Cost comparison
Affordable colleges in Maryland
CampusPin lists 52 colleges in Maryland. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $9,147 and a median average net price of $11,673 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.
Maryland college costs by the numbers
- Lowest published in-state tuition
- Baltimore City Community College ($3,314)
- Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
- $9,147
- Median net price after aid (39 reporting)
- $11,673
- Highest graduation rate
- Women's Institute of Torah Seminary and College (100%)
- Most selective
- University of Maryland, Baltimore (45% acceptance)
- Largest by enrollment
- University of Maryland Global Campus (63,012 students)
Maryland colleges by published in-state tuition
Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.
| College | In-state tuition | Out-of-state tuition | Avg. net price | Graduation rate | Acceptance rate | Public/private | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baltimore City Community College | $3,314 | $7,394 | $9,769 | 17% | Open admission | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| Wor-Wic Community College | $3,840 | $8,400 | $6,573 | 27% | Open admission | Public | Salisbury, MD |
| Frederick Community College | $3,849 | $10,042 | $2,801 | 37% | Open admission | Public | Frederick, MD |
| Harford Community College | $4,032 | $8,832 | $9,234 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Bel Air, MD |
| Prince George's Community College | $4,034 | $8,762 | $8,672 | 18% | Open admission | Public | Largo, MD |
| Howard Community College | $4,080 | $9,624 | $11,133 | 24% | Open admission | Public | Columbia, MD |
| Garrett College | $4,144 | $12,040 | $6,396 | 34% | Open admission | Public | McHenry, MD |
| College of Southern Maryland | $4,200 | $10,050 | $9,204 | 33% | Open admission | Public | La Plata, MD |
| Chesapeake College | $4,274 | $8,768 | $5,106 | 35% | Open admission | Public | Wye Mills, MD |
| Carroll Community College | $4,308 | $10,158 | $2,725 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Westminster, MD |
| Hagerstown Community College | $4,320 | $8,190 | $6,835 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Hagerstown, MD |
| Anne Arundel Community College | $4,322 | $11,522 | $14,915 | 31% | Open admission | Public | Arnold, MD |
| Community College of Baltimore County | $4,432 | $11,010 | $6,643 | 19% | Open admission | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| Allegany College of Maryland | $4,938 | $12,618 | $8,819 | 40% | Open admission | Public | Cumberland, MD |
| Montgomery College | $5,394 | $14,250 | $8,027 | 32% | Open admission | Public | Rockville, MD |
| Cecil College | $5,640 | $10,830 | $9,658 | 37% | Open admission | Public | North East, MD |
| Coppin State University | $7,100 | $14,024 | $6,007 | 26% | 46% | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| University of Maryland Global Campus | $8,136 | $12,336 | $14,514 | 33% | Open admission | Public | Adelphi, MD |
| Morgan State University | $8,229 | $19,124 | $14,985 | 41% | 82% | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| University of Maryland Eastern Shore | $9,076 | $20,122 | $13,338 | 35% | 96% | Public | Princess Anne, MD |
| Bowie State University | $9,218 | $19,938 | $19,298 | 38% | 72% | Public | Bowie, MD |
| Women's Institute of Torah Seminary and College | $9,780 | $9,780 | $11,673 | 100% | 98% | Private | Baltimore, MD |
| University of Baltimore | $9,992 | $23,984 | $13,868 | 38% | 79% | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| Frostburg State University | $10,220 | $25,814 | $16,715 | 50% | 89% | Public | Frostburg, MD |
| Ner Israel Rabbinical College | $10,600 | $10,600 | $5,548 | 24% | 66% | Private | Baltimore, MD |
| Salisbury University | $11,084 | $22,174 | $17,743 | 68% | 87% | Public | Salisbury, MD |
| University of Maryland, Baltimore | $11,412 | $38,382 | Not reported | Not reported | 45% | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| Yeshiva College of the Nations Capital | $11,500 | $11,500 | $2,200 | Not reported | Open admission | Private | Silver Spring, MD |
| Towson University | $11,728 | $29,820 | $17,413 | 69% | 82% | Public | Towson, MD |
| University of Maryland, College Park | $11,809 | $41,186 | $15,678 | 89% | 45% | Public | College Park, MD |
| Bais HaMedrash and Mesivta of Baltimore | $13,100 | $13,100 | $11,361 | 32% | Open admission | Private | Baltimore, MD |
| University of Maryland, Baltimore County | $13,256 | $31,275 | $16,467 | 70% | 72% | Public | Baltimore, MD |
| Strayer University-Maryland | $13,920 | $13,920 | $18,092 | 38% | Open admission | Private | Suitland, MD |
| St. Mary's College of Maryland | $15,298 | $31,374 | $18,441 | 70% | 69% | Public | St. Mary's City, MD |
| Fortis College-Landover | $16,522 | $16,522 | $26,578 | 47% | Open admission | Private | Landover, MD |
| Washington Adventist University | $26,604 | $26,604 | $18,526 | 29% | 46% | Private | Takoma Park, MD |
| Capitol Technology University | $27,592 | $27,592 | $22,102 | 43% | 74% | Private | Laurel, MD |
| Stevenson University | $40,560 | $40,560 | $26,505 | 68% | 79% | Private | Stevenson, MD |
| St. John's College | $40,684 | $40,684 | $24,351 | 71% | 55% | Private | Annapolis, MD |
| Notre Dame of Maryland University | $43,360 | $43,360 | $19,169 | 50% | 82% | Private | Baltimore, MD |
“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.
What the Maryland cost data shows
- Baltimore City Community College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $3,314 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
- Median published in-state tuition is $5,394 across the public colleges here and $16,522 across the private ones — a $11,128 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
- Median average net price is $11,673 across the 39 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
- 39 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 38 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.
How this list was built
This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Maryland, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.
Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.
Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (52 of 52 Maryland institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the cheapest college in Maryland?
- Of the 40 Maryland colleges on this page, Baltimore City Community College in Baltimore reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $3,314 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
- Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
- No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 39 Maryland colleges reporting it here the median is $11,673. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
- Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Maryland?
- At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $5,394 at the public colleges listed and $16,522 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
- Will I personally pay these amounts at a Maryland college?
- Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.
More South states
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Maryland colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Maryland. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/maryland