Substance Abuse Counseling · Ohio

Ohio colleges that awarded Substance Abuse Counseling credentials

23 colleges in Ohio reported conferring Substance Abuse Counseling credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 11 awarded a degree, and 12 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Ohio that conferred Substance Abuse Counseling credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Sinclair Community College228Degree
Columbus State Community College38Certificate only
Kent State University at Kent38Certificate only
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus37Degree
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College31Degree
Stark State College17Degree
Cleveland State University12Certificate only
Marion Technical College12Certificate only
Belmont College10Certificate only
Xavier University10Certificate only
Lorain County Community College9Degree
University of Akron Main Campus9Certificate only
Ohio Christian University8Degree
Clark State College7Degree
Shawnee State University7Certificate only
Ashland University5Degree
North Central State College5Certificate only
Tiffin University3Degree
John Carroll University2Certificate only
Southern State Community College2Degree
Malone University1Certificate only
The University of Findlay1Certificate only
Washington State Community College1Degree

Looking for Substance Abuse Counseling programs in Ohio? This page lists every college that reported awarding Substance Abuse Counseling credentials to the federal government in 2024-25 — 23 of them — with the credential level each one awarded. That is a record of credentials conferred, not a confirmation that a college is currently admitting students, so confirm current availability with the college before it changes where you apply.

How much of this field is in Ohio

Credentials awarded
493
Share of U.S. total
7.8%
Colleges awarding it
23
Awarding a degree
11

Ohio colleges conferred 493 Substance Abuse Counseling credentials in 2024-25, which is 7.8% of the 6,290 conferred across the 45 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 23 colleges here, 11 awarded a degree and 12 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 78%, 386 credentials.
  • Associate: 9%, 43 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 6%, 30 credentials.
  • Graduate: 7%, 34 credentials.

Most Substance Abuse Counseling credentials awarded in Ohio were certificates. That is 24 percentage points more weighted toward certificates than the field nationally, where they are 54% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 46% of Ohio’s Substance Abuse Counseling credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Ohio colleges cost

Median net price across the 22 of these 23 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Substance Abuse Counseling program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$12,764
30-48k
$12,904
48-75k
$15,197
75-110k
$18,270
110k+
$19,356

By the kind of college

The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:

Median net price for a family earning under $30,000, by kind of college, among Ohio colleges that reported awarding Substance Abuse Counseling credentials.
Kind of collegeCollegesMedian net price
Public four-year12$6,955
Private7$20,982

Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $12,764 at these colleges, against $19,356 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Ohio college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Ohio — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Substance Abuse Counseling graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Substance Abuse Counseling, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Substance Abuse Counseling, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary$105,62027,400Doctoral or professional degree
Mental Health CounselorsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Substance Abuse and Behavioral Disorder CounselorsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Substance Abuse Counseling in Ohio

How many colleges in Ohio awarded Substance Abuse Counseling credentials?
23 colleges in Ohio reported conferring Substance Abuse Counseling credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 11 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 493 credentials in the fields covered.
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Substance Abuse Counseling?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going