Accounting · Georgia

Georgia colleges that awarded Accounting credentials

36 colleges in Georgia reported conferring Accounting credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 36 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

How much of this field is in Georgia

Credentials awarded
1,516
Share of U.S. total
2.6%
Colleges awarding it
36
Awarding a degree
36

Georgia colleges conferred 1,516 Accounting credentials in 2023-24, which is 2.6% of the 57,584 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 36 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%8
  • Associate<1%4
  • Bachelor's73%1,100
  • Graduate27%404

Most Accounting credentials awarded in Georgia were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 19% of Georgia’s Accounting credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Georgia colleges cost

Median net price across the 33 of these 36 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Accounting program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$13,139
30-48k
$13,402
48-75k
$16,475
75-110k
$19,421
110k+
$20,259

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Georgia colleges that reported awarding Accountingcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year17$10,597
Private16$18,572

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $13,139 at these colleges, against $20,259 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Georgia college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Georgia — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Accounting graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Accounting, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Accounting, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Accountants and Auditors$81,680124,200Bachelor's degree
Tax Preparers$50,56010,400High school diploma or equivalent
Business Teachers, Postsecondary$97,2708,100Doctoral or professional degree
Financial Examiners$90,4005,700Bachelor's degree
Financial Risk Specialists$106,0004,800Bachelor's degree
Tax Examiners and Collectors, and Revenue Agents$59,7404,300Bachelor's degree
Credit Analysts$80,9703,700Bachelor's degree
Budget Analysts$87,9303,100Bachelor's degree
Appraisers of Personal and Business PropertyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going