Special Education major
Special Education: courses, careers, and where to study
Special Education prepares you to teach students with disabilities and diverse learning needs, designing individualized instruction and support across grade levels and settings.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Special Education earn a median $50,499 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $41,442 to $60,070 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
Special Education focuses on teaching students whose learning differs from typical patterns because of disabilities, developmental delays, or other identified needs. Students learn how to assess where a learner is struggling, write and carry out individualized education plans, and adapt lessons in reading, math, and behavior so each student can make progress. Coursework covers how disabilities affect learning, evidence-based teaching methods, classroom and behavior management, assistive technology, and the federal and state laws that govern services for students with disabilities. Unlike a general elementary or secondary teaching major, which centers on grade-level content for a typical class, Special Education centers on differentiating instruction, collaborating with families and specialists, and serving students one-on-one, in small groups, or alongside general-education teachers in inclusive classrooms.
The typical path is a bachelor's degree, and most programs build in supervised student teaching, a practicum, or a culminating clinical placement in schools so candidates work directly with students before graduating. Teaching in public schools requires a state license or certification, and the specific tests, fieldwork hours, and endorsement areas vary by state and should be verified; some states also expect programmatic accreditation of the preparation program. Graduates work in elementary, middle, and high schools as well as early-intervention settings, resource rooms, self-contained classrooms, and inclusion programs, with related work in tutoring, transition planning, and early childhood services for young children with developmental needs.
In federal data for the closely related occupation of special education teachers, all other, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a 2024 median wage of $67,430 and projects employment to grow about 1.1% from 2024 to 2034; a bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for that occupation. National figures are occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages or graduate outcomes.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Special Education maps to CIP 13.1001, Special Education and Teaching, General, within the EDUCATION family. The official definition:
A general program that focuses on the design and provision of teaching and other educational services to children or adults with special learning needs or disabilities, and that may prepare individuals to function as special education teachers in a collaborative or team environment. Includes instruction in diagnosing learning disabilities, developing individual education plans, teaching and supervising special education students, special education counseling, and applicable laws and policies.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Special Education is awarded as
Of the 35,046 Special Education credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 3%, 989 credentials.
- Associate: 5%, 1,699 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 22%, 7,770 credentials.
- Graduate: 70%, 24,588 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 46 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 19 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Characteristics of learning, intellectual, and developmental disabilities
- Writing and managing individualized education plans
- Special education law, due process, and disability rights policy
- Assessment and progress monitoring of specific learning needs
- Behavior management and positive behavioral interventions
- Differentiated and explicit instruction in reading and math
- Assistive technology and accommodations for diverse learners
- Collaboration with families, general educators, and related-service staff
- Supervised practicum and student teaching in school settings
Typical careers
- Special Education Teacher
- Resource Room Teacher
- Inclusion Specialist
- Early Intervention Specialist
- IEP Coordinator
- Behavior Interventionist
Typical salary range: Early-career wages vary by employer, region, and experience (BLS, 2024 special education teachers, all other median $67,430).Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Special Education graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Special Education earn a median $50,499 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $41,442 to $60,070 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $50,499 | $41,442 to $60,070 |
| Associate's | $37,614 | $27,097 to $51,102 |
| Master's | $64,397 | $52,390 to $79,764 |
| Graduate certificate | $69,147 | $53,853 to $82,489 |
| Post-baccalaureate certificate | $63,623 | $51,615 to $75,642 |
Compare Special Education programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Special Education programs
- Manhattan College (NY): $83,932, median federal debt $26,246
- Utah State University (UT): $74,535, median federal debt $11,250
- Seton Hall University (NJ): $72,067, median federal debt $25,000
- The College of New Jersey (NJ): $66,767, median federal debt $23,625
- Saint Joseph's University (PA): $64,827, median federal debt $27,000
- Western Washington University (WA): $64,780, median federal debt $27,000
- Syracuse University (NY): $62,864, median federal debt $27,000
- Kean University (NJ): $61,158, median federal debt $25,479
- East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania (PA): $60,391, median federal debt $25,500
- Southern Connecticut State University (CT): $60,365, median federal debt $25,750
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Special Education and Teaching. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Special Education, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Special Education Teachers, Secondary School | $69,590 | 11,100 | -1.6% | Bachelor's degree |
| Special Education Teachers, Middle School | $64,880 | 6,300 | -1.9% | Bachelor's degree |
| Special Education Teachers, All Other | $67,430 | 2,900 | +1.1% | Bachelor's degree |
| Special Education Teachers, Preschool | $62,190 | 2,100 | +1.4% | Bachelor's degree |
| Special Education Teachers, Elementary School | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Special Education Teachers, Kindergarten | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Teaching Assistants, Special Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 4 of these 7 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Special Education does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a Special Education major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Special Education program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Special Education department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Special Education program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Special Education credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- Ball State University, IN · 1,990 credentials
- Grand Canyon University, AZ · 1,688 credentials
- Arizona State University Digital Immersion, AZ · 1,492 credentials
- Western Governors University, UT · 1,216 credentials
- Touro University, NY · 753 credentials
- American College of Education, IN · 436 credentials
- Lamar University, TX · 430 credentials
- National University, CA · 402 credentials
- University of West Florida, FL · 383 credentials
- University of West Georgia, GA · 343 credentials
- George Mason University, VA · 317 credentials
- University of the Cumberlands, KY · 309 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Special Education credentials were awarded
22 states have a distinct enough set of Special Education colleges to be worth its own page.
- California: 94 colleges
- Pennsylvania: 59 colleges
- Ohio: 39 colleges
- Texas: 36 colleges
- Florida: 29 colleges
- Massachusetts: 26 colleges
- Minnesota: 23 colleges
- Michigan: 23 colleges
- Indiana: 22 colleges
- North Carolina: 22 colleges
- Missouri: 21 colleges
- Virginia: 19 colleges
- Georgia: 17 colleges
- Wisconsin: 17 colleges
- Arizona: 12 colleges
- Kansas: 11 colleges
- Washington: 11 colleges
- Louisiana: 11 colleges
- Colorado: 9 colleges
- Oklahoma: 9 colleges
- Oregon: 8 colleges
- New Hampshire: 8 colleges
Special Education by state
- Special Education in California
- Special Education in Florida
- Special Education in Georgia
- Special Education in Illinois
- Special Education in Maryland
- Special Education in Massachusetts
- Special Education in New York
- Special Education in North Carolina
- Special Education in Pennsylvania
- Special Education in Texas
Every Special Education program with its own CampusPin page
98 programs in 35 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Special Education programs in Alabama, 2 programs
- Auburn University Bachelor's, $55,544
- University of West Alabama Master's, $59,972
Special Education programs in Arizona, 3 programs
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $56,311
- Grand Canyon University Master's, $60,336
- Northern Arizona University Bachelor's, $53,619
Special Education programs in Arkansas, 1 program
- Arkansas State University Master's, $53,700
Special Education programs in California, 5 programs
- Alliant International University-San Diego Master's, $77,956
- Ashford University Master's, $51,086
- California State University-Fullerton Master's, $95,677
- California State University-Los Angeles Master's, $104,208
- National University Master's, $85,908
Special Education programs in Colorado, 1 program
- University of Northern Colorado Master's, $62,267
Special Education programs in Connecticut, 2 programs
- Southern Connecticut State University Master's, $65,840
- University of Saint Joseph Master's, $62,650
Special Education programs in Delaware, 1 program
- University of Delaware Master's, $60,626
Special Education programs in District of Columbia, 1 program
- George Washington University Master's, $75,292
Special Education programs in Florida, 1 program
- University of West Florida Master's, $67,666
Special Education programs in Georgia, 3 programs
- Columbus State University Master's, $63,482
- Georgia State University Master's, $65,323
- University of West Georgia Master's, $74,278
Special Education programs in Illinois, 2 programs
- Illinois State University Bachelor's, $52,864
- National Louis University Master's, $65,083
Special Education programs in Indiana, 1 program
- Ball State University Master's, $71,550
Special Education programs in Iowa, 1 program
- Morningside University Master's, $61,726
Special Education programs in Kansas, 4 programs
- Emporia State University Master's, $58,389
- Fort Hays State University Master's, $60,958
- Pittsburg State University Master's, $56,317
- University of Kansas Master's, $59,173
Special Education programs in Kentucky, 1 program
- Morehead State University Bachelor's, $39,777
Special Education programs in Maryland, 1 program
- Towson University Bachelor's, $56,971
Special Education programs in Massachusetts, 5 programs
- American International College Master's, $67,742
- Bridgewater State University Master's, $64,424
- Fitchburg State University Master's, $64,927
- Lesley University Master's, $68,384
- Simmons University Master's, $69,110
Special Education programs in Michigan, 3 programs
- Eastern Michigan University Master's, $66,839
- Oakland University Master's, $67,300
- Western Michigan University Master's, $67,367
Special Education programs in Minnesota, 3 programs
- Concordia University-Saint Paul Master's, $63,279
- Minnesota State University-Mankato Master's, $62,401
- Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Master's, $67,553
Special Education programs in Mississippi, 1 program
- Mississippi College Master's, $49,246
Special Education programs in Nebraska, 1 program
- University of Nebraska at Omaha Master's, $58,383
Special Education programs in Nevada, 1 program
- University of Nevada-Las Vegas Master's, $66,970
Special Education programs in New Jersey, 4 programs
- Kean University Master's, $76,045
- New Jersey City University Master's, $74,452
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Master's, $66,728
- The College of New Jersey Master's, $65,033
Special Education programs in New York, 15 programs
- CUNY Brooklyn College Master's, $90,918
- CUNY Hunter College Master's, $88,978
- CUNY Lehman College Master's, $84,758
- CUNY Queens College Master's, $85,359
- Hofstra University Master's, $79,507
- Long Island University Master's, $81,836
- Manhattanville College Master's, $79,921
- Molloy College Master's, $73,479
- Pace University Master's, $91,867
- St. John's University-New York Master's, $84,195
- St. Joseph's University-New York Bachelor's, $55,812
- SUNY Buffalo State University Master's, $57,652
- SUNY College at Geneseo Bachelor's, $54,908
- Syracuse University Master's, $66,858
- Touro University Master's, $80,111
Special Education programs in North Carolina, 3 programs
- East Carolina University Bachelor's, $48,410
- University of North Carolina at Charlotte Bachelor's, $49,301
- University of North Carolina at Greensboro Bachelor's, $48,151
Special Education programs in North Dakota, 1 program
- University of North Dakota Master's, $59,392
Special Education programs in Ohio, 5 programs
- Ashland University Bachelor's, $43,052
- Bowling Green State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $45,224
- Cleveland State University Master's, $54,537
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $43,835
- University of Akron Main Campus Bachelor's, $41,782
Special Education programs in Oregon, 2 programs
- Pacific University Master's, $62,047
- Portland State University Master's, $67,504
Special Education programs in Pennsylvania, 9 programs
- Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $51,949
- Holy Family University Master's, $66,902
- Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus Bachelor's, $53,494
- Kutztown University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $54,845
- Millersville University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $53,356
- Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus Master's, $63,109
- Pennsylvania Western University Master's, $53,122
- Saint Joseph's University Master's, $66,379
- Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $48,796
Special Education programs in Tennessee, 2 programs
- University of Memphis Bachelor's, $47,465
- Vanderbilt University Master's, $65,048
Special Education programs in Texas, 4 programs
- Lamar University Master's, $64,598
- Stephen F Austin State University Master's, $62,368
- Texas Tech University Master's, $66,336
- The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Master's, $60,899
Special Education programs in Utah, 2 programs
- Utah State University Bachelor's, $74,535
- Western Governors University Bachelor's, $52,090
Special Education programs in Virginia, 4 programs
- George Mason University Master's, $72,192
- Liberty University Master's, $58,040
- Radford University Master's, $53,439
- Regent University Master's, $60,835
Special Education programs in West Virginia, 1 program
- West Virginia University Master's, $51,853
Special Education programs in Wisconsin, 2 programs
- University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Bachelor's, $47,877
- University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Bachelor's, $47,828
Related majors
Education
Education prepares graduates for state-licensed teaching careers in public and private K–12 schools, combining content-area study with pedagogy and supervised student-teaching.
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education prepares you to teach and care for children from infancy through the early primary grades, focusing on play-based learning and developmental milestones.
Secondary Education
Secondary Education prepares you to teach a subject to middle- and high-school students, blending content mastery with classroom instruction methods, and suits people who want to teach teens rather than young children.
Psychology
Psychology majors study human cognition, behavior, and emotion, preparing graduates for clinical, research, business, and human-services careers (and graduate school in clinical, counseling, and I/O psych).
Social Work
Social Work prepares graduates for licensed direct practice with individuals, families, and communities, combining behavioral sciences with field placements and an explicit ethical framework.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Special Education degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Education & Library careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Special Education degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Special Education path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.