Special Education · California

California colleges that awarded Special Education credentials

92 colleges in California reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 77 awarded a degree, and 15 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in California that conferred Special Education credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
National University352Degree
Pasadena City College118Degree
East Los Angeles College110Degree
Alder Graduate School of Education108Degree
Alliant International University-San Diego108Degree
Ashford University92Degree
Moorpark College83Degree
University of Massachusetts Global81Degree
Bakersfield College78Degree
Riverside City College78Degree
Fullerton College76Degree
Mt San Jacinto Community College District76Degree
California State University-Los Angeles68Degree
City College of San Francisco68Degree
California State University-Northridge52Degree
College of the Sequoias52Degree
Saddleback College52Degree
California State University-Sacramento50Degree
Los Angeles Valley College49Degree
San Francisco State University46Degree
Modesto Junior College45Certificate only
Southwestern College45Degree
California State University-East Bay43Degree
San Jose State University42Degree
Norco College39Degree
California State University-San Bernardino38Degree
Cuesta College37Degree
Evergreen Valley College37Degree
California State University-Fullerton36Degree
California State University-Long Beach36Degree
California State University-Fresno29Degree
Santa Monica College29Degree
Citrus College28Degree
Loyola Marymount University27Degree
Woodland Community College25Degree
MiraCosta College24Degree
Palomar College23Degree
Butte College22Degree
Foothill College22Degree
Oxnard College22Degree
Santa Ana College21Certificate only
University of Redlands20Degree
West Valley College20Degree
College of the Desert19Degree
Golden West College19Degree
San Jose City College19Degree
California Lutheran University16Degree
Fresno Pacific University16Degree
Notre Dame de Namur University16Degree
University of La Verne16Degree
Azusa Pacific University15Degree
California State University-Bakersfield15Degree
Los Angeles Trade Technical College15Degree
Santiago Canyon College15Degree
University of Southern California14Certificate only
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo12Degree
California State University-Dominguez Hills12Degree
Chapman University12Degree
Long Beach City College11Degree
Santa Barbara City College11Degree

Showing the 60 largest of 92.

How much of this field is in California

Credentials awarded
2,931
Share of U.S. total
8.7%
Colleges awarding it
92
Awarding a degree
77

California colleges conferred 2,931 Special Education credentials in 2023-24, which is 8.7% of the 33,679 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 92 colleges here, 77 awarded a degree and 15 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates10%298
  • Associate42%1,233
  • Bachelor's1%31
  • Graduate47%1,369

Most Special Education credentials awarded in California were graduate degrees. That is 22 percentage points less weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 69% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 12% of California’s Special Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these California colleges cost

Median net price across the 69 of these 92 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Special Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$6,082
30-48k
$6,277
48-75k
$8,897
75-110k
$11,904
110k+
$14,498

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among California colleges that reported awarding Special Educationcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public two-year34$3,556
Public four-year22$5,808
Private13$23,001

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $6,082 at these colleges, against $14,498 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every California college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in California — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Special Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Special Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Special Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Special Education Teachers, Secondary School$69,59011,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Middle School$64,8806,300Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, All Other$67,4302,900Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Preschool$62,1902,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Elementary SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Special Education Teachers, KindergartenNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going