History · Ohio

Ohio colleges that awarded History credentials

57 colleges in Ohio reported conferring History credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2023-24, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 57 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2023-24. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Ohio that conferred History credentials in 2023-24, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Ohio State University-Main Campus130Degree
Ashland University64Degree
Ohio University-Main Campus51Degree
Miami University-Oxford47Degree
Oberlin College44Degree
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus39Degree
Kent State University at Kent38Degree
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus34Degree
Cleveland State University26Degree
Kenyon College26Degree
The College of Wooster26Degree
Youngstown State University26Degree
Case Western Reserve University25Degree
Wright State University-Main Campus25Degree
Franciscan University of Steubenville18Degree
University of Dayton18Degree
University of Toledo17Degree
Xavier University17Degree
University of Akron Main Campus16Degree
Denison University15Degree
John Carroll University13Degree
Sinclair Community College13Degree
Baldwin Wallace University12Degree
Muskingum University11Degree
Cedarville University8Degree
Otterbein University8Degree
University of Mount Union8Degree
Heidelberg University6Degree
Malone University6Degree
Ohio Northern University6Degree
Defiance College5Degree
Lake Erie College5Degree
Ohio Wesleyan University5Degree
Shawnee State University5Degree
University of Cincinnati-Blue Ash College5Degree
Mount Vernon Nazarene University4Degree
University of Cincinnati-Clermont College4Degree
Wilmington College4Degree
Marietta College3Degree
Ohio State University-Mansfield Campus3Degree
Ohio State University-Marion Campus3Degree
Ohio State University-Newark Campus3Degree
Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus3Degree
University of Rio Grande3Degree
Wittenberg University3Degree
Capital University2Degree
Hiram College2Degree
Ohio Christian University2Degree
Ohio State University-Lima Campus2Degree
Owens Community College2Degree
Central State University1Degree
Lourdes University1Degree
Ohio Dominican University1Degree
Ohio University-Eastern Campus1Degree
Ohio University-Lancaster Campus1Degree
Ohio University-Southern Campus1Degree
Ursuline College1Degree

How much of this field is in Ohio

Credentials awarded
868
Share of U.S. total
2.8%
Colleges awarding it
57
Awarding a degree
57

Ohio colleges conferred 868 History credentials in 2023-24, which is 2.8% of the 30,780 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 57 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates<1%8
  • Associate3%24
  • Bachelor's79%686
  • Graduate17%150

Most History credentials awarded in Ohio were bachelor's degrees. The mix here is close to the national pattern for this field. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 15% of Ohio’s History credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Ohio colleges cost

Median net price across the 56 of these 57 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a History program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$14,954
30-48k
$14,995
48-75k
$18,880
75-110k
$22,506
110k+
$25,026

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Ohio colleges that reported awarding Historycredentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year23$10,987
Private32$18,356

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $14,954 at these colleges, against $25,026 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Ohio college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2022-23 and 2023-24. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Ohio — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What History graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with History, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with History, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Managers, All Other$136,550106,700Bachelor's degree
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education$64,58066,200Bachelor's degree
History Teachers, Postsecondary$81,5001,700Doctoral or professional degree
Historians$74,050300Master's degree
Tour Guides and EscortsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Keep going