Finance major
Finance: courses, careers, and where to study
Finance majors learn how money moves, corporate finance, investments, financial markets, and risk management, preparing for roles in banking, investments, and corporate analysis.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Finance earn a median $83,343 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $60,801 to $111,527 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
A Finance major builds on the business core with deeper coursework in corporate finance, investments, derivatives, financial markets, real estate, international finance, and behavioral finance. Many programs offer concentrations in Investments, Corporate Finance, Real Estate, or FinTech. The CFA Institute publishes a recognized curriculum that some Finance programs align with, check whether your school is a CFA Affiliated University Program.
Finance graduates work in commercial banking, investment banking, asset management, corporate treasury, insurance, real estate, and FinTech. The major pairs well with a CS minor or double major for quantitative finance roles.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Finance maps to CIP 52.0801, Finance, General, within the BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT, MARKETING, AND RELATED SUPPORT SERVICES family. The official definition:
A program that generally prepares individuals to plan, manage, and analyze the financial and monetary aspects and performance of business enterprises, banking institutions, or other organizations. Includes instruction in principles of accounting, financial instruments, capital planning, funds acquisition, asset and debt management, budgeting, financial analysis, and investments and portfolio management.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Finance is awarded as
Of the 53,402 Finance credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: <1%, 493 credentials.
- Associate: <1%, 204 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 92%, 49,299 credentials.
- Graduate: 6%, 3,406 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 47 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 4 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Corporate finance and capital structure
- Investments and portfolio theory
- Derivatives and risk management
- Financial markets and institutions
- International finance
- Real-estate finance
- Financial modeling in Excel
- Time-value-of-money and valuation
Typical careers
- Financial Analyst
- Investment Banking Analyst
- Portfolio Manager
- Risk Analyst
- Corporate Treasurer
- Wealth Management Advisor
Typical salary range: $62,000–$95,000 early-career (BLS, 2024 financial and investment analysts median $101,350)Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Finance graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Finance earn a median $83,343 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $60,801 to $111,527 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $83,343 | $60,801 to $111,527 |
| Associate's | $51,913 | $34,839 to $67,104 |
| Undergraduate certificate | $53,418 | $28,768 to $82,433 |
| Master's | $110,694 | $75,597 to $157,777 |
Compare Finance programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Finance programs
- University of Pennsylvania (PA): $202,069, median federal debt $12,999
- Washington University in St Louis (MO): $185,551, median federal debt $19,500
- Georgetown University (DC): $152,744, median federal debt $15,750
- Boston College (MA): $147,746, median federal debt $18,000
- Wake Forest University (NC): $145,996, median federal debt $19,500
- Fordham University (NY): $141,860, median federal debt $26,870
- American University (DC): $134,332, median federal debt $22,625
- Southern Methodist University (TX): $133,852, median federal debt $19,439
- The University of Texas at Austin (TX): $132,075, median federal debt $20,500
- Villanova University (PA): $131,996, median federal debt $26,000
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Finance and Financial Management Services. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Finance, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General and Operations Managers | $102,950 | 308,700 | +4.4% | Bachelor's degree |
| Financial Managers | $161,700 | 74,600 | +14.8% | Bachelor's degree |
| Financial and Investment Analysts | $101,350 | 25,100 | +5.7% | Bachelor's degree |
| Personal Financial Advisors | $102,140 | 24,100 | +9.6% | Bachelor's degree |
| Chief Executives | $206,420 | 22,200 | +4.3% | Bachelor's degree |
| Loan Officers | $74,180 | 20,300 | +1.7% | Bachelor's degree |
| Financial Specialists, All Other | $80,190 | 10,300 | +3.1% | Bachelor's degree |
| Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis Specialists | $77,020 | 8,500 | +5.3% | Bachelor's degree |
| Business Teachers, Postsecondary | $97,270 | 8,100 | +5.7% | Doctoral or professional degree |
| Financial Risk Specialists | $106,000 | 4,800 | +6.5% | Bachelor's degree |
| Credit Analysts | $80,970 | 3,700 | -4.4% | Bachelor's degree |
| Budget Analysts | $87,930 | 3,100 | +1% | Bachelor's degree |
| Appraisers of Personal and Business Property | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 12 of these 13 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Finance does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a Finance major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Finance program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Finance department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Finance program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Finance credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- Ohio State University-Main Campus, OH · 879 credentials
- CUNY Bernard M Baruch College, NY · 843 credentials
- Florida State University, FL · 774 credentials
- University of South Carolina-Columbia, SC · 653 credentials
- The University of Alabama, AL · 647 credentials
- University of Georgia, GA · 600 credentials
- Florida International University, FL · 594 credentials
- University of Iowa, IA · 582 credentials
- Boston College, MA · 515 credentials
- Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus, PA · 512 credentials
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick, NJ · 502 credentials
- Miami University-Oxford, OH · 477 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Finance credentials were awarded
17 states have a distinct enough set of Finance colleges to be worth its own page.
- New York: 48 colleges
- Ohio: 37 colleges
- Illinois: 33 colleges
- Massachusetts: 27 colleges
- Minnesota: 25 colleges
- California: 23 colleges
- Missouri: 19 colleges
- New Jersey: 18 colleges
- Iowa: 16 colleges
- Georgia: 15 colleges
- South Carolina: 10 colleges
- Washington: 9 colleges
- Colorado: 8 colleges
- Maryland: 7 colleges
- Mississippi: 7 colleges
- New Hampshire: 5 colleges
- Oregon: 5 colleges
Every Finance program with its own CampusPin page
236 programs in 45 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Finance programs in Alabama, 3 programs
- Auburn University Bachelor's, $84,352
- The University of Alabama Bachelor's, $85,020
- University of South Alabama Bachelor's, $62,084
Finance programs in Arizona, 4 programs
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $90,960
- Grand Canyon University Bachelor's, $72,124
- Northern Arizona University Bachelor's, $77,855
- University of Arizona Bachelor's, $100,938
Finance programs in Arkansas, 2 programs
- Arkansas State University Bachelor's, $68,408
- University of Arkansas Bachelor's, $87,717
Finance programs in California, 12 programs
- Ashford University Bachelor's, $64,426
- California State University-Fresno Bachelor's, $67,312
- California State University-Long Beach Bachelor's, $78,085
- California State University-Northridge Bachelor's, $74,656
- California State University-San Bernardino Bachelor's, $61,095
- California State University-San Marcos Bachelor's, $77,312
- Loyola Marymount University Bachelor's, $109,303
- San Diego State University Bachelor's, $88,136
- San Francisco State University Bachelor's, $78,310
- Santa Clara University Bachelor's, $118,737
- University of San Diego Bachelor's, $93,099
- University of San Francisco Bachelor's, $103,605
Finance programs in Colorado, 2 programs
- Metropolitan State University of Denver Bachelor's, $77,596
- University of Denver Bachelor's, $99,135
Finance programs in Connecticut, 5 programs
- Central Connecticut State University Bachelor's, $78,910
- Fairfield University Bachelor's, $106,663
- Quinnipiac University Bachelor's, $86,474
- Sacred Heart University Bachelor's, $94,733
- University of Connecticut Bachelor's, $102,286
Finance programs in Delaware, 1 program
- University of Delaware Bachelor's, $101,605
Finance programs in District of Columbia, 3 programs
- George Washington University Bachelor's, $126,638
- Georgetown University Bachelor's, $152,744
- The Catholic University of America Bachelor's, $98,856
Finance programs in Florida, 11 programs
- Florida Atlantic University Bachelor's, $70,078
- Florida Gulf Coast University Bachelor's, $75,767
- Florida International University Bachelor's, $71,355
- Florida State University Bachelor's, $87,089
- Stetson University Bachelor's, $85,033
- The University of Tampa Bachelor's, $90,485
- University of Central Florida Bachelor's, $82,007
- University of Florida Bachelor's, $106,153
- University of Miami Bachelor's, $110,240
- University of North Florida Bachelor's, $75,475
- University of South Florida Bachelor's, $73,933
Finance programs in Georgia, 6 programs
- Georgia Southern University Bachelor's, $79,411
- Georgia State University Bachelor's, $82,688
- Kennesaw State University Bachelor's, $81,002
- University of Georgia Bachelor's, $97,364
- University of North Georgia Bachelor's, $67,554
- University of West Georgia Bachelor's, $72,717
Finance programs in Hawaii, 1 program
- University of Hawaii at Manoa Bachelor's, $64,224
Finance programs in Idaho, 2 programs
- Boise State University Bachelor's, $70,449
- University of Idaho Bachelor's, $71,929
Finance programs in Illinois, 11 programs
- DePaul University Bachelor's, $93,719
- Elmhurst University Bachelor's, $76,433
- Illinois State University Bachelor's, $85,326
- Loyola University Chicago Bachelor's, $89,001
- North Central College Bachelor's, $81,562
- Northeastern Illinois University Bachelor's, $64,022
- Northern Illinois University Bachelor's, $86,511
- Saint Xavier University Bachelor's, $75,180
- Southern Illinois University-Carbondale Bachelor's, $67,349
- University of Illinois Chicago Bachelor's, $83,218
- University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Bachelor's, $119,978
Finance programs in Indiana, 2 programs
- Ball State University Bachelor's, $70,833
- Purdue University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $85,924
Finance programs in Iowa, 3 programs
- Iowa State University Bachelor's, $75,360
- University of Iowa Bachelor's, $88,229
- University of Northern Iowa Bachelor's, $81,172
Finance programs in Kansas, 3 programs
- Kansas State University Bachelor's, $75,705
- University of Kansas Bachelor's, $86,453
- Wichita State University Bachelor's, $64,060
Finance programs in Kentucky, 4 programs
- Northern Kentucky University Bachelor's, $68,409
- University of Kentucky Bachelor's, $84,087
- University of Louisville Bachelor's, $75,089
- Western Kentucky University Bachelor's, $70,313
Finance programs in Louisiana, 3 programs
- Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College Bachelor's, $95,302
- Tulane University of Louisiana Bachelor's, $129,850
- University of Louisiana at Lafayette Bachelor's, $59,315
Finance programs in Maine, 1 program
- University of Maine Bachelor's, $75,004
Finance programs in Maryland, 3 programs
- Salisbury University Bachelor's, $80,478
- University of Maryland Global Campus Bachelor's, $78,512
- University of Maryland, College Park Bachelor's, $110,648
Finance programs in Massachusetts, 6 programs
- Bentley University Bachelor's, $113,795
- Boston College Bachelor's, $147,746
- Stonehill College Bachelor's, $93,693
- Suffolk University Bachelor's, $90,090
- University of Massachusetts Amherst Bachelor's, $96,995
- University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth Bachelor's, $64,107
Finance programs in Michigan, 9 programs
- Central Michigan University Bachelor's, $79,906
- Eastern Michigan University Bachelor's, $74,066
- Grand Valley State University Bachelor's, $71,348
- Michigan State University Bachelor's, $102,017
- Oakland University Bachelor's, $79,127
- University of Michigan-Dearborn Bachelor's, $85,068
- Walsh College Bachelor's, $76,597
- Wayne State University Bachelor's, $74,703
- Western Michigan University Bachelor's, $72,353
Finance programs in Minnesota, 5 programs
- Metropolitan State University Bachelor's, $74,237
- Minnesota State University-Mankato Bachelor's, $74,852
- Saint Cloud State University Bachelor's, $70,259
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Bachelor's, $98,279
- University of Minnesota-Duluth Bachelor's, $73,979
Finance programs in Mississippi, 2 programs
- Mississippi State University Bachelor's, $70,367
- University of Mississippi Bachelor's, $80,488
Finance programs in Missouri, 4 programs
- Missouri State University-Springfield Bachelor's, $72,227
- Saint Louis University Bachelor's, $93,647
- University of Central Missouri Bachelor's, $66,897
- Washington University in St Louis Bachelor's, $185,551
Finance programs in Nebraska, 2 programs
- Creighton University Bachelor's, $89,079
- University of Nebraska-Lincoln Bachelor's, $77,504
Finance programs in Nevada, 2 programs
- University of Nevada-Las Vegas Bachelor's, $76,319
- University of Nevada-Reno Bachelor's, $72,227
Finance programs in New Hampshire, 2 programs
- Saint Anselm College Bachelor's, $90,161
- Southern New Hampshire University Bachelor's, $81,489
Finance programs in New Jersey, 8 programs
- Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus Bachelor's, $84,606
- Kean University Bachelor's, $65,415
- New Jersey City University Bachelor's, $71,548
- Rider University Bachelor's, $88,405
- Rowan University Bachelor's, $75,697
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Bachelor's, $100,695
- Seton Hall University Bachelor's, $89,994
- William Paterson University of New Jersey Bachelor's, $70,356
Finance programs in New York, 16 programs
- Binghamton University Bachelor's, $115,013
- Canisius University Bachelor's, $70,001
- CUNY Bernard M Baruch College Bachelor's, $84,956
- CUNY Brooklyn College Bachelor's, $69,489
- Fordham University Bachelor's, $141,860
- Hofstra University Bachelor's, $89,518
- Iona University Bachelor's, $84,128
- Le Moyne College Bachelor's, $82,414
- Manhattan College Bachelor's, $100,376
- Pace University Bachelor's, $92,271
- Siena College Bachelor's, $88,623
- St. John Fisher University Bachelor's, $70,455
- St. John's University-New York Bachelor's, $98,970
- State University of New York at Oswego Bachelor's, $72,784
- SUNY Brockport Bachelor's, $70,248
- Syracuse University Bachelor's, $120,274
Finance programs in North Carolina, 7 programs
- Appalachian State University Bachelor's, $75,396
- Campbell University Bachelor's, $78,021
- East Carolina University Bachelor's, $78,324
- Elon University Bachelor's, $103,426
- University of North Carolina at Charlotte Bachelor's, $74,965
- University of North Carolina at Greensboro Bachelor's, $64,077
- Western Carolina University Bachelor's, $58,076
Finance programs in North Dakota, 1 program
- North Dakota State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $80,522
Finance programs in Ohio, 15 programs
- Baldwin Wallace University Bachelor's, $74,535
- Bowling Green State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $76,659
- Cleveland State University Bachelor's, $73,669
- Franklin University Bachelor's, $73,574
- John Carroll University Bachelor's, $84,728
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $71,330
- Miami University-Oxford Bachelor's, $110,406
- Ohio State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $97,986
- Ohio University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $81,299
- University of Akron Main Campus Bachelor's, $74,840
- University of Cincinnati-Main Campus Bachelor's, $83,501
- University of Dayton Bachelor's, $95,925
- University of Toledo Bachelor's, $74,304
- Wright State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $71,696
- Xavier University Bachelor's, $81,532
Finance programs in Oklahoma, 3 programs
- Oklahoma State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $81,340
- University of Central Oklahoma Bachelor's, $58,334
- University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus Bachelor's, $106,719
Finance programs in Oregon, 2 programs
- Oregon State University Bachelor's, $78,427
- Portland State University Bachelor's, $79,727
Finance programs in Pennsylvania, 15 programs
- Duquesne University Bachelor's, $83,781
- Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus Bachelor's, $68,794
- La Salle University Bachelor's, $89,087
- Lehigh University Bachelor's, $127,210
- Muhlenberg College Bachelor's, $94,403
- Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $96,714
- Robert Morris University Bachelor's, $72,129
- Saint Joseph's University Bachelor's, $96,993
- Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $71,432
- Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $62,805
- Temple University Bachelor's, $85,011
- University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $202,069
- University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Bachelor's, $95,087
- University of Scranton Bachelor's, $100,962
- Villanova University Bachelor's, $131,996
Finance programs in Rhode Island, 4 programs
- Bryant University Bachelor's, $90,499
- Providence College Bachelor's, $103,021
- Roger Williams University Bachelor's, $94,919
- University of Rhode Island Bachelor's, $87,196
Finance programs in South Carolina, 5 programs
- Clemson University Bachelor's, $91,269
- Coastal Carolina University Bachelor's, $70,181
- College of Charleston Bachelor's, $84,187
- University of South Carolina-Columbia Bachelor's, $92,578
- Wofford College Bachelor's, $79,643
Finance programs in Tennessee, 5 programs
- East Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $58,232
- Middle Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $66,701
- The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Bachelor's, $83,793
- The University of Tennessee-Martin Bachelor's, $64,840
- University of Memphis Bachelor's, $65,132
Finance programs in Texas, 18 programs
- Baylor University Bachelor's, $102,812
- Sam Houston State University Bachelor's, $72,388
- Southern Methodist University Bachelor's, $133,852
- Texas A & M University-College Station Bachelor's, $112,319
- Texas A&M University-San Antonio Bachelor's, $64,417
- Texas Christian University Bachelor's, $111,304
- Texas State University Bachelor's, $75,100
- Texas Tech University Bachelor's, $86,795
- The University of Texas at Arlington Bachelor's, $76,623
- The University of Texas at Austin Bachelor's, $132,075
- The University of Texas at Dallas Bachelor's, $86,484
- The University of Texas at El Paso Bachelor's, $59,668
- The University of Texas at San Antonio Bachelor's, $75,373
- The University of Texas at Tyler Bachelor's, $72,905
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Bachelor's, $50,156
- University of Houston Bachelor's, $78,009
- University of Houston-Downtown Bachelor's, $66,591
- University of North Texas Bachelor's, $77,061
Finance programs in Utah, 4 programs
- Brigham Young University Bachelor's, $129,879
- University of Utah Bachelor's, $100,793
- Utah State University Bachelor's, $84,633
- Utah Valley University Bachelor's, $93,858
Finance programs in Virginia, 5 programs
- George Mason University Bachelor's, $88,080
- James Madison University Bachelor's, $104,926
- Old Dominion University Bachelor's, $67,320
- Radford University Bachelor's, $72,364
- Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Bachelor's, $102,902
Finance programs in Washington, 5 programs
- Eastern Washington University Bachelor's, $66,710
- Seattle University Bachelor's, $99,791
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus Bachelor's, $97,452
- Washington State University Bachelor's, $86,012
- Western Washington University Bachelor's, $75,730
Finance programs in West Virginia, 1 program
- West Virginia University Bachelor's, $76,959
Finance programs in Wisconsin, 8 programs
- Carthage College Bachelor's, $86,952
- Marquette University Bachelor's, $97,719
- University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Bachelor's, $75,724
- University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Bachelor's, $76,227
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Bachelor's, $107,207
- University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Bachelor's, $69,673
- University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Bachelor's, $79,927
- University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Bachelor's, $72,928
Related majors
Business Administration
Business Administration is the most popular U.S. major, a broad foundation in accounting, finance, marketing, management, and economics that prepares graduates for nearly any industry.
Accounting
Accounting prepares graduates for the CPA exam and careers in public accounting, corporate finance, audit, tax, and forensic accounting, a major with high job placement.
Economics
Economics studies how individuals, firms, and governments allocate resources, combining theory with empirical analysis and a strong mathematical foundation.
Mathematics
Mathematics develops formal proof, abstraction, and quantitative analysis, feeding into research, finance, computing, actuarial science, and graduate programs across STEM.
Still deciding between Finance and something else?
These guides put Finance side by side with the major it is most often confused with, using the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk to show where the two actually lead.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Finance degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Business & Finance careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
Explore Management careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Finance degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Finance path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.