Cost comparison

Affordable colleges in Arizona

CampusPin lists 67 colleges in Arizona. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $3,004 and a median average net price of $12,780 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.

Arizona college costs by the numbers

Lowest published in-state tuition
Tohono O'odham Community College ($932)
Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
$3,004
Median net price after aid (37 reporting)
$12,780

Arizona colleges by published in-state tuition

Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.

Colleges in Arizona ordered by published in-state tuition, with out-of-state tuition, average net price, graduation rate, and acceptance rate.
CollegeIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionAvg. net priceGraduation rateAcceptance ratePublic/privateLocation
Tohono O'odham Community College$932$932$4,23334%Open admissionPublicSells, AZ
Dine College$1,410$1,410$10,21813%Open admissionPublicTsaile, AZ
Mohave Community College$2,208$7,968$5,97438%Open admissionPublicKingman, AZ
Northland Pioneer College$2,232$10,320$9,24022%Open admissionPublicHolbrook, AZ
Central Arizona College$2,250$4,500$4,71427%Open admissionPublicCoolidge, AZ
Cochise County Community College District$2,280$6,120$7,92930%Open admissionPublicSierra Vista, AZ
Eastern Arizona College$2,352$9,552$9,19742%Open admissionPublicThatcher, AZ
Chandler-Gilbert Community College$2,358$8,958$12,72630%Open admissionPublicChandler, AZ
Estrella Mountain Community College$2,358$8,958$12,25432%Open admissionPublicAvondale, AZ
GateWay Community College$2,358$8,958$13,33929%Open admissionPublicPhoenix, AZ
Glendale Community College$2,358$8,958$7,46116%Open admissionPublicGlendale, AZ
Mesa Community College$2,358$8,958$12,13216%Open admissionPublicMesa, AZ
Paradise Valley Community College$2,358$8,958$12,18019%Open admissionPublicPhoenix, AZ
Phoenix College$2,358$8,958$12,05514%Open admissionPublicPhoenix, AZ
Rio Salado College$2,358$8,958$8,3419%Open admissionPublicTempe, AZ
Scottsdale Community College$2,358$8,958$13,33617%Open admissionPublicScottsdale, AZ
South Mountain Community College$2,358$8,958$12,78016%Open admissionPublicPhoenix, AZ
Pima Community College$2,442$7,758$3,40528%Open admissionPublicTucson, AZ
Coconino Community College$2,907$9,987$13,99624%Open admissionPublicFlagstaff, AZ
Yavapai College$2,948$9,486$8,68334%Open admissionPublicPrescott, AZ
Arizona Western College$3,060$9,870$8,98320%Open admissionPublicYuma, AZ
Pathways College$6,180$6,180Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedPrivatePhoenix, AZ
Aspen University$6,870$6,870Not reported27%Open admissionPrivatePhoenix, AZ
Sessions College for Professional Design$7,400$7,400$15,14940%Open admissionPrivateTempe, AZ
Indian Bible College$7,980$7,980$5,06860%Open admissionPrivateFlagstaff, AZ
National Paralegal College$7,995$7,995$15,67033%Open admissionPrivatePhoenix, AZ
University of Phoenix-Arizona$9,552$9,552$13,52021%Open admissionPrivatePhoenix, AZ
Sonoran Desert Institute$12,200$12,200$20,67833%Open admissionPrivateTempe, AZ
Bryan University$12,219$12,219$20,38341%Open admissionPrivateTempe, AZ
Arizona State University Campus Immersion$12,223$33,139$14,96768%90%PublicTempe, AZ
American InterContinental University System$12,397$12,397$15,1729%Open admissionPrivateChandler, AZ
Northern Arizona University$13,009$29,881$14,15861%90%PublicFlagstaff, AZ
International Baptist College and Seminary$13,800$13,800$14,66088%Open admissionPrivateChandler, AZ
University of Arizona$13,926$42,278$16,67468%86%PublicTucson, AZ
DeVry University-Arizona$17,408$17,408Not reported67%Not reportedPrivatePhoenix, AZ
Grand Canyon University$17,850$17,850$22,47243%79%PrivatePhoenix, AZ
Arizona College-Glendale$18,835$18,835$27,91985%Open admissionPrivateGlendale, AZ
University of Advancing Technology$19,365$19,365$28,52235%98%PrivateTempe, AZ
Chamberlain University-Arizona$20,785$20,785$40,09650%91%PrivatePhoenix, AZ
Arizona College of Nursing-Tucson$24,944$24,944$37,136Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateTucson, AZ

“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.

What the Arizona cost data shows

  • Tohono O'odham Community College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $932 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
  • Median published in-state tuition is $2,358 across the public colleges here and $12,308 across the private ones — a $9,950 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
  • Median average net price is $12,780 across the 37 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
  • 37 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 38 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.

How this list was built

This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Arizona, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.

Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.

Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (67 of 67 Arizona institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest college in Arizona?
Of the 40 Arizona colleges on this page, Tohono O'odham Community College in Sells reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $932 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 37 Arizona colleges reporting it here the median is $12,780. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Arizona?
At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $2,358 at the public colleges listed and $12,308 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
Will I personally pay these amounts at a Arizona college?
Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.

Keep going on CampusPin

Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.

Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.

Data sources & methodology

Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Arizona colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

  • IPEDS / NCES College Navigator

    Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.

  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard

    Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.

  • Institutional websites

    Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Arizona. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/arizona