Health Sciences major
Health Sciences: courses, careers, and where to study
Health Sciences is a broad pre-professional major for students preparing for medical, dental, PA, PT, or pharmacy school, combining biology, chemistry, and patient-care exposure.
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Health Sciences earn a median $61,296 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $42,849 to $82,291 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard). By credential and college
Health Sciences is an umbrella undergraduate major covering the foundational sciences (biology, chemistry, physics, anatomy, physiology, microbiology) plus health-system context (epidemiology, public health, healthcare administration). It is a common pathway for students aiming at medical school, PA programs, dental school, physical therapy, occupational therapy, or pharmacy. Many programs include a clinical-shadowing or internship requirement.
Unlike a strict pre-med Biology track, Health Sciences leaves more room for healthcare-specific electives like medical ethics, healthcare policy, and global health. It also better positions graduates for direct-entry healthcare roles if they decide not to pursue further professional school.
Academic classification (CIP)
In the federal Classification of Instructional Programs, Health Sciences maps to CIP 51.0000, Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General, within the HEALTH PROFESSIONS AND RELATED PROGRAMS family. The official definition:
A general, introductory, undifferentiated, or joint program in health services occupations that prepares individuals for either entry into specialized training programs or for a variety of concentrations in the allied health area. Includes instruction in the basic sciences, research and clinical procedures, and aspects of the subject matter related to various health occupations.
Source: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 2020. View on nces.ed.gov
What credential Health Sciences is awarded as
Of the 45,005 Health Sciences credentials U.S. colleges reported conferring in 2024-25:
- Certificate: 14%, 6,323 credentials.
- Associate: 35%, 15,813 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 47%, 20,997 credentials.
- Graduate: 4%, 1,872 credentials.
This mix is fairly consistent nationally: across the 49 states reporting it, the certificate share moves by about 37 percentage points between the 10th and 90th percentile state, so the credential is more a property of the field than of where you study it. See the full study.
Credentials conferred in 2024-25, U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and this counts what was awarded rather than what a college currently offers.
What you'll study
- General biology, chemistry, organic chemistry
- Anatomy, physiology, microbiology
- Biochemistry
- Statistics and research methods
- Public health and epidemiology fundamentals
- Healthcare systems and policy
- Medical ethics
- Clinical or research internship
Typical careers
- Pre-medicine pathway → MD/DO
- Pre-PA pathway → PA-C
- Pre-dentistry pathway → DDS/DMD
- Public Health Specialist
- Healthcare Administrator
- Medical Sales Rep
Typical salary range: $48,000–$75,000 early-career (varies widely by sub-pathway)Ranges are early-career estimates. Any BLS figure shown is the occupation-wide median across all experience levels, not a starting wage, and is informational only.
How much do Health Sciences graduates earn?
Nationally, bachelor's graduates in Health Sciences earn a median $61,296 four years after graduating; the middle half of programs ranges from $42,849 to $82,291 (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard).
| Credential | National median | Middle half of programs |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | $61,296 | $42,849 to $82,291 |
| Associate's | $51,180 | $35,101 to $72,128 |
| Undergraduate certificate | $43,833 | $27,360 to $64,755 |
| Master's | $78,149 | $55,861 to $109,866 |
| Doctoral | $101,669 | $66,981 to $148,779 |
| Graduate certificate | $63,888 | $50,976 to $81,106 |
Compare Health Sciences programs in your state
Highest-earning bachelor's Health Sciences programs
- Touro University (NY): $135,742, median federal debt $12,500
- University of Delaware (DE): $107,695, median federal debt $26,168
- Seattle Central College (WA): $85,809, median federal debt $18,907
- Saint Joseph's University (PA): $84,658
- Dominican University of California (CA): $82,911, median federal debt $27,000
- University of Kentucky (KY): $82,533, median federal debt $23,000
- Mercy College of Ohio (OH): $80,420, median federal debt $26,559
- Lebanon Valley College (PA): $80,194
- Boston University (MA): $78,431, median federal debt $25,889
- Stony Brook University (NY): $77,075, median federal debt $19,000
Ordered by median earnings: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars, for graduates who received federal aid, worked and were not enrolled. Programs need at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort to be listed; multi-state systems whose figures pool campuses are not listed. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major. Graduate programs over the new federal loan caps.
Related occupations
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Health Sciences, with what each one pays and how many openings it is projected to average each year. Ordered by projected annual openings, largest first. Linked titles open the full CampusPin career page.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Projected change | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NO MATCH | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay, openings and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections).
“Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already working in the occupation. It is not a legal requirement, not an admission rule, and not a guarantee of entry. Studying Health Sciences does not guarantee any specific occupation, and many of these roles are entered from several different fields. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
The federal crosswalk associates only one occupation with Health Sciences. That is a statement about the field, not about its graduates: a breadth degree is not tied to a particular job, so the crosswalk has little to map. Graduates of this field work across many occupations, and what follows the degree depends far more on the skills and experience built alongside it.
Before you commit to a Health Sciences major
CampusPin does not rank programs. Use these prompts to pressure-test whether a specific Health Sciences program fits your goals, they are decision questions, not claims about any school.
Ask the Health Sciences department
- Which concentrations or specializations are offered, and which faculty lead them?
- What does the typical course sequence look like, and how much is required vs. elective?
- What labs, studios, clinical placements, or research opportunities are available to undergraduates?
- Is there a capstone, thesis, internship, or co-op requirement?
Ask current students & check the curriculum
- How heavy is the workload, and how accessible is the faculty?
- What internships or co-ops did you do, and where do recent graduates end up?
- Does the required curriculum actually match the careers listed above?
- How easy is it to add a minor, double major, or switch tracks later?
Find a Health Sciences program
CampusPin lists U.S. universities and community colleges by state, tuition, school size, acceptance rate, and campus setting, no account required.
Colleges that awarded the most Health Sciences credentials
Largest by credentials conferred in 2024-25. This measures the size of the graduating class, not quality, and it is not a ranking.
- Ultimate Medical Academy, FL · 2,671 credentials
- University of South Florida, FL · 1,124 credentials
- Sierra College, CA · 965 credentials
- University of Central Florida, FL · 945 credentials
- Purdue University Global, IN · 907 credentials
- Utah Valley University, UT · 888 credentials
- California State University-Sacramento, CA · 650 credentials
- Pasadena City College, CA · 646 credentials
- Fresno City College, CA · 582 credentials
- South Arkansas College, AR · 573 credentials
- University of Missouri-Columbia, MO · 541 credentials
- Stony Brook University, NY · 498 credentials
Based on credentials this institution reported conferring in the federal IPEDS completions collection for 2024-25. It confirms the field was awarded that year, not that the program currently accepts students, and it covers only the fields CampusPin tracks. Confirm current offerings with the institution.
Where Health Sciences credentials were awarded
37 states have a distinct enough set of Health Sciences colleges to be worth its own page.
- California: 107 colleges
- New York: 55 colleges
- Texas: 52 colleges
- Pennsylvania: 40 colleges
- Georgia: 31 colleges
- Massachusetts: 31 colleges
- New Jersey: 28 colleges
- Florida: 26 colleges
- Minnesota: 26 colleges
- Missouri: 25 colleges
- Illinois: 23 colleges
- Kentucky: 21 colleges
- Michigan: 19 colleges
- Virginia: 18 colleges
- Indiana: 17 colleges
- Wisconsin: 16 colleges
- Arizona: 12 colleges
- Connecticut: 11 colleges
- Alabama: 11 colleges
- Louisiana: 10 colleges
- Washington: 10 colleges
- Oklahoma: 9 colleges
- Oregon: 9 colleges
- Maine: 9 colleges
- Colorado: 9 colleges
- Tennessee: 8 colleges
- Maryland: 8 colleges
- West Virginia: 8 colleges
- Kansas: 8 colleges
- South Carolina: 8 colleges
- Iowa: 7 colleges
- Nebraska: 7 colleges
- Idaho: 6 colleges
- Nevada: 6 colleges
- Montana: 6 colleges
- Rhode Island: 5 colleges
- North Dakota: 5 colleges
Health Sciences by state
Every Health Sciences program with its own CampusPin page
79 programs in 25 states, A to Z by state and then by college. Each page gives what the program's graduates earned four years after finishing, what they borrowed in federal loans, the monthly payment, and how the program compares with others in its state and the nation. The figure beside each college is the median for its largest credential with at least 30 graduates (U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23). The list is alphabetical; it is not a ranking.
Health Sciences programs in Arizona, 1 program
- Arizona State University Campus Immersion Bachelor's, $64,696
Health Sciences programs in Arkansas, 4 programs
- East Arkansas Community College Certificate, $58,763
- National Park College Certificate, $59,079
- NorthWest Arkansas Community College Certificate, $53,283
- University of Arkansas at Little Rock Bachelor's, $46,276
Health Sciences programs in California, 8 programs
- California State University-Channel Islands Bachelor's, $58,396
- California State University-Chico Bachelor's, $69,303
- California State University-East Bay Bachelor's, $68,231
- California State University-Fullerton Bachelor's, $54,244
- California State University-Sacramento Bachelor's, $67,182
- California State University-San Bernardino Bachelor's, $45,977
- San Diego State University Bachelor's, $73,095
- San Francisco State University Bachelor's, $65,252
Health Sciences programs in Colorado, 2 programs
- University of Colorado Colorado Springs Bachelor's, $60,605
- University of Northern Colorado Bachelor's, $54,921
Health Sciences programs in Connecticut, 1 program
- Eastern Connecticut State University Bachelor's, $61,190
Health Sciences programs in Florida, 9 programs
- Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Bachelor's, $46,081
- Florida Gulf Coast University Bachelor's, $54,006
- Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale Bachelor's, $54,184
- Seminole State College of Florida Bachelor's, $59,669
- University of Central Florida Bachelor's, $56,148
- University of Florida Bachelor's, $74,152
- University of North Florida Bachelor's, $53,540
- University of South Florida Bachelor's, $56,452
- University of West Florida Bachelor's, $55,704
Health Sciences programs in Georgia, 1 program
- Columbus State University Bachelor's, $45,997
Health Sciences programs in Idaho, 1 program
- Idaho State University Bachelor's, $48,828
Health Sciences programs in Illinois, 1 program
- DePaul University Bachelor's, $62,693
Health Sciences programs in Indiana, 2 programs
- Indiana University-Kokomo Bachelor's, $41,830
- Purdue University Global Bachelor's, $54,526
Health Sciences programs in Kentucky, 2 programs
- Northern Kentucky University Bachelor's, $73,478
- Spalding University Bachelor's, $59,761
Health Sciences programs in Maine, 2 programs
- Husson University Bachelor's, $61,215
- University of New England Bachelor's, $69,190
Health Sciences programs in Maryland, 1 program
- Towson University Bachelor's, $65,108
Health Sciences programs in Massachusetts, 2 programs
- Boston University Bachelor's, $78,431
- Springfield College Bachelor's, $76,417
Health Sciences programs in Minnesota, 2 programs
- University of Minnesota Twin Cities Bachelor's, $74,079
- Walden University Bachelor's, $61,434
Health Sciences programs in Missouri, 3 programs
- University of Central Missouri Bachelor's, $53,677
- University of Missouri-Columbia Bachelor's, $69,333
- University of Missouri-Kansas City Bachelor's, $58,973
Health Sciences programs in Nevada, 1 program
- University of Nevada-Reno Bachelor's, $63,049
Health Sciences programs in New Hampshire, 3 programs
- Franklin Pierce University Bachelor's, $69,449
- Keene State College Bachelor's, $55,913
- Southern New Hampshire University Bachelor's, $74,693
Health Sciences programs in New Jersey, 6 programs
- Monmouth University Bachelor's, $75,353
- New Jersey City University Bachelor's, $52,151
- Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester Campus Associate's, $47,381
- Rowan University Bachelor's, $55,839
- Rutgers University-New Brunswick Bachelor's, $68,108
- Stockton University Bachelor's, $63,295
Health Sciences programs in New York, 8 programs
- CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College Associate's, $54,599
- CUNY Queensborough Community College Associate's, $44,067
- CUNY York College Bachelor's, $60,346
- North Country Community College Associate's, $72,163
- Stony Brook University Bachelor's, $77,075
- SUNY Broome Community College Associate's, $47,859
- Touro University Bachelor's, $135,742
- Utica University Bachelor's, $62,369
Health Sciences programs in Ohio, 1 program
- Bowling Green State University-Main Campus Bachelor's, $54,424
Health Sciences programs in Pennsylvania, 6 programs
- Alvernia University Bachelor's, $56,203
- Community College of Philadelphia Associate's, $52,373
- Delaware County Community College Associate's, $49,487
- Misericordia University Bachelor's, $68,418
- Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Bachelor's, $63,001
- Thomas Jefferson University Bachelor's, $71,608
Health Sciences programs in South Dakota, 1 program
- University of South Dakota Bachelor's, $61,518
Health Sciences programs in Texas, 9 programs
- Prairie View A & M University Bachelor's, $50,657
- Stephen F Austin State University Bachelor's, $52,716
- Texas A & M University-College Station Bachelor's, $69,815
- Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi Bachelor's, $51,909
- Texas Woman's University Bachelor's, $58,585
- The University of Texas at Dallas Bachelor's, $65,617
- The University of Texas at San Antonio Bachelor's, $53,757
- University of Houston Bachelor's, $54,471
- West Texas A & M University Bachelor's, $51,397
Health Sciences programs in Washington, 2 programs
- Seattle Central College Bachelor's, $85,809
- University of Washington-Seattle Campus Bachelor's, $61,062
Related majors
Biology
Biology is the foundational pre-health major, covering molecular, cellular, organismal, and ecological levels of living systems.
Nursing
Nursing prepares graduates for the NCLEX-RN licensure exam and careers as Registered Nurses, combining biomedical sciences with clinical rotations across hospital units.
Psychology
Psychology majors study human cognition, behavior, and emotion, preparing graduates for clinical, research, business, and human-services careers (and graduate school in clinical, counseling, and I/O psych).
Put this major in context
The salary above is an occupation-wide median from federal data, not a starting wage or a guarantee. These CampusPin guides and reports help you read it well, see where a Health Sciences degree can lead, and weigh it against cost and program quality.
How one major leads to many careers
Why a single Health Sciences degree can open more than one path, and how to read the occupations above.
Why a median wage is not a starting salary
How to read a BLS median, and why early-career pay usually sits below it.
When accreditation and licensure matter
How program accreditation and state licensure can shape a Health Sciences path before you enroll.
Does a pricier college pay off?
How college cost lines up with graduation and earnings, an association, not a ranking.
Does picking a major narrow your college list?
Across the federal completions data, most fields barely change which colleges are on the table. Which ones genuinely do.
Certificate or degree?
What credential a field is usually awarded as is mostly set by the field itself, not by the state, with a short list of exceptions.
How this guide is sourced
This is an editorial guide from the CampusPin Editorial Team. Career and wage figures are from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, occupation-wide medians across all experience levels, not starting wages, and link to each career page. Program availability comes from CampusPin's free institution search; CampusPin does not assert that any specific school offers this exact major until that program data is verified. Last reviewed 2026-06-15. How CampusPin sources data · Report a correction.