Cost comparison

Affordable colleges in Minnesota

CampusPin lists 79 colleges in Minnesota. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $6,261 and a median average net price of $13,115 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.

Minnesota college costs by the numbers

Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
$6,261
Median net price after aid (37 reporting)
$13,115
Highest graduation rate
Bethlehem College & Seminary (70%)

Minnesota colleges by published in-state tuition

Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.

Colleges in Minnesota ordered by published in-state tuition, with out-of-state tuition, average net price, graduation rate, and acceptance rate.
CollegeIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionAvg. net priceGraduation rateAcceptance ratePublic/privateLocation
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science$3,257$3,257Not reportedNot reported39%PrivateRochester, MN
Pine Technical & Community College$4,738$4,738$12,79836%Open admissionPublicPine City, MN
Leech Lake Tribal College$4,850$4,850$13,11519%Open admissionPublicCass Lake, MN
North Hennepin Community College$5,061$5,061$12,18622%Open admissionPublicBrooklyn Park, MN
White Earth Tribal and Community College$5,490$5,490$6,77810%Open admissionPrivateMahnomen, MN
Anoka-Ramsey Community College$5,682$5,682$11,47130%Open admissionPublicCoon Rapids, MN
Lake Superior College$5,785$5,785$15,49242%Open admissionPublicDuluth, MN
Minnesota State Community and Technical College$5,908$5,908$12,55647%Open admissionPublicFergus Falls, MN
Hennepin Technical College$5,940$5,940$10,27242%Open admissionPublicBrooklyn Park, MN
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College$6,006$6,006$12,67726%Open admissionPublicCloquet, MN
Minnesota North College$6,022$6,022$10,43242%Open admissionPublicHibbing, MN
Ridgewater College$6,121$6,121$10,04650%Open admissionPublicWillmar, MN
St Cloud Technical and Community College$6,124$6,124$9,63545%Open admissionPublicSaint Cloud, MN
Inver Hills Community College$6,146$6,146$11,63624%Open admissionPublicInver Grove Heights, MN
South Central College$6,146$6,146$9,08239%Open admissionPublicNorth Mankato, MN
Minneapolis Community and Technical College$6,161$6,161$13,81220%Open admissionPublicMinneapolis, MN
Century College$6,214$6,214Not reported31%Open admissionPublicWhite Bear Lake, MN
Alexandria Technical & Community College$6,236$6,236$13,69160%Open admissionPublicAlexandria, MN
Central Lakes College-Brainerd$6,249$6,249$13,86953%Open admissionPublicBrainerd, MN
Northwest Technical College$6,254$6,254$10,99650%Open admissionPublicBemidji, MN
Anoka Technical College$6,267$6,267$16,95366%Open admissionPublicAnoka, MN
Northland Community and Technical College$6,289$6,289$13,97556%Open admissionPublicThief River Falls, MN
Riverland Community College$6,298$6,298$7,42752%Open admissionPublicAustin, MN
Saint Paul College$6,326$6,326$11,49540%Open admissionPublicSaint Paul, MN
Normandale Community College$6,329$6,329$12,97227%Open admissionPublicBloomington, MN
Rochester Community and Technical College$6,389$6,389$14,43529%Open admissionPublicRochester, MN
Minnesota State College Southeast$6,432$6,432$16,14047%Open admissionPublicWinona, MN
Minnesota West Community and Technical College$6,491$6,491$11,19152%Not reportedPublicGranite Falls, MN
Red Lake Nation College$6,640$6,640$5,67246%Open admissionPublicRed Lake, MN
Dakota County Technical College$6,679$6,679$13,54858%Open admissionPublicRosemount, MN
Bethlehem College & Seminary$8,200$8,200Not reported70%Open admissionPrivateMinneapolis, MN
Minnesota State University-Mankato$9,572$18,942$19,13954%88%PublicMankato, MN
Metropolitan State University$9,840$9,840$16,86344%99%PublicSaint Paul, MN
Bemidji State University$10,237$10,237$15,26148%56%PublicBemidji, MN
Saint Cloud State University$10,245$10,245$13,52940%95%PublicSaint Cloud, MN
Southwest Minnesota State University$10,361$10,361$15,29145%62%PublicMarshall, MN
Minnesota State University Moorhead$10,428$10,428$17,99757%59%PublicMoorhead, MN
Winona State University$10,576$17,308$17,50357%75%PublicWinona, MN
Bethany Global University$11,000$11,000$20,83356%93%PrivateBloomington, MN
Rasmussen University-Minnesota$11,490$11,490$17,96253%Open admissionPrivateSt. Cloud, MN

“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.

What the Minnesota cost data shows

  • Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $3,257 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
  • Median published in-state tuition is $6,254 across the public colleges here and $8,200 across the private ones — a $1,946 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
  • Median average net price is $13,115 across the 37 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
  • 37 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 39 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.

How this list was built

This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Minnesota, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.

Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.

Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (79 of 79 Minnesota institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest college in Minnesota?
Of the 40 Minnesota colleges on this page, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in Rochester reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $3,257 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 37 Minnesota colleges reporting it here the median is $13,115. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Minnesota?
At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $6,254 at the public colleges listed and $8,200 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
Will I personally pay these amounts at a Minnesota college?
Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.

Keep going on CampusPin

Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.

Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.

Data sources & methodology

Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Minnesota colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

  • IPEDS / NCES College Navigator

    Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.

  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard

    Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.

  • Institutional websites

    Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Minnesota. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/minnesota