Special Education · Kansas

Kansas colleges that awarded Special Education credentials

11 colleges in Kansas reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 10 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Quick answers

How much do Special Education graduates of Kansas master's programs earn?
Graduates of the typical Kansas master's program in Special Education earned a median $58,781 four years after graduating, 9% below the $64,397 national median for the same credential (4 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Which Special Education programs in Kansas have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 4 Kansas master's programs in Special Education, Fort Hays State University graduates had the highest median, $60,958 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Kansas that conferred Special Education credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
University of Kansas136Degree
Fort Hays State University116Degree
Emporia State University72Degree
Wichita State University52Degree
Pittsburg State University18Degree
Kansas State University12Degree
Benedictine College8Degree
Friends University7Degree
Washburn University6Degree
Butler Community College2Degree
Colby Community College2Certificate only

Which Special Education programs in Kansas have the highest graduate earnings?

Among 4 Kansas master's programs in Special Education with federal earnings data, Fort Hays State University graduates earn the highest median, $60,958 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $27,127. University of Kansas follows at $59,173. The national median for master's graduates in the same program is $64,397. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)

Compare these programs and share the results

Master's programs · 4 with earnings data · national median $64,397

Master's programs in Special Education in Kansas, by median earnings four years after graduating (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23), with median federal debt.
CollegeMedian earnings, 4 yrs after1 yr after (later class)Debt borrowed at this college (median)
Fort Hays State University$60,958$53,586$27,127
University of Kansas$59,173$58,196$29,867
Emporia State University$58,389$53,927$12,963
Pittsburg State University$56,317$52,368$22,743
Add this table to your website (counselors, libraries, aid offices)

Copy the HTML below into any web page. It is plain HTML with no script and no tracking; it shows the ten master's programs above with their period and source, and links back to this page.

Ordered by median earnings four years after graduating: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Special Education and Teaching. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. The one-year column is a later class (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, measured in 2020 and 2021, in 2022 dollars), so it is not the same graduates' pay a few years earlier. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed. Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls and where graduates live as well as the program itself. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major.

How much of this field is in Kansas

Credentials awarded
431
Share of U.S. total
1.2%
Colleges awarding it
11
Awarding a degree
10

Kansas colleges conferred 431 Special Education credentials in 2024-25, which is 1.2% of the 35,046 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 11 colleges here, 10 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: <1%, 2 credentials.
  • Associate: <1%, 2 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 2%, 8 credentials.
  • Graduate: 97%, 419 credentials.

Most Special Education credentials awarded in Kansas were graduate degrees. That is 27 percentage points more weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 70% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 32% of Kansas’s Special Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Kansas colleges cost

Median net price across the 11 of these 11 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Special Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$10,908
30-48k
$11,964
48-75k
$15,438
75-110k
$19,282
110k+
$19,715

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $10,908 at these colleges, against $19,715 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Kansas college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Kansas — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Special Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Special Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Special Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Special Education Teachers, Secondary School$69,59011,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Middle School$64,8806,300Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, All Other$67,4302,900Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Preschool$62,1902,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Elementary SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Special Education Teachers, KindergartenNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Special Education in Kansas

How many colleges in Kansas awarded Special Education credentials?
11 colleges in Kansas reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 10 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 431 credentials in the fields covered.
Which Special Education programs in Kansas have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 4 Kansas master's programs in Special Education with federal earnings data, Fort Hays State University graduates earn the highest median, $60,958 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $27,127. University of Kansas follows at $59,173. The national median for master's graduates in the same program is $64,397. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Special Education?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going