Special Education · Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania colleges that awarded Special Education credentials

62 colleges in Pennsylvania reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 60 awarded a degree, and 2 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Pennsylvania that conferred Special Education credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania213Degree
Pennsylvania Western University114Degree
West Chester University of Pennsylvania101Degree
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania89Degree
Saint Joseph's University83Degree
Millersville University of Pennsylvania72Degree
Holy Family University69Degree
Pennsylvania State University-World Campus61Degree
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania58Degree
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus54Degree
Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania52Degree
Temple University50Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus49Degree
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania43Degree
Mercyhurst University39Degree
Neumann University37Degree
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus36Degree
Wilson College36Degree
Eastern University31Degree
Alvernia University25Degree
Drexel University25Degree
Arcadia University20Degree
Chestnut Hill College20Degree
Gwynedd Mercy University20Degree
La Salle University19Degree
Lincoln University19Degree
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania17Degree
Moravian University17Degree
Lebanon Valley College14Degree
Thiel College14Degree
Lehigh University13Degree
Carlow University12Degree
DeSales University12Degree
King's College12Degree
Northampton County Area Community College12Degree
Duquesne University9Degree
Saint Francis University8Degree
Susquehanna University8Degree
University of Pennsylvania8Certificate only
Waynesburg University8Degree
Wilkes University8Degree
Messiah University7Degree
Elizabethtown College6Degree
Lehigh Carbon Community College6Degree
Cairn University-Langhorne5Degree
Grove City College5Degree
Keystone College5Degree
Lancaster Bible College5Degree
Robert Morris University5Degree
Salus University5Degree
University of Scranton5Degree
Albright College4Degree
Bryn Athyn College of the New Church4Degree
Delaware Valley University4Degree
Seton Hill University4Degree
York College of Pennsylvania4Degree
Marywood University3Degree
Point Park University2Degree
Widener University2Degree
Cedar Crest College1Certificate only

Showing the 60 largest of 62.

Looking for Special Education programs in Pennsylvania? This page lists every college that reported awarding Special Education credentials to the federal government in 2023-24 — 62 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in Pennsylvania

Credentials awarded
1,691
Share of U.S. total
5.0%
Colleges awarding it
62
Awarding a degree
60

Pennsylvania colleges conferred 1,691 Special Education credentials in 2023-24, which is 5.0% of the 33,679 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 62 colleges here, 60 awarded a degree and 2 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%1
  • Associate1%18
  • Bachelor's42%718
  • Graduate56%954

Most Special Education credentials awarded in Pennsylvania were graduate degrees. That is 13 percentage points less weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 69% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 13% of Pennsylvania’s Special Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Pennsylvania colleges cost

Median net price across the 58 of these 62 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Special Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$18,723
30-48k
$19,886
48-75k
$21,992
75-110k
$25,463
110k+
$29,615

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Pennsylvania colleges that reported awarding Special Educationcredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year13$15,925
Private43$19,790

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $18,723 at these colleges, against $29,615 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Pennsylvania college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Pennsylvania — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Special Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Special Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Special Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Special Education Teachers, Secondary School$69,59011,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Middle School$64,8806,300Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, All Other$67,4302,900Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Preschool$62,1902,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Elementary SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Special Education Teachers, KindergartenNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going