Cost comparison

Affordable colleges in Indiana

CampusPin lists 68 colleges in Indiana. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $10,642 and a median average net price of $15,499 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.

Indiana college costs by the numbers

Lowest published in-state tuition
Ivy Tech Community College ($5,154)
Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
$10,642
Median net price after aid (40 reporting)
$15,499

Indiana colleges by published in-state tuition

Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.

Colleges in Indiana ordered by published in-state tuition, with out-of-state tuition, average net price, graduation rate, and acceptance rate.
CollegeIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionAvg. net priceGraduation rateAcceptance ratePublic/privateLocation
Ivy Tech Community College$5,154$9,935$7,25840%Open admissionPublicIndianapolis, IN
Union Bible College$6,700$6,700$7,18750%91%PrivateWestfield, IN
Vincennes University$7,126$16,858$11,22539%Open admissionPublicVincennes, IN
Trine University-Regional/Non-Traditional Campuses$7,176$7,176$15,788Not reported40%PrivateAngola, IN
Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global$8,208$8,208$16,89835%Open admissionPrivateMarion, IN
Indiana University-East$8,424$22,811$8,13440%67%PublicRichmond, IN
Indiana University-Kokomo$8,424$22,811$3,96846%86%PublicKokomo, IN
Indiana University-Northwest$8,424$22,811$5,13037%73%PublicGary, IN
Indiana University-South Bend$8,424$22,811$8,65340%84%PublicSouth Bend, IN
Indiana University-Southeast$8,424$22,811$7,88839%84%PublicNew Albany, IN
Purdue University Northwest$8,675$16,094$6,07943%72%PublicHammond, IN
Purdue University Fort Wayne$9,532$22,887$13,17136%84%PublicFort Wayne, IN
Horizon University$9,840$9,840$22,285Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateIndianapolis, IN
Indiana Institute of Technology-College of Professional Studies$9,896$9,896$20,47328%Open admissionPrivateFort Wayne, IN
Purdue University-Main Campus$9,992$28,794$14,60083%50%PublicWest Lafayette, IN
University of Southern Indiana$10,066$22,907$12,92348%96%PublicEvansville, IN
College of Court Reporting Inc$10,080$10,080$39,997Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateValparaiso, IN
Purdue University Global$10,101$14,412$7,77050%Open admissionPublicWest Lafayette, IN
Indiana State University$10,258$22,322$10,87343%81%PublicTerre Haute, IN
Veritas Baptist College$10,522$10,522$13,53943%95%PrivateLawrenceburg, IN
Indiana University-Indianapolis$10,762$34,891$11,66854%76%PublicIndianapolis, IN
Ball State University$11,082$29,630$14,94062%85%PublicMuncie, IN
Indiana University-Bloomington$12,144$41,891$16,26480%78%PublicBloomington, IN
Martin University$13,200$13,200$13,879Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateIndianapolis, IN
Fortis College-Indianapolis$15,072$15,072$27,70644%Open admissionPrivateIndianapolis, IN
Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Indianapolis$16,757$16,757$29,51350%Open admissionPrivateIndianapolis, IN
International Business College-Indianapolis$17,170$17,170$16,04564%75%PrivateIndianapolis, IN
Mid-America College of Funeral Service$19,000$19,000$30,60632%Open admissionPrivateJeffersonville, IN
Chamberlain University-Indiana$19,975$19,975$36,219Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateIndianapolis, IN
Marian University-Ancilla$20,100$20,100$19,463Not reported92%PrivatePlymouth, IN
John Patrick University of Health and Applied Sciences$20,605$20,605$23,304Not reported82%PrivateSouth Bend, IN
Calumet College of Saint Joseph$23,850$23,850$22,45123%Open admissionPrivateWhiting, IN
Oakland City University$27,900$27,900$15,21066%83%PrivateOakland City, IN
Grace College and Theological Seminary$31,200$31,200$19,93269%82%PrivateWinona Lake, IN
Indiana Institute of Technology$31,361$31,361$23,20648%70%PrivateFort Wayne, IN
Huntington University$31,870$31,870$13,71064%76%PrivateHuntington, IN
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion$32,352$32,352$22,86667%89%PrivateMarion, IN
Bethel University$34,600$34,600$21,80353%98%PrivateMishawaka, IN
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College$35,270$35,270$31,87247%72%PrivateSaint Mary of the Woods, IN
University of Saint Francis-Fort Wayne$36,460$36,460$18,19655%96%PrivateFort Wayne, IN

“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.

What the Indiana cost data shows

  • Ivy Tech Community College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $5,154 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
  • Median published in-state tuition is $9,104 across the public colleges here and $19,488 across the private ones — a $10,384 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
  • Median average net price is $15,499 across the 40 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.

How this list was built

This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Indiana, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.

Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.

Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (68 of 68 Indiana institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest college in Indiana?
Of the 40 Indiana colleges on this page, Ivy Tech Community College in Indianapolis reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $5,154 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 40 Indiana colleges reporting it here the median is $15,499. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Indiana?
At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $9,104 at the public colleges listed and $19,488 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
Will I personally pay these amounts at a Indiana college?
Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.

Keep going on CampusPin

Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.

Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.

Data sources & methodology

Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Indiana colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

  • IPEDS / NCES College Navigator

    Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.

  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard

    Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.

  • Institutional websites

    Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Indiana. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/indiana