Francisco57Degree
California State University-Monterey Bay54Degree
Chapman University52Degree
California Lutheran University45Degree
University of San Diego43Degree
San Francisco State University35Degree
Biola University29Degree
High Tech High Graduate School of Education29Degree
California State University-Los Angeles28Degree
California State University-San Marcos27Degree
Vanguard University of Southern California26Degree
Azusa Pacific University23Degree
Mount Saint Mary's University22Degree
California State University-Chico20Degree
Hope International University19Degree
Loyola Marymount University19Degree
Saint Mary's College of California19Degree
Sonoma State University17Degree
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt16Degree
Reach University16Degree
Westcliff University15Degree
California State University-Channel Islands10Degree
California State University-Northridge10Degree
Touro University Worldwide10Degree
Simpson University9Degree
California State University-Stanislaus8Degree
Notre Dame de Namur University6Degree
Alder Graduate School of Education5Degree
Palomar College5Degree
University of Southern California4Degree
California State University-Fullerton3Degree
MiraCosta College2Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 64.

Which Education programs in California have the highest graduate earnings?

Among 31 California master's programs in Education with federal earnings data, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona graduates earn the highest median, $95,883 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $20,407. California State University-San Marcos follows at $95,348. The national median for master's graduates in the same program is $65,824. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)

Compare these programs and share the results

Master's programs · 31 with earnings data · national median $65,824

Master's programs in Education in California, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona$95,883$70,724$20,407
California State University-San Marcos$95,348$77,823$20,936
California State University-Bakersfield$92,010——
University of Massachusetts Global$91,710$75,971$20,500
University of San Diego$91,474$73,028$33,705
California State University-East Bay$91,220$75,291—
Stanford University$88,065$71,967$32,500
Sonoma State University$87,304$80,657—
California State University-Los Angeles$84,668$69,882$29,525
California State University-Stanislaus$84,580$71,800$21,000

The 10 highest of 31. Every program is on its college's profile and in the CSV download.

Bachelor's programs · 3 with earnings data · national median $49,808

Bachelor's programs in Education in California, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
Chapman University$64,917$37,928$21,500
University of California-Irvine$54,356$26,106$15,863
Ashford University$47,107$34,704$30,599
Add this table to your website (counselors, libraries, aid offices)

Copy the HTML below into any web page. It is plain HTML with no script and no tracking; it shows the ten master's programs above with their period and source, and links back to this page.

Ordered by median earnings four years after graduating: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Education, General. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. The one-year column is a later class (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, measured in 2020 and 2021, in 2022 dollars), so it is not the same graduates' pay a few years earlier. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed. Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls and where graduates live as well as the program itself. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major.

How much of this field is in California

Credentials awarded
5,767
Share of U.S. total
22%
Colleges awarding it
64
Awarding a degree
63

California colleges conferred 5,767 Education credentials in 2024-25, which is 22% of the 26,738 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 64 colleges here, 63 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 10%, 583 credentials.
  • Associate: <1%, 21 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 11%, 629 credentials.
  • Graduate: 79%, 4,534 credentials.

Most Education credentials awarded in California were graduate degrees. That is 19 percentage points more weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 60% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 20% of California’s Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these California colleges cost

Median net price across the 50 of these 64 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$9,655
30-48k
$10,432
48-75k
$13,482
75-110k
$17,719
110k+
$23,853

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among California colleges that reported awarding Education credentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year27$7,306
Private20$22,941

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $9,655 at these colleges, against $23,853 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every California college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in California — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$72,0905,600Doctoral or professional degree
Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Education in California

How many colleges in California awarded Education credentials?
64 colleges in California reported conferring Education credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 63 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 5,763 credentials in the fields covered.
Which Education programs in California have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 31 California master's programs in Education with federal earnings data, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona graduates earn the highest median, $95,883 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $20,407. California State University-San Marcos follows at $95,348. The national median for master's graduates in the same program is $65,824. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Education?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going