Cost comparison
Affordable colleges in Virginia
CampusPin lists 102 colleges in Virginia. The 40 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $5,494 and a median average net price of $6,928 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.
Virginia college costs by the numbers
- Lowest published in-state tuition
- Patrick & Henry Community College ($4,858)
- Median in-state tuition (40 reporting)
- $5,494
- Median net price after aid (35 reporting)
- $6,928
- Highest graduation rate
- Ascent College (100%)
- Largest by enrollment
- Northern Virginia Community College (56,457 students)
Virginia colleges by published in-state tuition
Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.
| College | In-state tuition | Out-of-state tuition | Avg. net price | Graduation rate | Acceptance rate | Public/private | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick & Henry Community College | $4,858 | $10,861 | $3,430 | 45% | Open admission | Public | Martinsville, VA |
| New River Community College | $4,979 | $11,417 | $6,279 | 50% | Open admission | Public | Dublin, VA |
| Danville Community College | $4,992 | $11,430 | $6,669 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Danville, VA |
| Mountain Empire Community College | $5,007 | $11,445 | $8,852 | 48% | Open admission | Public | Big Stone Gap, VA |
| Southside Virginia Community College | $5,007 | $11,445 | $5,338 | 42% | Open admission | Public | Alberta, VA |
| Wytheville Community College | $5,007 | $11,445 | $4,622 | 47% | Open admission | Public | Wytheville, VA |
| Paul D. Camp Community College | $5,012 | $11,450 | $4,126 | 36% | Open admission | Public | Franklin, VA |
| Mountain Gateway Community College | $5,022 | $11,460 | $4,861 | 38% | Open admission | Public | Clifton Forge, VA |
| Virginia Highlands Community College | $5,022 | $11,460 | $5,375 | 40% | Open admission | Public | Abingdon, VA |
| Laurel Ridge Community College | $5,072 | $11,510 | $6,013 | 45% | Open admission | Public | Middletown, VA |
| Piedmont Virginia Community College | $5,072 | $11,510 | $5,963 | 39% | Open admission | Public | Charlottesville, VA |
| Southwest Virginia Community College | $5,075 | $11,513 | $6,005 | 46% | Open admission | Public | Cedar Bluff, VA |
| Brightpoint Community College | $5,082 | $11,520 | $5,490 | 38% | Open admission | Public | Chester, VA |
| Eastern Shore Community College | $5,082 | $11,520 | $4,975 | 41% | Open admission | Public | Melfa, VA |
| Virginia Peninsula Community College | $5,088 | $11,526 | $7,012 | 34% | Open admission | Public | Hampton, VA |
| Rappahannock Community College | $5,102 | $11,540 | $4,343 | 45% | Open admission | Public | Glenns, VA |
| Central Virginia Community College | $5,157 | $11,595 | $6,928 | 45% | Open admission | Public | Lynchburg, VA |
| Germanna Community College | $5,257 | $11,648 | $5,541 | 46% | Open admission | Public | Locust Grove, VA |
| J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College | $5,280 | $11,718 | $5,168 | 32% | Open admission | Public | Richmond, VA |
| Virginia Western Community College | $5,400 | $11,838 | $4,966 | 40% | Open admission | Public | Roanoke, VA |
| Tidewater Community College | $5,588 | $12,296 | $7,991 | 32% | Open admission | Public | Norfolk, VA |
| Blue Ridge Community College | $5,646 | $12,084 | $8,755 | 40% | Open admission | Public | Weyers Cave, VA |
| Northern Virginia Community College | $5,891 | $12,409 | $9,919 | 33% | Open admission | Public | Annandale, VA |
| University of the Potomac-VA Campus | $6,660 | $6,660 | Not reported | 50% | Open admission | Private | FALLS CHURCH, VA |
| Ascent College | $8,550 | $8,550 | Not reported | 100% | Open admission | Private | Gainesville, VA |
| Richard Bland College | $9,090 | $14,970 | $8,920 | 9% | 89% | Public | South Prince George, VA |
| University of Management and Technology | $9,450 | $9,450 | Not reported | 33% | Open admission | Private | Arlington, VA |
| Virginia State University | $10,043 | $22,650 | $15,840 | 39% | 89% | Public | Petersburg, VA |
| Fairfax University of America | $10,128 | $10,128 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Private | Fairfax, VA |
| Norfolk State University | $10,180 | $21,682 | $15,282 | 38% | 88% | Public | Norfolk, VA |
| American National University | $10,961 | $10,961 | $18,036 | 33% | Open admission | Private | Salem, VA |
| Virginia University of Lynchburg | $11,360 | $11,360 | $21,253 | 38% | Open admission | Private | Lynchburg, VA |
| University of Virginia's College at Wise | $11,780 | $28,010 | $9,210 | 47% | 29% | Public | Wise, VA |
| Radford University | $12,548 | $25,633 | $14,578 | 49% | 90% | Public | Radford, VA |
| Old Dominion University | $12,750 | $33,780 | $14,638 | 46% | 90% | Public | Norfolk, VA |
| Centra College | $12,983 | $12,983 | $24,868 | 100% | Open admission | Private | Lynchburg, VA |
| Washington University of Science and Technology | $13,785 | $13,785 | Not reported | 67% | 7% | Private | Vienna, VA |
| Strayer University-Virginia | $13,920 | $13,920 | $19,578 | 36% | Open admission | Private | Arlington, VA |
| George Mason University | $14,220 | $38,688 | $17,915 | 68% | 87% | Public | Fairfax, VA |
| James Madison University | $14,250 | $31,604 | $23,322 | 80% | 72% | Public | Harrisonburg, VA |
“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.
What the Virginia cost data shows
- Patrick & Henry Community College has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $4,858 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
- Median published in-state tuition is $5,102 across the public colleges here and $10,961 across the private ones — a $5,859 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
- Median average net price is $6,928 across the 35 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
- 35 of the 40 colleges listed report an average net price, and 39 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.
How this list was built
This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for Virginia, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.
Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.
Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (102 of 102 Virginia institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the cheapest college in Virginia?
- Of the 40 Virginia colleges on this page, Patrick & Henry Community College in Martinsville reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $4,858 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
- Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
- No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 35 Virginia colleges reporting it here the median is $6,928. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
- Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in Virginia?
- At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $5,102 at the public colleges listed and $10,961 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
- Will I personally pay these amounts at a Virginia college?
- Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.
More South states
Keep going on CampusPin
Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.
Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.
Data sources & methodology
Cost, aid, and outcome figures for Virginia colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.
Sources used across this page
Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.
IPEDS / NCES College Navigator
Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.
U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.
Institutional websites
Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.
Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.
Suggested citation
CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in Virginia. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/virginia