Cost comparison

Affordable colleges in West Virginia

CampusPin lists 38 colleges in West Virginia. The 38 below are ordered by lowest published in-state tuition, with a median of $9,574 and a median average net price of $11,471 among those reporting it. Tuition, total cost, and net price are three different numbers — the table keeps them separate.

West Virginia college costs by the numbers

Lowest published in-state tuition
West Virginia University at Parkersburg ($4,612)
Median in-state tuition (34 reporting)
$9,574
Median net price after aid (36 reporting)
$11,471

West Virginia colleges by published in-state tuition

Lowest published in-state tuition first. Every figure is as reported by the institution to federal data collections; blank cells are unreported values, not zeros.

Colleges in West Virginia ordered by published in-state tuition, with out-of-state tuition, average net price, graduation rate, and acceptance rate.
CollegeIn-state tuitionOut-of-state tuitionAvg. net priceGraduation rateAcceptance ratePublic/privateLocation
West Virginia University at Parkersburg$4,612$9,124$3,6139%Open admissionPublicParkersburg, WV
West Virginia Northern Community College$4,706$12,698$3,21533%Open admissionPublicWheeling, WV
Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College$4,722$4,722$8,09542%Open admissionPublicMoorefield, WV
Blue Ridge Community and Technical College$4,752$8,808$4,64132%Open admissionPublicMartinsburg, WV
Mountwest Community and Technical College$4,938$12,304$8,08319%Open admissionPublicHuntington, WV
Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College$5,136$7,872$10,32129%Open admissionPublicMount Gay, WV
New River Community and Technical College$5,156$9,646$3,59936%Open admissionPublicBeckley, WV
Potomac State College of West Virginia University$5,280$13,200$9,19731%Open admissionPublicKeyser, WV
Pierpont Community and Technical College$5,762$13,660$8,32542%Open admissionPublicFairmont, WV
BridgeValley Community and Technical College$5,800$12,428$4,56534%Open admissionPublicMontgomery, WV
American Public University System$8,400$8,400$9,59757%Open admissionPrivateCharles Town, WV
West Virginia University Institute of Technology$8,424$21,072$9,33733%37%PublicBeckley, WV
Fairmont State University$8,708$18,924$9,03244%99%PublicFairmont, WV
West Liberty University$8,893$17,442$15,36660%97%PublicWest Liberty, WV
Shepherd University$9,056$19,082$11,36351%97%PublicShepherdstown, WV
Marshall University$9,162$20,342$7,50251%96%PublicHuntington, WV
West Virginia State University$9,570$14,990$11,13939%96%PublicInstitute, WV
Glenville State University$9,578$11,354$14,00634%Open admissionPublicGlenville, WV
Huntington Junior College$10,050$10,050$9,42225%Open admissionPrivateHuntington, WV
Catholic Distance University$10,080$10,080$14,176100%Open admissionPrivateCharles Town, WV
West Virginia University$10,104$28,608$15,63465%89%PublicMorgantown, WV
Bluefield State University$10,648$18,376$13,68437%97%PublicBluefield, WV
Concord University$10,664$22,000$9,96639%93%PublicAthens, WV
Salem University$11,900$11,900$12,30320%Open admissionPrivateSalem, WV
Martinsburg CollegeNot reportedNot reported$11,95660%Open admissionPrivateMartinsburg, WV
Strayer University-West Virginia$13,920$13,920$16,943Not reportedOpen admissionPrivateScott Depot, WV
West Virginia Junior College-Bridgeport$14,798$14,798$15,36552%Open admissionPrivateBridgeport, WV
West Virginia Junior College-Charleston$14,798$14,798$12,88760%Open admissionPrivateCross Lanes, WV
West Virginia Junior College-Morgantown$14,798$14,798$15,52071%Open admissionPrivateMorgantown, WV
Appalachian Bible College$18,760$18,760$11,57971%78%PrivateMount Hope, WV
Wheeling University$29,875$29,875$20,50323%63%PrivateWheeling, WV
Davis & Elkins College$31,820$31,820$18,27339%94%PrivateElkins, WV
University of Charleston$33,800$33,800$22,10746%62%PrivateCharleston, WV
West Virginia Wesleyan College$34,090$34,090$18,08357%93%PrivateBuckhannon, WV
Bethany College$36,765$36,765$15,30647%59%PrivateBethany, WV
Future Generations UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedPrivateFranklin, WV
Valley College-MartinsburgNot reportedNot reported$25,75166%Open admissionPrivateMartinsburg, WV
West Virginia School of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedPublicLewisburg, WV

“Open admission” means the college reports an open-admission policy to the federal IPEDS survey (2024-25), or reported admitting every applicant. Programs such as nursing can still have their own entry requirements, so confirm with the college.

What the West Virginia cost data shows

  • West Virginia University at Parkersburg has the lowest published in-state tuition on this page at $4,612 per year. Published tuition is the sticker price and excludes housing, food, books, and fees.
  • Median published in-state tuition is $7,112 across the public colleges here and $14,798 across the private ones — a $7,686 difference at sticker price. Private colleges often discount heavily, so compare net price before ruling one out.
  • Median average net price is $11,471 across the 36 colleges here that report it. Net price includes housing and other costs, so it can exceed tuition alone.
  • 36 of the 38 colleges listed report an average net price, and 35 report a graduation rate. Blank cells mean the institution has not reported that figure to the federal collections — not that the value is zero.

How this list was built

This page lists colleges CampusPin holds for West Virginia, sorted by published in-state tuition, lowest first. That sort is the only ranking applied — there is no CampusPin score, no editorial ordering, and no “#1 cheapest” claim.

Published tuition is the sticker price for instruction. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, and fees. Average net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid, reported to federal collections for a prior entering class. Net price is an average across a whole cohort and varies substantially by family income, so treat it as a comparison tool between colleges rather than a prediction of your own bill.

Figures come from the institution’s federal reporting (38 of 38 West Virginia institutions report in-state tuition). Always confirm current costs with the college’s financial aid office before making a decision.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest college in West Virginia?
Of the 38 West Virginia colleges on this page, West Virginia University at Parkersburg in Parkersburg reports the lowest published in-state tuition at $4,612 per year. That is the sticker price before aid and before housing and food; the college's net price after grants may rank differently.
Is tuition the same as the total cost of college?
No. Published tuition covers instruction only. Total cost of attendance adds housing, food, books, transportation, and fees. Net price is what students actually paid on average after grant and scholarship aid was applied, and across the 36 West Virginia colleges reporting it here the median is $11,471. Compare all three before deciding a college is or isn't affordable.
Are public colleges cheaper than private colleges in West Virginia?
At sticker price, yes on this page: median published in-state tuition is $7,112 at the public colleges listed and $14,798 at the private ones. Private colleges typically discount more heavily through institutional grants, so the gap in net price is usually much smaller than the gap in tuition.
Will I personally pay these amounts at a West Virginia college?
Almost certainly not exactly. Net price varies widely by family income, and the figures here are averages across a previous entering class reported to federal collections. Use them to compare colleges against each other, then run the numbers for your own situation with the net price estimator and confirm with each financial aid office.

Keep going on CampusPin

Narrow this list with the full filter set, or put any two colleges side by side.

Costs change every academic year. Report a data issue.

Data sources & methodology

Cost, aid, and outcome figures for West Virginia colleges are compiled from federal datasets and each institution's own reporting.

Sources used across this page

Not every source informs every figure. Each data point draws on the source appropriate to it see the relevant section and the data dictionary for field-level provenance.

  • IPEDS / NCES College Navigator

    Federal enrollment, admissions, tuition, retention, and program data. Released annually with a 1–2 year lag.

  • U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard

    Net price by income band, post-graduation earnings, and federal aid context.

  • Institutional websites

    Each school's official admissions, registrar, and financial-aid pages are the authoritative source for current details.

Where a value is unavailable it is shown as unavailable, never as 0, free, or a negative judgment. Always confirm final details with the institution before applying.

Suggested citation

CampusPin. Affordable Colleges in West Virginia. Retrieved from https://campuspin.com/affordable-colleges/west-virginia