Cost comparison

Affordable colleges in Kansas

CampusPin lists 60 colleges in Kansas. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $5,852 and a median average net price of $11,404 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.

Kansas college costs by the numbers

Lowest published in-state tuition
Haskell Indian Nations University ($600)
Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
$5,852
Median net price after aid (39 reporting)
$11,404

Kansas colleges by published in-state tuition

Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.

Colleges in Kansas ordered by published in-state tuition, with out-of-state tuition, average net price, graduation rate, and acceptance rate.
CollegeIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionAvg. net priceGraduation rateAcceptance ratePublic/privateLocation
Haskell Indian Nations University$600$600$3,13418%90%PublicLawrence, KS
Johnson County Community College$2,424$5,688$14,17631%Open admissionPublicOverland Park, KS
Kansas City Kansas Community College$3,210$6,945$16,74442%Open admissionPublicKansas City, KS
Fort Scott Community College$3,390$3,840$66535%Open admissionPublicFort Scott, KS
Cloud County Community College$3,540$4,500$11,68555%Open admissionPublicConcordia, KS
Hutchinson Community College$3,540$4,770$6,72753%Open admissionPublicHutchinson, KS
Butler Community College$3,541$6,271$15,72432%Open admissionPublicEl Dorado, KS
Coffeyville Community College$3,600$4,680$4,95738%Open admissionPublicCoffeyville, KS
Barton County Community College$3,680$4,960$9,90533%Open admissionPublicGreat Bend, KS
Garden City Community College$3,690$4,320$8,24450%Open admissionPublicGarden City, KS
Seward County Community College$4,032$5,408$6,71750%Open admissionPublicLiberal, KS
Labette Community College$4,064$4,864$5,93924%Open admissionPublicParsons, KS
Highland Community College$4,080$4,080$10,38839%Open admissionPublicHighland, KS
Colby Community College$4,140$5,830$7,88655%Open admissionPublicColby, KS
Pratt Community College$4,256$4,936$9,73145%Open admissionPublicPratt, KS
Allen County Community College$4,260$4,860$5,89937%Open admissionPublicIola, KS
Independence Community College$4,560$4,950$6,26226%Open admissionPublicIndependence, KS
Dodge City Community College$4,650$5,850$4,06835%Open admissionPublicDodge City, KS
Cowley County Community College$4,800$6,600$7,17545%Open admissionPublicArkansas City, KS
Neosho County Community College$5,780$5,780$10,27134%Open admissionPublicChanute, KS
Fort Hays State University$5,923$17,741$12,56948%90%PublicHays, KS
Flint Hills Technical College$6,400$6,400$16,01768%Open admissionPublicEmporia, KS
Emporia State University$7,106$15,419$16,26156%98%PublicEmporia, KS
Salina Area Technical College$7,128$7,128$6,46868%Open admissionPublicSalina, KS
Wichita State University-Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology$7,238$7,238$8,80543%Open admissionPublicWichita, KS
North Central Kansas Technical College$7,350$7,350$12,39378%Open admissionPublicBeloit, KS
Pittsburg State University$8,400$19,744$15,78457%89%PublicPittsburg, KS
Wichita State University$9,684$19,869$13,19451%94%PublicWichita, KS
Manhattan Area Technical College$9,844$9,844$10,07474%Open admissionPublicManhattan, KS
Washburn University$9,945$20,949$15,28053%Open admissionPublicTopeka, KS
Donnelly College$10,440$10,440$11,47646%Open admissionPrivateKansas City, KS
Kansas State University$11,221$28,568$19,40671%82%PublicManhattan, KS
Kansas Christian College$11,720$11,720$15,31310%Open admissionPrivateOverland Park, KS
University of Kansas$12,102$30,432$18,05969%93%PublicLawrence, KS
Ottawa University-Online$13,296$13,296Not reported43%Open admissionPrivateOverland Park, KS
Cleveland University-Kansas City$14,400$14,400$35,764100%69%PrivateOverland Park, KS
Rasmussen University-Kansas$17,160$17,160$23,98045%Open admissionPrivateTopeka, KS
Manhattan Christian College$19,126$19,126$24,21344%Open admissionPrivateManhattan, KS
Central Christian College of Kansas$21,000$21,000$11,40427%53%PrivateMcPherson, KS
Barclay College$24,590$24,590$29,29032%51%PrivateHaviland, KS

“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.

What the Kansas cost data shows

  • Haskell Indian Nations University has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $600 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
  • Median published in-state tuition is $4,410 across the public colleges here and $15,780 across the private ones — a $11,370 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
  • Median average net price is $11,404 across the 39 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
  • 39 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 40 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.

How this list was built

This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Kansas, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.

Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.

Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (60 of 60 Kansas institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest college in Kansas?
Of the 40 Kansas colleges on this page, Haskell Indian Nations University in Lawrence reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $600 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 39 Kansas colleges reporting it here the median is $11,404. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Kansas?
At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $4,410 at the public colleges listed and $15,780 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
Will I personally pay these amounts at a Kansas college?
Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.

Keep going on CampusPin

Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.

Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.

Data sources & methodology

Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Kansas colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

  • IPEDS / NCES College Navigator

    Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.

  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard

    Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.

  • Institutional websites

    Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Kansas. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/kansas