Insurance · Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania colleges that awarded Insurance credentials
5 colleges in Pennsylvania reported conferring Insurance credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 3 awarded a degree, and 2 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.
Colleges and what they awarded
Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.
| College | Credentials awarded | Highest level |
|---|---|---|
| American College of Financial Services | 644 | Certificate only |
| Saint Joseph's University | 36 | Degree |
| Gannon University | 5 | Degree |
| Community College of Philadelphia | 2 | Certificate only |
| Mercyhurst University | 2 | Degree |
How much of this field is in Pennsylvania
- Credentials awarded
- 689
- Share of U.S. total
- 32%
- Colleges awarding it
- 5
- Awarding a degree
- 3
Pennsylvania colleges conferred 689 Insurance credentials in 2023-24, which is 32% of the 2,142 conferred across the 29 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 5 colleges here, 3 awarded a degree and 2 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.
What level those credentials were
- Certificates94%646
- Bachelor's6%43
Most Insurance credentials awarded in Pennsylvania were certificates. That is 47 percentage points less weighted toward bachelor's degrees than the field nationally, where they are 53% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.
We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?
How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 93% of Pennsylvania’s Insurance credentials. Most of the state’s activity in this field sits at one institution, which is worth knowing if it is not somewhere you can attend.
What this evidence does and does not prove
This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.
How this list was built
From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.
This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Pennsylvania — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?
What Insurance graduates go on to do
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Insurance, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insurance Sales Agents | $60,370 | 47,000 | High school diploma or equivalent |
| Claims Adjusters, Examiners, and Investigators | $76,790 | 21,100 | High school diploma or equivalent |
| Compensation, Benefits, and Job Analysis Specialists | $77,020 | 8,500 | Bachelor's degree |
| Insurance Underwriters | $79,880 | 8,200 | Bachelor's degree |
| Business Teachers, Postsecondary | $97,270 | 8,100 | Doctoral or professional degree |
| Compensation and Benefits Managers | $140,360 | 1,500 | Bachelor's degree |
| Insurance Appraisers, Auto Damage | $76,650 | 500 | Postsecondary nondegree award |
| Appraisers of Personal and Business Property | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.