Special Education · Oklahoma

Oklahoma colleges that awarded Special Education credentials

9 colleges in Oklahoma reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 8 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Oklahoma that conferred Special Education credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Southeastern Oklahoma State University112Degree
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus63Degree
Northeastern State University23Degree
University of Central Oklahoma17Degree
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus14Certificate only
East Central University13Degree
Oklahoma Baptist University10Degree
Southwestern Oklahoma State University7Degree
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma5Degree

How much of this field is in Oklahoma

Credentials awarded
264
Share of U.S. total
0.8%
Colleges awarding it
9
Awarding a degree
8

Oklahoma colleges conferred 264 Special Education credentials in 2024-25, which is 0.8% of the 35,046 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 9 colleges here, 8 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 6%, 17 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 13%, 35 credentials.
  • Graduate: 80%, 212 credentials.

Most Special Education credentials awarded in Oklahoma were graduate degrees. That is 10 percentage points more weighted toward graduate degrees than the field nationally, where they are 70% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 42% of Oklahoma’s Special Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Oklahoma colleges cost

Median net price across the 8 of these 9 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Special Education program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$10,715
30-48k
$11,651
48-75k
$14,269
75-110k
$19,136
110k+
$20,660

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $10,715 at these colleges, against $20,660 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Oklahoma college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Oklahoma — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Special Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Special Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Special Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Special Education Teachers, Secondary School$69,59011,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Middle School$64,8806,300Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, All Other$67,4302,900Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Preschool$62,1902,100Bachelor's degree
Special Education Teachers, Elementary SchoolNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Special Education Teachers, KindergartenNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Special Education in Oklahoma

How many colleges in Oklahoma awarded Special Education credentials?
9 colleges in Oklahoma reported conferring Special Education credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 8 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 264 credentials in the fields covered.
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Special Education?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going