Cost comparison
Affordable colleges in Arkansas
CampusPin lists 53 colleges in Arkansas. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $5,400 and a median average net price of $10,574 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.
Arkansas college costs by the numbers
- Lowest published in-state tuition
- Arkansas Northeastern College ($2,570)
- Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
- $5,400
- Median net price after aid (39 reporting)
- $10,574
- Highest graduation rate
- University of Arkansas (71%)
- Most selective
- University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (41% acceptance)
- Largest by enrollment
- University of Arkansas (33,610 students)
Arkansas colleges by published in-state tuition
Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.
| College | In-state tuition | Out-of-state tuition | Avg. net price | Graduation rate | Acceptance rate | Public/private | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas Northeastern College | $2,570 | $4,250 | $5,375 | 49% | Open admission | Public | Blytheville, AR |
| Arkansas State University Mid-South | $3,216 | $4,824 | $3,558 | 58% | Open admission | Public | West Memphis, AR |
| East Arkansas Community College | $3,300 | $4,380 | $7,220 | 51% | Open admission | Public | Forrest City, AR |
| Arkansas State University-Mountain Home | $3,312 | $4,776 | $8,847 | 44% | Open admission | Public | Mountain Home, AR |
| Arkansas State University-Newport | $3,312 | $4,752 | $8,444 | 46% | Open admission | Public | Newport, AR |
| South Arkansas College | $3,324 | $5,532 | $7,486 | 30% | Open admission | Public | El Dorado, AR |
| Arkansas State University-Beebe | $3,336 | $5,232 | $11,698 | 42% | Open admission | Public | Beebe, AR |
| NorthWest Arkansas Community College | $3,342 | $5,238 | $7,196 | 31% | Open admission | Public | Bentonville, AR |
| Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas | $3,380 | $4,550 | $4,848 | 55% | Open admission | Public | Helena, AR |
| North Arkansas College | $3,504 | $5,592 | $10,180 | 42% | Open admission | Public | Harrison, AR |
| University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville | $3,630 | $4,662 | $8,044 | 66% | Open admission | Public | Batesville, AR |
| University of Arkansas Community College-Morrilton | $3,648 | $4,728 | $8,725 | 42% | Open admission | Public | Morrilton, AR |
| University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain | $3,696 | $4,272 | $4,842 | 55% | Open admission | Public | Mena, AR |
| Arkansas State University Three Rivers | $3,788 | $4,388 | $8,070 | 26% | Open admission | Public | Malvern, AR |
| Ozarka College | $3,820 | $6,820 | $4,543 | 47% | Open admission | Public | Melbourne, AR |
| University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana | $3,880 | $5,560 | $9,270 | 57% | Open admission | Public | Hope, AR |
| Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas | $4,200 | $5,070 | $4,385 | 54% | Open admission | Public | De Queen, AR |
| Black River Technical College | $4,776 | $7,488 | $5,095 | 55% | Open admission | Public | Pocahontas, AR |
| Southern Arkansas University Tech | $5,040 | $6,480 | $5,895 | 62% | Open admission | Public | Camden, AR |
| Southeast Arkansas College | $5,200 | $8,650 | $11,185 | 28% | Open admission | Public | Pine Bluff, AR |
| National Park College | $5,600 | $7,280 | $12,720 | 35% | Open admission | Public | Hot Springs, AR |
| Shorter College | $6,246 | $6,246 | $14,060 | 13% | Open admission | Private | N Little Rock, AR |
| University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College | $6,300 | $9,450 | $14,327 | 36% | Open admission | Public | North Little Rock, AR |
| University of Arkansas-Fort Smith | $7,334 | $12,182 | $10,574 | 38% | 80% | Public | Fort Smith, AR |
| Arkansas State University | $8,090 | $14,522 | $12,366 | 55% | 82% | Public | Jonesboro, AR |
| Henderson State University | $8,244 | $10,620 | $23,405 | 37% | Open admission | Public | Arkadelphia, AR |
| University of Arkansas Grantham | $8,520 | $8,520 | $8,370 | 43% | Open admission | Public | LIttle Rock, AR |
| Arkansas Tech University | $8,674 | $14,668 | $12,970 | 49% | 96% | Public | Russellville, AR |
| Arkansas Baptist College | $8,760 | $8,760 | $10,627 | 7% | Open admission | Private | Little Rock, AR |
| University of Arkansas at Monticello | $9,292 | $14,857 | $14,287 | 49% | Open admission | Public | Monticello, AR |
| University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff | $9,412 | $17,992 | $12,653 | 40% | 41% | Public | Pine Bluff, AR |
| University of Arkansas at Little Rock | $9,748 | $22,158 | $17,248 | 42% | 59% | Public | Little Rock, AR |
| Southern Arkansas University Main Campus | $9,960 | $15,690 | $14,027 | 49% | 75% | Public | Magnolia, AR |
| University of Arkansas | $10,104 | $29,966 | $18,209 | 71% | 74% | Public | Fayetteville, AR |
| University of Central Arkansas | $10,523 | $18,023 | $16,511 | 54% | 89% | Public | Conway, AR |
| Champion Christian College | $11,510 | $11,510 | $17,002 | Not reported | Open admission | Private | Hot Springs, AR |
| Philander Smith University | $13,014 | $13,014 | $14,224 | 30% | Open admission | Private | Little Rock, AR |
| Strayer University-Arkansas | $13,920 | $13,920 | Not reported | Not reported | Open admission | Private | Little Rock, AR |
| Baptist Health College Little Rock | $13,987 | $13,987 | $25,454 | 67% | 95% | Private | Little Rock, AR |
| Crowley's Ridge College | $16,670 | $16,670 | $16,315 | 36% | Open admission | Private | Paragould, AR |
“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.
What the Arkansas cost data shows
- Arkansas Northeastern College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $2,570 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
- Median published in-state tuition is $4,200 across the public colleges here and $13,014 across the private ones — a $8,814 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
- Median average net price is $10,574 across the 39 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
- 39 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 38 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.
How this list was built
This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Arkansas, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.
Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.
Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (53 of 53 Arkansas institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the cheapest college in Arkansas?
- Of the 40 Arkansas colleges on this page, Arkansas Northeastern College in Blytheville reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $2,570 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
- Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
- No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 39 Arkansas colleges reporting it here the median is $10,574. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
- Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Arkansas?
- At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $4,200 at the public colleges listed and $13,014 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
- Will I personally pay these amounts at a Arkansas college?
- Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.
More South states
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Arkansas colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Arkansas. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/arkansas