Accounting · California

California colleges that awarded Accounting credentials

47 colleges in California reported conferring Accounting credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 44 awarded a degree, and 3 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in California that conferred Accounting credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
California State University-Northridge277Degree
Ashford University165Degree
National University99Degree
University of San Diego72Degree
Santa Clara University53Degree
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona51Degree
California Baptist University50Degree
California State University-Long Beach49Degree
Golden Gate University40Degree
Loyola Marymount University39Degree
California State University-Fullerton33Degree
University of San Francisco31Degree
Saint Mary's College of California29Degree
Azusa Pacific University27Degree
Chapman University27Degree
California State University-Los Angeles26Degree
Biola University24Degree
San Francisco State University24Degree
University of La Verne23Degree
California State University-San Bernardino22Degree
California State University-East Bay20Degree
San Diego State University20Degree
Point Loma Nazarene University14Degree
California Lutheran University13Degree
University of the Pacific12Degree
Menlo College11Degree
Pepperdine University11Degree
University of Redlands11Degree
Claremont McKenna College10Degree
Northcentral University9Degree
San Jose State University9Certificate only
University of Phoenix-California9Degree
Fresno Pacific University8Degree
College of the Desert7Degree
Mount Saint Mary's University7Degree
William Jessup University7Degree
College of Alameda6Degree
DeVry University-California4Degree
Humphreys University-Stockton and Modesto Campuses3Degree
Los Angeles Pacific College3Degree
Pacific States University3Certificate only
La Sierra University2Degree
Vanguard University of Southern California2Degree
Woodbury University2Degree
MiraCosta College1Certificate only
Pitzer College1Degree
Scripps College1Degree

How much of this field is in California

Credentials awarded
1,367
Share of U.S. total
2.4%
Colleges awarding it
47
Awarding a degree
44

California colleges conferred 1,367 Accounting credentials in 2023-24, which is 2.4% of the 57,584 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 47 colleges here, 44 awarded a degree and 3 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%4
  • Associate1%16
  • Bachelor's60%822
  • Graduate38%525

Most Accounting credentials awarded in California were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 20% of California’s Accounting credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these California colleges cost

Median net price across the 38 of these 47 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Accounting program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$17,470
30-48k
$17,275
48-75k
$20,409
75-110k
$24,580
110k+
$32,952

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among California colleges that reported awarding Accountingcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year11$6,139
Private26$21,570

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $17,470 at these colleges, against $32,952 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every California college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in California — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Accounting graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Accounting, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Accounting, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Accountants and Auditors$81,680124,200Bachelor's degree
Tax Preparers$50,56010,400High school diploma or equivalent
Business Teachers, Postsecondary$97,2708,100Doctoral or professional degree
Financial Examiners$90,4005,700Bachelor's degree
Financial Risk Specialists$106,0004,800Bachelor's degree
Tax Examiners and Collectors, and Revenue Agents$59,7404,300Bachelor's degree
Credit Analysts$80,9703,700Bachelor's degree
Budget Analysts$87,9303,100Bachelor's degree
Appraisers of Personal and Business PropertyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going