Early Childhood Education · Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania colleges that awarded Early Childhood Education credentials

58 colleges in Pennsylvania reported conferring Early Childhood Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 57 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Pennsylvania that conferred Early Childhood Education credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
West Chester University of Pennsylvania197Degree
Pennsylvania Western University147Degree
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania135Degree
Millersville University of Pennsylvania112Degree
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania102Degree
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania73Degree
Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania60Degree
Carlow University59Degree
Harrisburg Area Community College53Degree
Duquesne University52Degree
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania50Degree
Lackawanna College45Certificate only
Delaware County Community College44Degree
Bucks County Community College42Degree
Holy Family University37Degree
Eastern University36Degree
Saint Francis University36Degree
Grove City College35Degree
Northampton County Area Community College35Degree
Chestnut Hill College34Degree
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus30Degree
Marywood University30Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown27Degree
Lehigh Carbon Community College26Degree
Elizabethtown College25Degree
University of Scranton25Degree
Lebanon Valley College24Degree
Messiah University22Degree
Susquehanna University21Degree
Lancaster Bible College19Degree
York College of Pennsylvania17Degree
Arcadia University15Degree
DeSales University14Degree
Robert Morris University12Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Greensburg12Degree
Misericordia University11Degree
Saint Vincent College10Degree
Seton Hill University10Degree
Widener University10Degree
Wilson College10Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford9Degree
Westmoreland County Community College9Degree
Bucknell University8Degree
Cedar Crest College8Degree
La Roche University8Degree
Gannon University7Degree
Mount Aloysius College7Degree
Albright College6Degree
La Salle University6Degree
Manor College6Degree
Waynesburg University6Degree
Pennsylvania Highlands Community College5Degree
Alvernia University4Degree
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus4Degree
Cheyney University of Pennsylvania2Degree
Lincoln University2Degree
Chatham University1Degree
Northern Pennsylvania Regional College1Degree

How much of this field is in Pennsylvania

Credentials awarded
1,853
Share of U.S. total
5.6%
Colleges awarding it
58
Awarding a degree
57

Pennsylvania colleges conferred 1,853 Early Childhood Education credentials in 2024-25, which is 5.6% of the 33,344 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 58 colleges here, 57 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 3%, 54 credentials.
  • Associate: 13%, 240 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 79%, 1,460 credentials.
  • Graduate: 5%, 99 credentials.

Most Early Childhood Education credentials awarded in Pennsylvania were bachelor's degrees. That is 41 percentage points more weighted toward bachelor's degrees than the field nationally, where they are 38% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 11% of Pennsylvania’s Early Childhood Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Pennsylvania colleges cost

Median net price across the 54 of these 58 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Early Childhood Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$16,852
30-48k
$16,862
48-75k
$19,433
75-110k
$23,958
110k+
$26,572

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Pennsylvania colleges that reported awarding Early Childhood Education credentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public two-year7$6,143
Public four-year13$13,632
Private34$19,053

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $16,852 at these colleges, against $26,572 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Pennsylvania college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Pennsylvania — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Early Childhood Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Early Childhood Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Early Childhood Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education$62,34091,000Bachelor's degree
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education$37,12065,500Associate's degree
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special Education$61,43012,800Bachelor's degree
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$72,0905,600Doctoral or professional degree
Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Early Childhood Education in Pennsylvania

How many colleges in Pennsylvania awarded Early Childhood Education credentials?
58 colleges in Pennsylvania reported conferring Early Childhood Education credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 57 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 1,853 credentials in the fields covered.
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Early Childhood Education?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going