Accounting major
Accounting: courses, careers, and where to study
Accounting prepares graduates for the CPA exam and careers in public accounting, corporate finance, audit, tax, and forensic accounting, a major with high job placement.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Accounting earn a median $76,194 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $56,205 to $97,191 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
Accounting is one of the most career-direct business majors. The standard 4-year BS in Accounting covers financial accounting, managerial accounting, intermediate and advanced accounting, audit, taxation, and accounting information systems. To sit for the CPA exam, most states now require 150 credit hours, students typically complete the BS plus an MS in Accounting (or MBA) for that fifth-year requirement. Average starting salaries at Big Four firms are competitive, and the profession has predictable career advancement (Senior → Manager → Senior Manager → Partner).
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Accounting maps to CIP 52.0301, Accounting, within the BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT, MARKETING, AND RELATED SUPPORT SERVICES family. The official definition:
A program that prepares individuals to practice the profession of accounting and to perform related business functions. Includes instruction in accounting principles and theory, financial accounting, managerial accounting, cost accounting, budget control, tax accounting, legal aspects of accounting, auditing, reporting procedures, statement analysis, planning and consulting, business information systems, accounting research methods, professional standards and ethics, and applications to specific for-profit, public, and non-profit organizations.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Accounting is awarded as
Of the 60,985 Accounting credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 5%, 3,279 credentials.
- Associate: 6%, 3,845 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 69%, 41,860 credentials.
- Graduate: 20%, 12,001 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 50 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 15 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Financial accounting (GAAP, IFRS basics)
- Managerial / cost accounting
- Intermediate and advanced accounting
- Audit principles and procedures
- Federal and state taxation
- Accounting information systems and ERP
- Forensic accounting and fraud examination
- Business law and ethics
Typical careers
- CPA / Public Accountant
- Auditor
- Tax Accountant
- Corporate Accountant
- Forensic Accountant
- Controller
Typical salary range: $56,000–$78,000 early-career (BLS accountant median $79,880)Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Accounting graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Accounting earn a median $76,194 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $56,205 to $97,191 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $76,194 | $56,205 to $97,191 |
| Associate's | $47,660 | $32,411 to $63,692 |
| Undergraduate certificate | $44,589 | $27,975 to $62,148 |
| Master's | $95,833 | $74,491 to $118,338 |
| Graduate certificate | $82,363 | $53,388 to $113,136 |
Compare Accounting programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Accounting programs
- Georgetown University (DC): $141,931, median federal debt $17,500
- Bucknell University (PA): $130,990, median federal debt $26,881
- Santa Clara University (CA): $130,087, median federal debt $18,625
- Boston College (MA): $126,461, median federal debt $18,000
- Lehigh University (PA): $125,874, median federal debt $23,179
- University of Southern California (CA): $121,101, median federal debt $16,491
- Villanova University (PA): $120,207, median federal debt $25,858
- Washington and Lee University (VA): $118,946, median federal debt $16,750
- Fordham University (NY): $117,024, median federal debt $23,000
- George Washington University (DC): $116,795, median federal debt $24,750
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Accounting and Related Services. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Accounting, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accountants and Auditors | $81,680 | 124,200 | +4.6% | Bachelor's degree |
| Tax Preparers | $50,560 | 10,400 | +4.5% | High school diploma or equivalent |
| Business Teachers, Postsecondary | $97,270 | 8,100 | +5.7% | Doctoral or professional degree |
| Financial Examiners | $90,400 | 5,700 | +18.5% | Bachelor's degree |
| Financial Risk Specialists | $106,000 | 4,800 | +6.5% | Bachelor's degree |
| Tax Examiners and Collectors, and Revenue Agents | $59,740 | 4,300 | -1.8% | Bachelor's degree |
| Credit Analysts | $80,970 | 3,700 | -4.4% | Bachelor's degree |
| Budget Analysts | $87,930 | 3,100 | +1% | Bachelor's degree |
| Appraisers of Personal and Business Property | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 8 of these 9 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Accounting does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a Accounting major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Accounting program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Accounting department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Accounting program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Accounting credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- Western Governors University, UT · 2,262 credentials
- Southern New Hampshire University, NH · 1,683 credentials
- CUNY Bernard M Baruch College, NY · 681 credentials
- University of Phoenix-Arizona, AZ · 573 credentials
- Utah Valley University, UT · 534 credentials
- Liberty University, VA · 486 credentials
- Texas A & M University-College Station, TX · 443 credentials
- Colorado Technical University-Colorado Springs, CO · 396 credentials
- University of Georgia, GA · 387 credentials
- Dallas College, TX · 378 credentials
- Ohio State University-Main Campus, OH · 371 credentials
- DeVry University-Illinois, IL · 370 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Accounting credentials were awarded
15 states have a distinct enough set of Accounting colleges to be worth its own page.
- New York: 73 colleges
- California: 45 colleges
- Georgia: 34 colleges
- North Carolina: 34 colleges
- South Carolina: 32 colleges
- Missouri: 27 colleges
- Virginia: 26 colleges
- Maryland: 21 colleges
- Oregon: 20 colleges
- Mississippi: 16 colleges
- Washington: 16 colleges
- West Virginia: 15 colleges
- Nebraska: 13 colleges
- New Mexico: 9 colleges
- Montana: 7 colleges
Every Accounting program with its own CampusPin page
361 programs in 46 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Accounting programs in Alabama, 7 programs
- Athens State University Bachelor's, $63,516
- Auburn University Bachelor's, $86,222
- The University of Alabama Bachelor's, $87,621
- Troy University Bachelor's, $67,190
- University of Alabama at Birmingham Bachelor's, $69,201
- University of North Alabama Bachelor's, $56,814
- University of South Alabama Bachelor's, $64,410
Accounting programs in Alaska, 1 program
- University of Alaska Anchorage Bachelor's, $77,625
Accounting programs in Arizona, 4 programs
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $86,901
- Grand Canyon University Bachelor's, $67,067
- Northern Arizona University Bachelor's, $81,144
- University of Arizona Bachelor's, $93,729
Accounting programs in Arkansas, 1 program
- University of Arkansas Bachelor's, $84,097
Accounting programs in California, 18 programs
- Ashford University Bachelor's, $61,522
- California Baptist University Bachelor's, $81,150
- California State University-Chico Bachelor's, $85,612
- California State University-Fresno Bachelor's, $65,200
- California State University-Northridge Bachelor's, $92,329
- California State University-San Bernardino Bachelor's, $59,367
- California State University-San Marcos Bachelor's, $86,318
- Golden Gate University Master's, $120,311
- Loyola Marymount University Bachelor's, $111,733
- National University Master's, $93,465
- San Diego State University Master's, $103,392
- San Francisco State University Bachelor's, $81,587
- Santa Clara University Bachelor's, $130,087
- University of California-Davis Master's, $108,771
- University of California-Irvine Master's, $104,422
- University of San Diego Bachelor's, $109,142
- University of San Francisco Bachelor's, $95,973
- University of Southern California Bachelor's, $121,101
Accounting programs in Colorado, 6 programs
- Colorado State University Global Bachelor's, $75,415
- Colorado Technical University-Colorado Springs Associate's, $41,090
- Metropolitan State University of Denver Bachelor's, $73,698
- Regis University Master's, $97,881
- University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus Master's, $106,530
- University of Denver Master's, $105,291
Accounting programs in Connecticut, 8 programs
- Central Connecticut State University Master's, $103,777
- Eastern Connecticut State University Bachelor's, $75,235
- Fairfield University Bachelor's, $110,586
- Post University Bachelor's, $73,190
- Quinnipiac University Bachelor's, $103,533
- Sacred Heart University Bachelor's, $91,777
- University of Connecticut Bachelor's, $106,959
- Western Connecticut State University Bachelor's, $80,895
Accounting programs in Delaware, 2 programs
- University of Delaware Bachelor's, $105,425
- Wilmington University Bachelor's, $59,954
Accounting programs in Florida, 13 programs
- Flagler College Bachelor's, $63,113
- Florida Atlantic University Bachelor's, $77,465
- Florida Gulf Coast University Bachelor's, $72,207
- Florida International University Bachelor's, $81,923
- Florida State University Bachelor's, $91,056
- Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale Bachelor's, $59,334
- Nova Southeastern University Master's, $96,451
- Saint Leo University Bachelor's, $66,056
- The University of Tampa Bachelor's, $84,875
- University of Central Florida Bachelor's, $79,563
- University of Florida Bachelor's, $94,941
- University of North Florida Bachelor's, $73,868
- University of South Florida Bachelor's, $78,918
Accounting programs in Georgia, 9 programs
- Georgia College & State University Bachelor's, $69,875
- Georgia Southern University Master's, $90,092
- Georgia Southwestern State University Bachelor's, $63,928
- Georgia State University Bachelor's, $81,029
- Kennesaw State University Bachelor's, $77,710
- University of Georgia Bachelor's, $93,260
- University of North Georgia Bachelor's, $70,468
- University of West Georgia Bachelor's, $70,405
- Valdosta State University Bachelor's, $60,751
Accounting programs in Hawaii, 1 program
- University of Hawaii at Manoa Bachelor's, $66,651
Accounting programs in Idaho, 2 programs
- Boise State University Bachelor's, $69,257
- Brigham Young University-Idaho Bachelor's, $88,548
Accounting programs in Illinois, 21 programs
- Augustana College Bachelor's, $91,143
- Aurora University Bachelor's, $74,820
- Benedictine University Bachelor's, $79,917
- Bradley University Bachelor's, $80,877
- DePaul University Bachelor's, $93,592
- Eastern Illinois University Bachelor's, $66,840
- Illinois State University Bachelor's, $84,458
- Illinois Wesleyan University Bachelor's, $97,022
- Lewis University Bachelor's, $72,812
- Loyola University Chicago Bachelor's, $97,667
- North Central College Bachelor's, $78,125
- Northeastern Illinois University Bachelor's, $68,328
- Northern Illinois University Bachelor's, $83,573
- Roosevelt University Bachelor's, $65,839
- Saint Xavier University Bachelor's, $75,023
- Southern Illinois University-Carbondale Bachelor's, $70,478
- Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville Bachelor's, $69,610
- University of Illinois Chicago Bachelor's, $86,088
- University of Illinois Springfield Bachelor's, $64,048
- University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Bachelor's, $101,098
- Western Illinois University Bachelor's, $71,059
Accounting programs in Indiana, 6 programs
- Ball State University Bachelor's, $75,559
- Indiana University-Bloomington Master's, $119,951
- Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion Bachelor's, $67,767
- Ivy Tech Community College Certificate, $44,401
- Purdue University Global Bachelor's, $62,502
- Purdue University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $90,119
Accounting programs in Iowa, 5 programs
- Buena Vista University Bachelor's, $63,454
- Iowa State University Bachelor's, $70,706
- University of Iowa Bachelor's, $92,767
- University of Northern Iowa Bachelor's, $82,641
- Upper Iowa University Bachelor's, $63,645
Accounting programs in Kansas, 3 programs
- Kansas State University Bachelor's, $79,008
- University of Kansas Bachelor's, $84,736
- Wichita State University Bachelor's, $69,696
Accounting programs in Kentucky, 6 programs
- Morehead State University Bachelor's, $50,125
- Northern Kentucky University Bachelor's, $69,610
- Sullivan University Bachelor's, $60,916
- University of Kentucky Bachelor's, $85,777
- University of Louisville Bachelor's, $74,924
- Western Kentucky University Bachelor's, $71,274
Accounting programs in Louisiana, 7 programs
- Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College Bachelor's, $82,617
- Nicholls State University Bachelor's, $66,499
- Northwestern State University of Louisiana Bachelor's, $60,861
- Southeastern Louisiana University Bachelor's, $59,067
- Southern University and A & M College Bachelor's, $53,159
- University of Louisiana at Lafayette Bachelor's, $60,241
- University of New Orleans Bachelor's, $59,301
Accounting programs in Maryland, 5 programs
- Loyola University Maryland Bachelor's, $103,352
- Salisbury University Bachelor's, $89,535
- Towson University Bachelor's, $91,252
- University of Maryland Global Campus Bachelor's, $76,478
- University of Maryland, College Park Bachelor's, $97,314
Accounting programs in Massachusetts, 7 programs
- Bentley University Bachelor's, $108,343
- Boston College Bachelor's, $126,461
- Bridgewater State University Bachelor's, $79,315
- Stonehill College Bachelor's, $94,984
- Suffolk University Master's, $107,236
- University of Massachusetts Amherst Master's, $109,628
- University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth Bachelor's, $70,053
Accounting programs in Michigan, 17 programs
- Baker College Bachelor's, $63,286
- Central Michigan University Bachelor's, $80,551
- Davenport University Bachelor's, $68,792
- Eastern Michigan University Bachelor's, $70,471
- Ferris State University Bachelor's, $53,742
- Grand Valley State University Bachelor's, $80,153
- Michigan State University Bachelor's, $96,093
- Northern Michigan University Bachelor's, $62,901
- Northwood University Bachelor's, $64,405
- Oakland Community College Associate's, $62,744
- Oakland University Bachelor's, $82,699
- Siena Heights University Bachelor's, $59,960
- University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Master's, $109,566
- University of Michigan-Dearborn Bachelor's, $78,969
- Walsh College Bachelor's, $78,902
- Wayne State University Bachelor's, $73,940
- Western Michigan University Bachelor's, $66,666
Accounting programs in Minnesota, 12 programs
- Anoka-Ramsey Community College Associate's, $45,625
- Bemidji State University Bachelor's, $72,153
- Capella University Bachelor's, $71,589
- Metropolitan State University Bachelor's, $72,457
- Minnesota State University-Mankato Bachelor's, $73,726
- Saint Cloud State University Bachelor's, $76,080
- Saint Johns University Bachelor's, $80,872
- Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Master's, $84,590
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Bachelor's, $96,109
- University of Minnesota-Crookston Bachelor's, $65,921
- University of Minnesota-Duluth Bachelor's, $74,360
- Winona State University Bachelor's, $72,768
Accounting programs in Mississippi, 4 programs
- Jackson State University Bachelor's, $59,996
- Mississippi State University Bachelor's, $70,904
- University of Mississippi Bachelor's, $85,482
- University of Southern Mississippi Bachelor's, $65,861
Accounting programs in Missouri, 6 programs
- Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Bachelor's, $52,836
- Lindenwood University Bachelor's, $66,383
- Missouri State University-Springfield Bachelor's, $70,614
- University of Central Missouri Bachelor's, $76,930
- University of Missouri-Columbia Master's, $98,020
- University of Missouri-St Louis Bachelor's, $72,635
Accounting programs in Nebraska, 2 programs
- Bellevue University Bachelor's, $62,349
- University of Nebraska-Lincoln Bachelor's, $78,760
Accounting programs in Nevada, 2 programs
- University of Nevada-Las Vegas Bachelor's, $74,490
- University of Nevada-Reno Bachelor's, $85,943
Accounting programs in New Hampshire, 2 programs
- New England College Master's, $83,558
- Southern New Hampshire University Bachelor's, $70,181
Accounting programs in New Jersey, 12 programs
- Berkeley College-Woodland Park Bachelor's, $55,549
- Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus Master's, $108,803
- Kean University Bachelor's, $72,446
- Montclair State University Bachelor's, $84,906
- New Jersey City University Bachelor's, $66,244
- Ramapo College of New Jersey Bachelor's, $83,004
- Rider University Master's, $103,295
- Rowan University Bachelor's, $76,524
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Bachelor's, $89,087
- Seton Hall University Bachelor's, $102,626
- The College of New Jersey Bachelor's, $111,509
- William Paterson University of New Jersey Bachelor's, $71,745
Accounting programs in New Mexico, 1 program
- University of New Mexico-Main Campus Master's, $87,380
Accounting programs in New York, 36 programs
- Berkeley College-New York Bachelor's, $61,960
- Binghamton University Bachelor's, $106,323
- Canisius University Master's, $84,080
- College of Staten Island CUNY Bachelor's, $72,242
- CUNY Bernard M Baruch College Bachelor's, $90,104
- CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College Associate's, $49,935
- CUNY Brooklyn College Bachelor's, $64,103
- CUNY Hunter College Bachelor's, $75,803
- CUNY Lehman College Bachelor's, $66,240
- CUNY Queens College Bachelor's, $69,956
- CUNY York College Bachelor's, $67,152
- Fordham University Bachelor's, $117,024
- Hofstra University Bachelor's, $92,530
- Iona University Bachelor's, $89,359
- Le Moyne College Bachelor's, $72,894
- Marist College Bachelor's, $106,313
- Mercy University Bachelor's, $72,587
- Molloy College Bachelor's, $92,683
- Monroe College Bachelor's, $57,514
- Nassau Community College Associate's, $62,156
- New York University Master's, $134,461
- Pace University Bachelor's, $100,797
- Siena College Bachelor's, $78,337
- St. John Fisher University Bachelor's, $72,171
- St. John's University-New York Bachelor's, $91,878
- St. Joseph's University-New York Bachelor's, $82,916
- State University of New York at Oswego Bachelor's, $70,218
- Suffolk County Community College Associate's, $56,569
- SUNY Brockport Bachelor's, $68,712
- SUNY College at Geneseo Bachelor's, $84,177
- SUNY College at Plattsburgh Bachelor's, $70,109
- SUNY Old Westbury Bachelor's, $70,351
- Syracuse University Bachelor's, $112,682
- Touro University Bachelor's, $99,047
- University at Albany Bachelor's, $98,010
- University at Buffalo Bachelor's, $92,314
Accounting programs in North Carolina, 12 programs
- Appalachian State University Bachelor's, $85,580
- East Carolina University Bachelor's, $79,351
- Elon University Bachelor's, $105,707
- Gardner-Webb University Bachelor's, $58,918
- North Carolina A & T State University Bachelor's, $77,940
- North Carolina State University at Raleigh Bachelor's, $83,689
- North Carolina Wesleyan University Bachelor's, $53,327
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Master's, $110,766
- University of North Carolina at Charlotte Bachelor's, $76,690
- University of North Carolina at Greensboro Bachelor's, $70,389
- Wake Forest University Master's, $116,679
- Western Carolina University Bachelor's, $61,346
Accounting programs in North Dakota, 3 programs
- Dickinson State University Bachelor's, $66,147
- North Dakota State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $74,888
- University of North Dakota Bachelor's, $82,187
Accounting programs in Ohio, 18 programs
- Baldwin Wallace University Bachelor's, $86,955
- Bowling Green State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $77,880
- Cleveland State University Bachelor's, $73,476
- Cuyahoga Community College District Associate's, $51,858
- Franklin University Bachelor's, $65,816
- Hiram College Bachelor's, $58,941
- John Carroll University Bachelor's, $86,546
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $71,633
- Miami University-Oxford Bachelor's, $101,808
- Ohio State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $90,850
- Ohio University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $84,002
- University of Akron Main Campus Bachelor's, $73,101
- University of Cincinnati-Main Campus Bachelor's, $75,921
- University of Dayton Bachelor's, $90,314
- University of Toledo Bachelor's, $74,103
- Walsh University Bachelor's, $71,604
- Wright State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $73,024
- Youngstown State University Bachelor's, $67,992
Accounting programs in Oklahoma, 4 programs
- Northeastern State University Bachelor's, $65,781
- Oklahoma State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $81,039
- University of Central Oklahoma Bachelor's, $73,074
- University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus Bachelor's, $85,005
Accounting programs in Oregon, 3 programs
- Oregon State University Bachelor's, $75,219
- Portland State University Bachelor's, $77,226
- University of Oregon Bachelor's, $85,438
Accounting programs in Pennsylvania, 17 programs
- Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $66,300
- DeSales University Bachelor's, $74,169
- Drexel University Bachelor's, $100,317
- Duquesne University Bachelor's, $86,169
- Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus Bachelor's, $66,845
- King's College Bachelor's, $77,892
- La Salle University Bachelor's, $83,892
- Lehigh University Bachelor's, $125,874
- Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $88,192
- Robert Morris University Bachelor's, $72,909
- Saint Joseph's University Bachelor's, $93,585
- Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $70,459
- Temple University Bachelor's, $85,777
- University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Bachelor's, $82,966
- University of Scranton Master's, $92,322
- Villanova University Bachelor's, $120,207
- Widener University Bachelor's, $77,426
Accounting programs in Rhode Island, 4 programs
- Bryant University Bachelor's, $97,515
- Providence College Bachelor's, $103,245
- Rhode Island College Bachelor's, $68,616
- University of Rhode Island Bachelor's, $86,076
Accounting programs in South Carolina, 5 programs
- Clemson University Bachelor's, $84,458
- Coastal Carolina University Bachelor's, $63,239
- College of Charleston Bachelor's, $85,826
- University of South Carolina-Columbia Bachelor's, $86,507
- Wofford College Bachelor's, $78,576
Accounting programs in South Dakota, 2 programs
- Southeast Technical College Associate's, $51,789
- University of South Dakota Bachelor's, $71,179
Accounting programs in Tennessee, 5 programs
- East Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $57,642
- Middle Tennessee State University Bachelor's, $73,702
- Tennessee Technological University Bachelor's, $67,411
- The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Bachelor's, $89,445
- University of Memphis Bachelor's, $71,038
Accounting programs in Texas, 27 programs
- Baylor University Bachelor's, $102,011
- Dallas College Certificate, $52,856
- Sam Houston State University Bachelor's, $72,059
- Southern Careers Institute-Austin Certificate, $33,645
- Southwest University at El Paso Associate's, $35,818
- Stephen F Austin State University Bachelor's, $69,635
- Tarleton State University Bachelor's, $68,031
- Texas A & M International University Bachelor's, $50,614
- Texas A & M University-College Station Bachelor's, $103,662
- Texas A & M University-Commerce Master's, $87,702
- Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi Bachelor's, $60,160
- Texas A&M University-San Antonio Bachelor's, $60,376
- Texas Christian University Bachelor's, $101,938
- Texas State University Bachelor's, $78,418
- Texas Tech University Bachelor's, $89,891
- The University of Texas at Arlington Bachelor's, $78,245
- The University of Texas at Austin Master's, $117,656
- The University of Texas at Dallas Bachelor's, $82,629
- The University of Texas at El Paso Bachelor's, $57,389
- The University of Texas at San Antonio Bachelor's, $73,605
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Bachelor's, $53,420
- University of Houston Bachelor's, $84,668
- University of Houston-Clear Lake Bachelor's, $70,134
- University of Houston-Downtown Bachelor's, $67,499
- University of Houston-Victoria Bachelor's, $55,175
- University of North Texas Bachelor's, $79,124
- University of the Incarnate Word Master's, $80,749
Accounting programs in Utah, 8 programs
- Brigham Young University Bachelor's, $96,632
- Southern Utah University Bachelor's, $78,586
- University of Utah Bachelor's, $94,253
- Utah State University Bachelor's, $87,050
- Utah Tech University Bachelor's, $74,398
- Utah Valley University Bachelor's, $81,706
- Weber State University Bachelor's, $85,554
- Western Governors University Bachelor's, $75,767
Accounting programs in Virginia, 8 programs
- ECPI University Bachelor's, $49,541
- George Mason University Bachelor's, $91,132
- James Madison University Bachelor's, $98,767
- Liberty University Bachelor's, $63,307
- Old Dominion University Bachelor's, $73,157
- Radford University Bachelor's, $78,780
- Virginia Commonwealth University Bachelor's, $78,631
- Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Bachelor's, $99,528
Accounting programs in Washington, 6 programs
- Central Washington University Bachelor's, $74,442
- Eastern Washington University Bachelor's, $75,927
- Gonzaga University Bachelor's, $96,396
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus Bachelor's, $88,393
- Washington State University Bachelor's, $75,980
- Western Washington University Bachelor's, $82,246
Accounting programs in West Virginia, 3 programs
- American Public University System Bachelor's, $62,358
- Marshall University Bachelor's, $70,425
- West Virginia University Bachelor's, $76,135
Accounting programs in Wisconsin, 10 programs
- Lakeland University Bachelor's, $66,815
- Marquette University Bachelor's, $99,086
- Northwood Technical College Certificate, $45,947
- University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Bachelor's, $83,018
- University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Bachelor's, $78,296
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Bachelor's, $101,390
- University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Bachelor's, $78,127
- University of Wisconsin-Parkside Bachelor's, $64,177
- University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Bachelor's, $64,810
- University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Bachelor's, $78,762
Related majors
Business Administration
Business Administration is the most popular U.S. major, a broad foundation in accounting, finance, marketing, management, and economics that prepares graduates for nearly any industry.
Finance
Finance majors learn how money moves, corporate finance, investments, financial markets, and risk management, preparing for roles in banking, investments, and corporate analysis.
Economics
Economics studies how individuals, firms, and governments allocate resources, combining theory with empirical analysis and a strong mathematical foundation.
Still deciding between Accounting and something else?
These guides put Accounting side by side with the major it is most often confused with, using the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk to show where the two actually lead.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Accounting degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Business & Finance careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
Explore Education & Library careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Accounting degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Accounting path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.