Cost comparison
Affordable colleges in Kentucky
CampusPin lists 58 colleges in Kentucky. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $10,172 and a median average net price of $9,337 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.
Kentucky college costs by the numbers
- Lowest published in-state tuition
- Ashland Community and Technical College ($4,728)
- Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
- $10,172
- Median net price after aid (39 reporting)
- $9,337
- Highest graduation rate
- University of Kentucky (71%)
- Largest by enrollment
- University of Kentucky (34,709 students)
Kentucky colleges by published in-state tuition
Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.
| College | In-state tuition | Out-of-state tuition | Avg. net price | Graduation rate | Acceptance rate | Public/private | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ashland Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,717 | 51% | Open admission | Public | Ashland, KY |
| Big Sandy Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $3,873 | 38% | Open admission | Public | Prestonsburg, KY |
| Elizabethtown Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,143 | 59% | Open admission | Public | Elizabethtown, KY |
| Gateway Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,725 | 59% | Open admission | Public | Florence, KY |
| Hazard Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $2,955 | 48% | Open admission | Public | Hazard, KY |
| Henderson Community College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $4,232 | 35% | Open admission | Public | Henderson, KY |
| Hopkinsville Community College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $3,939 | 45% | Open admission | Public | Hopkinsville, KY |
| Madisonville Community College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,406 | 49% | Open admission | Public | Madisonville, KY |
| Maysville Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $4,605 | 56% | Open admission | Public | Maysville, KY |
| Owensboro Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,800 | 54% | Open admission | Public | Owensboro, KY |
| Somerset Community College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $4,398 | 43% | Open admission | Public | Somerset, KY |
| Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $3,537 | 58% | Open admission | Public | Bowling Green, KY |
| Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $3,731 | 47% | Open admission | Public | Cumberland, KY |
| West Kentucky Community and Technical College | $4,728 | $6,432 | $5,353 | 50% | Open admission | Public | Paducah, KY |
| Bluegrass Community and Technical College | $4,808 | $6,512 | $6,113 | 43% | Open admission | Public | Lexington, KY |
| Jefferson Community and Technical College | $4,808 | $6,512 | $6,376 | 35% | Open admission | Public | Louisville, KY |
| Kentucky State University | $9,387 | $13,658 | $8,040 | 32% | 96% | Public | Frankfort, KY |
| University of the Cumberlands | $9,875 | $9,875 | $14,107 | 50% | 99% | Private | Williamsburg, KY |
| Murray State University | $9,900 | $19,836 | $9,096 | 61% | 86% | Public | Murray, KY |
| Morehead State University | $10,024 | $14,980 | $9,793 | 52% | 77% | Public | Morehead, KY |
| Eastern Kentucky University | $10,320 | $21,230 | $11,040 | 50% | 78% | Public | Richmond, KY |
| Kentucky Mountain Bible College | $10,360 | $10,360 | $9,337 | 64% | Open admission | Private | Jackson, KY |
| Clear Creek Baptist Bible College | $10,720 | $10,720 | $10,949 | 38% | Open admission | Private | Pineville, KY |
| The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary | $11,046 | $11,046 | Not reported | 40% | 56% | Private | Louisville, KY |
| Northern Kentucky University | $11,088 | $21,912 | $8,191 | 52% | 68% | Public | Highland Heights, KY |
| Western Kentucky University | $11,652 | $27,000 | $10,990 | 56% | 94% | Public | Bowling Green, KY |
| American National University-Pikeville | $12,456 | $12,456 | $17,010 | 50% | Open admission | Private | Pikeville, KY |
| University of Louisville | $13,136 | $29,482 | $17,988 | 61% | 79% | Public | Louisville, KY |
| Beckfield College-Florence | $13,295 | $13,295 | $28,133 | 32% | Open admission | Private | Florence, KY |
| University of Kentucky | $13,502 | $34,140 | $18,851 | 71% | 93% | Public | Lexington, KY |
| Alice Lloyd College | $13,960 | $13,960 | $18,600 | 39% | 75% | Private | Pippa Passes, KY |
| ATA College | $14,200 | $14,200 | $22,680 | 46% | Open admission | Private | Louisville, KY |
| Sullivan University | $15,480 | $15,480 | $25,532 | 71% | Open admission | Private | Louisville, KY |
| Galen College of Nursing-ARH | $16,364 | $16,364 | $21,164 | 63% | Open admission | Private | Hazard, KY |
| Simmons College of Kentucky | $16,398 | $16,398 | $18,434 | 14% | Open admission | Private | Louisville, KY |
| University of Pikeville | $24,850 | $24,850 | $13,591 | 42% | Open admission | Private | Pikeville, KY |
| Kentucky Christian University | $26,625 | $26,625 | $24,038 | 37% | 61% | Private | Grayson, KY |
| Midway University | $27,220 | $27,220 | $29,579 | 41% | 95% | Private | Midway, KY |
| Lindsey Wilson College | $27,808 | $27,808 | $15,070 | 44% | Open admission | Private | Columbia, KY |
| Campbellsville University | $27,998 | $27,998 | $19,341 | 42% | 80% | Private | Campbellsville, KY |
“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.
What the Kentucky cost data shows
- Ashland Community and Technical College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $4,728 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
- Median published in-state tuition is $4,728 across the public colleges here and $14,840 across the private ones — a $10,112 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
- Median average net price ($9,337) is lower than median published tuition ($10,172) among the colleges reporting both, which is what grant and scholarship aid does to the sticker figure.
- 39 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 40 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.
How this list was built
This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Kentucky, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.
Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.
Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (58 of 58 Kentucky institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the cheapest college in Kentucky?
- Of the 40 Kentucky colleges on this page, Ashland Community and Technical College in Ashland reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $4,728 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
- Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
- No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 39 Kentucky colleges reporting it here the median is $9,337. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
- Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Kentucky?
- At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $4,728 at the public colleges listed and $14,840 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
- Will I personally pay these amounts at a Kentucky college?
- Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.
More South states
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Kentucky colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Kentucky. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/kentucky