Early Childhood Education · North Carolina

North Carolina colleges that awarded Early Childhood Education credentials

59 colleges in North Carolina reported conferring Early Childhood Education credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 59 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in North Carolina that conferred Early Childhood Education credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Wake Technical Community College233Degree
Forsyth Technical Community College198Degree
Central Piedmont Community College164Degree
Alamance Community College145Degree
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill116Degree
James Sprunt Community College104Degree
Pitt Community College103Degree
Guilford Technical Community College97Degree
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College91Degree
Beaufort County Community College81Degree
Fayetteville Technical Community College72Degree
Cleveland Community College66Degree
Stanly Community College64Degree
Randolph Community College58Degree
Wayne Community College53Degree
Durham Technical Community College47Degree
University of North Carolina at Greensboro45Degree
Sandhills Community College44Degree
University of Mount Olive44Degree
Gaston College40Degree
Craven Community College38Degree
Wilkes Community College37Degree
Coastal Carolina Community College36Degree
Piedmont Community College36Degree
Surry Community College34Degree
South Piedmont Community College31Degree
Western Piedmont Community College27Degree
Mitchell Community College26Degree
Brunswick Community College24Degree
Vance-Granville Community College24Degree
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College22Degree
Pamlico Community College22Degree
Edgecombe Community College21Degree
Fayetteville State University21Degree
Montgomery Community College21Degree
Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute20Degree
Wilson Community College20Degree
Cape Fear Community College17Degree
College of the Albemarle17Degree
Sampson Community College17Degree
Bladen Community College16Degree
Central Carolina Community College16Degree
Johnston Community College14Degree
Lenoir Community College14Degree
Richmond Community College13Degree
Robeson Community College13Degree
Catawba Valley Community College12Degree
McDowell Technical Community College12Degree
Roanoke-Chowan Community College11Degree
Haywood Community College10Degree
Nash Community College9Degree
Tri-County Community College9Degree
Isothermal Community College8Degree
Davidson-Davie Community College6Degree
Martin Community College6Degree
Shaw University5Degree
Rockingham Community College4Degree
Brevard College1Degree
Halifax Community College1Degree

How much of this field is in North Carolina

Credentials awarded
2,556
Share of U.S. total
7.7%
Colleges awarding it
59
Awarding a degree
59

North Carolina colleges conferred 2,556 Early Childhood Education credentials in 2024-25, which is 7.7% of the 33,344 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 59 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Certificates: 65%, 1,652 credentials.
  • Associate: 26%, 672 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 8%, 199 credentials.
  • Graduate: 1%, 33 credentials.

Most Early Childhood Education credentials awarded in North Carolina were certificates. That is 30 percentage points less weighted toward bachelor's degrees than the field nationally, where they are 38% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 9% of North Carolina’s Early Childhood Education credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in North Carolina — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Early Childhood Education graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Early Childhood Education, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Early Childhood Education, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education$62,34091,000Bachelor's degree
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education$37,12065,500Associate's degree
Kindergarten Teachers, Except Special Education$61,43012,800Bachelor's degree
Education Teachers, Postsecondary$72,0905,600Doctoral or professional degree
Teaching Assistants, Preschool, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary School, Except Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants, Special EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Early Childhood Education in North Carolina

How many colleges in North Carolina awarded Early Childhood Education credentials?
59 colleges in North Carolina reported conferring Early Childhood Education credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 59 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 2,556 credentials in the fields covered.
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Early Childhood Education?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going