Education · Texas

Texas colleges that awarded Education credentials

42 colleges in Texas reported conferring Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 42 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Texas that conferred Education credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
The University of Texas at El Paso328Degree
University of North Texas328Degree
Texas A & M University-College Station308Degree
Texas Tech University278Degree
The University of Texas at San Antonio260Degree
University of Houston-Downtown193Degree
Texas Woman's University154Degree
The University of Texas at Arlington127Degree
Texas A & M University-Commerce117Degree
The University of Texas Permian Basin86Degree
Schreiner University74Degree
Concordia University Texas59Degree
University of the Incarnate Word55Degree
University of Houston-Victoria46Degree
West Texas A & M University46Degree
Texas Wesleyan University44Degree
Texas A & M University-Kingsville37Degree
Southwestern Assemblies of God University35Degree
University of Houston-Clear Lake34Degree
Texas A&M University-Central Texas33Degree
Midwestern State University29Degree
Sul Ross State University28Degree
The University of Texas at Austin24Degree
Texas Southern University23Degree
University of North Texas at Dallas22Degree
Southern Methodist University16Degree
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley12Degree
Southwestern University10Degree
Stephen F Austin State University9Degree
The University of Texas at Dallas9Degree
Abilene Christian University8Degree
Dallas Baptist University8Degree
Texas Christian University8Degree
Weatherford College7Degree
University of Dallas6Degree
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor5Degree
East Texas Baptist University4Degree
Southwestern Adventist University4Degree
Tarleton State University4Degree
LeTourneau University2Degree
Dallas Christian College1Degree
Texas A & M International University1Degree

Looking for Education programs in Texas? This page lists every college that reported awarding Education credentials to the federal government in 2023-24 — 42 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in Texas

Credentials awarded
2,882
Share of U.S. total
11%
Colleges awarding it
42
Awarding a degree
42

Texas colleges conferred 2,882 Education credentials in 2023-24, which is 11% of the 27,206 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 42 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%1
  • Associate<1%9
  • Bachelor's83%2,398
  • Graduate16%474

Most Education credentials awarded in Texas were bachelor's degrees. That is 45 percentage points less weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 62% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 11% of Texas’s Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Texas colleges cost

Median net price across the 40 of these 42 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$13,511
30-48k
$13,568
48-75k
$18,344
75-110k
$21,999
110k+
$23,180

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Texas colleges that reported awarding Educationcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year24$9,061
Private16$18,187

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $13,511 at these colleges, against $23,180 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Texas college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Texas — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$72,0905,600Doctoral or professional degree
Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going