Theater Arts · New York

New York colleges that awarded Theater Arts credentials

56 colleges in New York reported conferring Theater Arts credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 56 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in New York that conferred Theater Arts credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
New York University454Degree
American Musical and Dramatic Academy243Degree
Columbia University in the City of New York80Degree
CUNY Brooklyn College61Degree
Long Island University58Degree
The New School51Degree
Fordham University41Degree
Molloy College38Degree
CUNY Graduate School and University Center37Degree
SUNY at Purchase College36Degree
Hofstra University35Degree
State University of New York at New Paltz35Degree
Wagner College27Degree
Ithaca College24Degree
Nazareth University24Degree
Vassar College23Degree
CUNY City College21Degree
CUNY Hunter College20Degree
SUNY at Fredonia18Degree
CUNY Queens College17Degree
Syracuse University17Degree
Adelphi University15Degree
University at Buffalo15Degree
CUNY LaGuardia Community College14Degree
Skidmore College14Degree
State University of New York at Oswego14Degree
Hamilton College13Degree
Niagara University13Degree
CUNY Lehman College12Degree
Suffolk County Community College10Degree
Barnard College9Degree
Five Towns College9Degree
Monroe Community College9Degree
SUNY Buffalo State University9Degree
University at Albany8Degree
Cornell University7Degree
Niagara County Community College6Degree
SUNY College at Potsdam6Degree
Binghamton University5Degree
Hudson Valley Community College5Degree
Siena College5Degree
SUNY Oneonta5Degree
Colgate University4Degree
Hobart William Smith Colleges4Degree
Sarah Lawrence College4Degree
Sullivan County Community College4Degree
SUNY Brockport4Degree
SUNY College at Geneseo4Degree
Alfred University3Degree
Le Moyne College3Degree
Manhattanville College3Degree
SUNY College at Plattsburgh3Degree
College of Staten Island CUNY2Degree
Finger Lakes Community College1Degree
Genesee Community College1Degree
Stony Brook University1Degree

How much of this field is in New York

Credentials awarded
1,604
Share of U.S. total
15%
Colleges awarding it
56
Awarding a degree
56

New York colleges conferred 1,604 Theater Arts credentials in 2023-24, which is 15% of the 10,683 conferred across the 49 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 56 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates15%245
  • Associate3%50
  • Bachelor's68%1,094
  • Graduate13%215

Most Theater Arts credentials awarded in New York were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 28% of New York’s Theater Arts credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these New York colleges cost

Median net price across the 55 of these 56 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Theater Arts program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$11,494
30-48k
$14,284
48-75k
$18,084
75-110k
$21,312
110k+
$26,346

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among New York colleges that reported awarding Theater Artscredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public two-year8$4,281
Public four-year20$10,341
Private27$20,330

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $11,494 at these colleges, against $26,346 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every New York college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in New York — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Theater Arts graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Theater Arts, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Theater Arts, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Producers and Directors$83,48012,800Bachelor's degree
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary$80,1909,000Master's degree
ActorsNot reported6,300Some college, no degree
Entertainers and Performers, Sports and Related Workers, All OtherNot reported4,400No formal educational credential

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going