Accounting · New York

New York colleges that awarded Accounting credentials

73 colleges in New York reported conferring Accounting credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 73 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting. Graduates of the typical New York bachelor's program in Accounting earned a median $78,821 four years after graduating, 3% above the $76,194 national median for the same credential (44 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Quick answers

How much do Accounting graduates of New York bachelor's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical New York bachelor's program in Accounting earned a median $78,821 four years after graduating, 3% above the $76,194 national median for the same credential (44 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
How much do Accounting graduates of New York master's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical New York master's program in Accounting earned a median $98,988 four years after graduating, 3% above the $95,833 national median for the same credential (23 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Which Accounting programs in New York have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 44 New York bachelor's programs in Accounting, Fordham University graduates had the highest median, $117,024 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in New York that conferred Accounting credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College681Degree
Binghamton University216Degree
CUNY Brooklyn College200Degree
University at Albany195Degree
University at Buffalo184Degree
CUNY Queens College182Degree
New York University153Degree
CUNY Lehman College122Degree
SUNY College at Plattsburgh119Degree
St. John's University-New York111Degree
CUNY Hunter College105Degree
Siena College91Degree
Excelsior University90Degree
Fordham University85Degree
SUNY Old Westbury82Degree
Pace University81Degree
Syracuse University77Degree
Yeshiva University73Degree
Touro University66Degree
State University of New York at New Paltz65Degree
College of Staten Island CUNY63Degree
Empire State University59Degree
SUNY Polytechnic Institute59Degree
Canisius University51Degree
CUNY York College50Degree
Daemen University48Degree
SUNY Brockport48Degree
Bryant & Stratton College-Online45Degree
State University of New York at Oswego42Degree
Marist College40Degree
Adelphi University39Degree
Hofstra University39Degree
SUNY College at Geneseo39Degree
University of Mount Saint Vincent36Degree
Mercy University35Degree
St Bonaventure University35Degree
Monroe College33Degree
Niagara University32Degree
St. Joseph's University-New York31Degree
Iona University30Degree
Le Moyne College25Degree
St. John Fisher University24Degree
Stony Brook University24Degree
Molloy College23Degree
Ithaca College22Degree
Long Island University22Degree
Manhattan College20Degree
Rochester Institute of Technology15Degree
SUNY Oneonta15Degree
SUNY at Fredonia13Degree
The College of Westchester13Degree
CUNY Medgar Evers College11Degree
CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College10Degree
Utica University10Degree
Berkeley College-New York8Degree
Bryant & Stratton College-Buffalo8Degree
St. Thomas Aquinas College8Degree
CUNY Queensborough Community College5Degree
Hilbert College5Degree
Roberts Wesleyan University5Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 73.

Which Accounting programs in New York have the highest graduate earnings?

Among 44 New York bachelor's programs in Accounting with federal earnings data, Fordham University graduates earn the highest median, $117,024 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $23,000. Syracuse University follows at $112,682. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $76,194. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)

For context, accountants and auditors in New York are paid a median $102,640 a year across all experience levels (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025), a figure for everyone in the job, not only recent graduates. accountants and auditors pay in New York

Compare these programs and share the results

Bachelor's programs · 44 with earnings data · national median $76,194

Bachelor's programs in Accounting in New York, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
Fordham University$117,024$76,473$23,000
Syracuse University$112,682$75,294$27,000
Binghamton University$106,323$74,151$17,500
Marist College$106,313$71,436$22,946
Adelphi University$100,895—$21,500
Pace University$100,797$69,166$25,291
Touro University$99,047$59,820$11,000
University at Albany$98,010$55,124$22,186
Molloy College$92,683$70,344$26,546
Hofstra University$92,530$68,256$22,750

The 10 highest of 44. Every program is on its college's profile and in the CSV download.

Master's programs · 23 with earnings data · national median $95,833

Master's programs in Accounting in New York, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
New York University$134,461$82,270$33,052
Fordham University$126,830$76,766$37,000
Pace University$115,804$76,620$20,500
Ithaca College$114,068$69,346—
Binghamton University$113,379$73,291$20,500
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College$113,283$73,821$19,762
Syracuse University$110,435$81,011$44,832
University at Albany$110,374$68,270$20,500
St. John's University-New York$109,990$71,957$22,685
Manhattan College$109,800$74,202$20,500

The 10 highest of 23. Every program is on its college's profile and in the CSV download.

Add this table to your website (counselors, libraries, aid offices)

Copy the HTML below into any web page. It is plain HTML with no script and no tracking; it shows the ten bachelor's programs above with their period and source, and links back to this page.

Ordered by median earnings four years after graduating: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Accounting and Related Services. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. The one-year column is a later class (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, measured in 2020 and 2021, in 2022 dollars), so it is not the same graduates' pay a few years earlier. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed. Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls and where graduates live as well as the program itself. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major.

Looking for Accounting programs in New York? This page lists every college that reported awarding Accounting credentials to the federal government in 2024-25 — 73 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in New York

Credentials awarded
4,152
Share of U.S. total
6.8%
Colleges awarding it
73
Awarding a degree
73

New York colleges conferred 4,152 Accounting credentials in 2024-25, which is 6.8% of the 60,985 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 73 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 1%, 48 credentials.
  • Associate: 2%, 70 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 71%, 2,947 credentials.
  • Graduate: 26%, 1,087 credentials.

Most Accounting credentials awarded in New York were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 16% of New York’s Accounting credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these New York colleges cost

Median net price across the 68 of these 73 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Accounting program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$13,964
30-48k
$15,897
48-75k
$19,760
75-110k
$22,607
110k+
$25,517

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among New York colleges that reported awarding Accounting credentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year23$9,369
Private43$18,659

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $13,964 at these colleges, against $25,517 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every New York college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in New York — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Accounting graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Accounting, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Accounting, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Accountants and Auditors$81,680124,200Bachelor's degree
Tax Preparers$50,56010,400High school diploma or equivalent
Business Teachers, Postsecondary$97,2708,100Doctoral or professional degree
Financial Examiners$90,4005,700Bachelor's degree
Financial Risk Specialists$106,0004,800Bachelor's degree
Tax Examiners and Collectors, and Revenue Agents$59,7404,300Bachelor's degree
Credit Analysts$80,9703,700Bachelor's degree
Budget Analysts$87,9303,100Bachelor's degree
Appraisers of Personal and Business PropertyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Accounting in New York

How many colleges in New York awarded Accounting credentials?
73 colleges in New York reported conferring Accounting credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 73 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 4,118 credentials in the fields covered.
Which Accounting programs in New York have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 44 New York bachelor's programs in Accounting with federal earnings data, Fordham University graduates earn the highest median, $117,024 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $23,000. Syracuse University follows at $112,682. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $76,194. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Accounting?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going