Theater Arts major
Theater Arts: courses, careers, and where to study
Theater Arts trains students to stage live dramatic productions through acting, directing, and design, fitting people who want to bring stories to life in front of an audience.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Theater Arts earn a median $39,775 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $25,491 to $55,399 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
A Theater Arts major studies how dramatic works are written, interpreted, and brought to life in front of an audience. Students read plays across periods and styles, examine the conventions of tragedy, comedy, and other dramatic forms, and learn how a script moves from the page to a finished performance. Coursework blends time in the classroom analyzing texts with time in rehearsal halls, studios, and shops, where students act, direct, build sets, hang lights, and run the backstage systems that hold a production together. Unlike a Film or Media Production major, which centers on the camera and editing, or a Dance major, which centers on choreographed movement, Theater Arts treats the live or staged dramatic event as a whole and asks students to understand every role that makes it work, from performer to stage manager to designer.
Most students earn a bachelor's degree, often a Bachelor of Arts that pairs theater study with broader liberal-arts courses, or a Bachelor of Fine Arts that concentrates studio and conservatory-style training. Programs are hands-on by design: students complete acting and directing studios, technical-theater labs, and production practicums where they staff real shows, frequently finishing with a capstone or thesis production they help mount. No general license is required to work in theater, and entry usually depends on training, auditions, a portfolio, and accumulated production credits rather than a credential; graduates who want to teach in public schools, however, typically need a state teaching license, and any program-specific accreditation a school holds is worth verifying directly. Graduates work in regional and touring theaters, in stage and production-management roles, in educational and community arts settings, and in adjacent fields such as film, television, events, and arts administration.
In federal data for the closely related occupation of producers and directors, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a 2024 median wage of $83,480 and projects employment to grow about 4.9% from 2024 to 2034; a bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for that occupation. National figures are occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages or graduate outcomes.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Theater Arts maps to CIP 50.0501, Drama and Dramatics/Theatre Arts, General, within the VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS family. The official definition:
A program that focuses on the general study of dramatic works and their performance. Includes instruction in major works of dramatic literature, dramatic styles and types, and the principles of organizing and producing full live or filmed productions.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Theater Arts is awarded as
Of the 10,265 Theater Arts credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 5%, 478 credentials.
- Associate: 11%, 1,117 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 76%, 7,818 credentials.
- Graduate: 8%, 852 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 36 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 10 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- Acting technique and scene-study studios
- Voice, speech, and movement for the stage
- Play analysis and dramatic literature across periods
- Directing and rehearsal-process fundamentals
- Stagecraft, scenic construction, and shop safety
- Lighting, sound, and projection design
- Costume design, makeup, and wardrobe
- Stage management and production coordination
- Production practicum mounting full live shows
Typical careers
- Director
- Producer
- Stage Manager
- Actor
- Theater Educator
- Production Designer
Typical salary range: Early-career wages vary by employer, region, and experience (BLS, 2024 producers and directors median $83,480).Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Theater Arts graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Theater Arts earn a median $39,775 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $25,491 to $55,399 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $39,775 | $25,491 to $55,399 |
| Associate's | $31,773 | $20,802 to $44,730 |
| Undergraduate certificate | $31,337 | $18,119 to $45,968 |
| Master's | $49,978 | $29,233 to $69,322 |
Compare Theater Arts programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Theater Arts programs
- University of Cincinnati-Main Campus (OH): $54,000, median federal debt $25,706
- Chapman University (CA): $51,611, median federal debt $22,500
- Western Connecticut State University (CT): $50,955, median federal debt $25,000
- University of Utah (UT): $49,802, median federal debt $19,566
- University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (IL): $49,323, median federal debt $20,500
- Northwestern University (IL): $49,316, median federal debt $17,000
- Loyola Marymount University (CA): $49,135, median federal debt $20,000
- The University of Texas at Austin (TX): $48,781, median federal debt $25,711
- University of North Carolina School of the Arts (NC): $48,664, median federal debt $23,500
- Texas State University (TX): $48,502, median federal debt $19,500
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Theater Arts, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Producers and Directors | $83,480 | 12,800 | +4.9% | Bachelor's degree |
| Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary | $80,190 | 9,000 | +1.7% | Master's degree |
| Actors | Not reported | 6,300 | +0.3% | Some college, no degree |
| Entertainers and Performers, Sports and Related Workers, All Other | Not reported | 4,400 | +6% | No formal educational credential |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). 2 of these 4 occupations report a median wage.
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Theater Arts does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Before you commit to a Theater Arts major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Theater Arts program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Theater Arts department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Theater Arts program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Theater Arts credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- New York University, NY · 432 credentials
- American Musical and Dramatic Academy, NY · 221 credentials
- Texas State University, TX · 184 credentials
- Northwestern University, IL · 122 credentials
- University of Central Florida, FL · 104 credentials
- California State University-Fullerton, CA · 98 credentials
- Savannah College of Art and Design, GA · 97 credentials
- University of California-Irvine, CA · 93 credentials
- Utah Valley University, UT · 85 credentials
- Florida State University, FL · 84 credentials
- University of California-Los Angeles, CA · 81 credentials
- California State University-Long Beach, CA · 74 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Theater Arts credentials were awarded
24 states have a distinct enough set of Theater Arts colleges to be worth its own page.
- Texas: 57 colleges
- Pennsylvania: 38 colleges
- Massachusetts: 33 colleges
- Illinois: 26 colleges
- Ohio: 26 colleges
- Minnesota: 23 colleges
- Florida: 22 colleges
- Indiana: 22 colleges
- Georgia: 20 colleges
- North Carolina: 20 colleges
- Missouri: 20 colleges
- Michigan: 18 colleges
- Iowa: 13 colleges
- Alabama: 12 colleges
- South Carolina: 12 colleges
- Tennessee: 12 colleges
- Maryland: 11 colleges
- Oklahoma: 11 colleges
- Kansas: 11 colleges
- Arkansas: 11 colleges
- New Jersey: 10 colleges
- Colorado: 9 colleges
- Nebraska: 9 colleges
- Louisiana: 7 colleges
Every Theater Arts program with its own CampusPin page
53 programs in 20 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Theater Arts programs in Arizona, 1 program
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $41,745
Theater Arts programs in California, 11 programs
- California Institute of the Arts Bachelor's, $41,192
- California State University-Fullerton Bachelor's, $42,455
- California State University-Long Beach Bachelor's, $38,270
- California State University-Northridge Bachelor's, $43,240
- Chapman University Bachelor's, $51,611
- Loyola Marymount University Bachelor's, $49,135
- San Diego State University Bachelor's, $41,812
- San Francisco State University Bachelor's, $44,848
- University of California-Irvine Bachelor's, $40,773
- University of California, Los Angeles Bachelor's, $39,023
- University of Southern California Bachelor's, $40,415
Theater Arts programs in Colorado, 1 program
- University of Northern Colorado Bachelor's, $46,089
Theater Arts programs in Florida, 4 programs
- Florida State University Bachelor's, $44,115
- Full Sail University Bachelor's, $44,878
- University of Central Florida Bachelor's, $42,954
- University of Florida Bachelor's, $41,707
Theater Arts programs in Georgia, 1 program
- Savannah College of Art and Design Bachelor's, $35,177
Theater Arts programs in Illinois, 5 programs
- Columbia College Chicago Bachelor's, $39,986
- DePaul University Bachelor's, $44,095
- Illinois State University Bachelor's, $40,258
- Northwestern University Bachelor's, $49,316
- Roosevelt University Bachelor's, $37,748
Theater Arts programs in Indiana, 1 program
- Ball State University Bachelor's, $43,082
Theater Arts programs in Michigan, 2 programs
- University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Bachelor's, $45,888
- Western Michigan University Bachelor's, $44,694
Theater Arts programs in Minnesota, 1 program
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Bachelor's, $43,055
Theater Arts programs in Missouri, 1 program
- Webster University Bachelor's, $39,604
Theater Arts programs in Nevada, 1 program
- University of Nevada-Las Vegas Bachelor's, $40,033
Theater Arts programs in New Jersey, 2 programs
- Montclair State University Bachelor's, $39,248
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Bachelor's, $42,712
Theater Arts programs in New York, 9 programs
- Columbia University in the City of New York Master's, $57,723
- Ithaca College Bachelor's, $46,563
- Marymount Manhattan College Bachelor's, $40,086
- New York University Bachelor's, $42,348
- Pace University Bachelor's, $37,213
- SUNY at Purchase College Bachelor's, $39,974
- Syracuse University Bachelor's, $44,045
- The New School Bachelor's, $39,248
- Wagner College Bachelor's, $39,664
Theater Arts programs in North Carolina, 2 programs
- University of North Carolina at Greensboro Bachelor's, $41,108
- University of North Carolina School of the Arts Bachelor's, $48,664
Theater Arts programs in Ohio, 1 program
- Kent State University at Kent Bachelor's, $36,429
Theater Arts programs in Oregon, 1 program
- Southern Oregon University Bachelor's, $38,487
Theater Arts programs in Pennsylvania, 4 programs
- Carnegie Mellon University Bachelor's, $40,073
- Muhlenberg College Bachelor's, $42,092
- Point Park University Bachelor's, $40,121
- Temple University Bachelor's, $36,994
Theater Arts programs in Texas, 2 programs
- Texas State University Bachelor's, $48,502
- University of North Texas Bachelor's, $42,362
Theater Arts programs in Virginia, 2 programs
- James Madison University Bachelor's, $45,225
- Virginia Commonwealth University Bachelor's, $43,957
Theater Arts programs in West Virginia, 1 program
- West Virginia University Bachelor's, $40,942
Related majors
Film Production
Film Production teaches the craft of making moving images, from screenwriting and directing to cinematography, editing, and sound, for students who want hands-on, collaborative creative work.
Music
Music combines performance, theory, and history with applied study on a primary instrument or voice, suiting students who want formal training in composing, performing, or teaching music.
Communications
Communications studies how messages move through media, combining writing, public speaking, and media analysis with hands-on training in PR, journalism, broadcasting, or strategic communication.
English & Literature
English develops critical reading, analytical writing, and rhetorical skill, a flexible major that feeds into law, publishing, education, marketing, and any field that values communication.
Digital Media
Digital Media is a hands-on field where students design, produce, and manage content for screens and networks, blending visual creativity with technical and storytelling skills.
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Theater Arts degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
Explore Arts, Design & Media careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
Explore Education & Library careers
Median pay, job outlook, and the occupations this field covers.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Theater Arts degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Theater Arts path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.