Health Sciences · Virginia
Virginia colleges that awarded Health Sciences credentials
18 colleges in Virginia reported conferring Health Sciences credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 17 awarded a degree, and 1 awarded only a certificate. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.
Quick answers
- How much do Health Sciences graduates of Virginia bachelor's programs earn?
- Graduates of the typical Virginia bachelor's program in Health Sciences earned a median $59,645 four years after graduating, 3% below the $61,296 national median for the same credential (1 programs, College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
- Which Health Sciences programs in Virginia have the highest graduate earnings?
- Among 1 Virginia bachelor's programs in Health Sciences, Marymount University graduates had the highest median, $59,645 four years after graduating (College Scorecard, 2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23).
Colleges and what they awarded
Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.
| College | Credentials awarded | Highest level |
|---|---|---|
| James Madison University | 433 | Degree |
| Liberty University | 306 | Degree |
| Northern Virginia Community College | 200 | Degree |
| Brightpoint Community College | 97 | Degree |
| Virginia Peninsula Community College | 76 | Degree |
| Marymount University | 33 | Degree |
| Hampton University | 23 | Degree |
| Mary Baldwin University | 21 | Degree |
| Radford University | 18 | Degree |
| Virginia Wesleyan University | 10 | Degree |
| Virginia Western Community College | 4 | Degree |
| J Sargeant Reynolds Community College | 3 | Degree |
| Laurel Ridge Community College | 3 | Degree |
| Shenandoah University | 3 | Certificate only |
| South University-Virginia Beach | 2 | Degree |
| Wytheville Community College | 2 | Degree |
| Regent University | 1 | Degree |
| South University-Richmond | 1 | Degree |
Which Health Sciences programs in Virginia have the highest graduate earnings?
Among 1 Virginia bachelor's programs in Health Sciences with federal earnings data, Marymount University graduates earn the highest median, $59,645 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $25,078. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $61,296. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
Compare these programs and share the results
Bachelor's programs · 1 with earnings data · national median $61,296
| College | Median earnings, 4 yrs after | 1 yr after (later class) | Debt borrowed at this college (median) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marymount University | $59,645 | $25,727 | $25,078 |
Add this table to your website (counselors, libraries, aid offices)
Copy the HTML below into any web page. It is plain HTML with no script and no tracking; it shows the ten bachelor's programs above with their period and source, and links back to this page.
Ordered by median earnings four years after graduating: one federal measure, not a ranking of program quality. Federal program group: Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General. Earnings: graduates of 2017-18 and 2018-19, earnings measured in 2022 and 2023, in 2024 dollars. The one-year column is a later class (graduates of 2018-19 and 2019-20, measured in 2020 and 2021, in 2022 dollars), so it is not the same graduates' pay a few years earlier. Only programs with at least 30 graduates in the earnings cohort are listed. Median earnings of graduates who received federal student aid, worked, and were not enrolled in school; debt is the median federal loans borrowed at this college by graduates who borrowed (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized and Grad PLUS; not Parent PLUS, private loans or interest). Programs with too few graduates are suppressed by the Department of Education. Earnings reflect who enrolls and where graduates live as well as the program itself. Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, 10 June 2026. How much the college matters, by major.
How much of this field is in Virginia
- Credentials awarded
- 1,236
- Share of U.S. total
- 2.7%
- Colleges awarding it
- 18
- Awarding a degree
- 17
Virginia colleges conferred 1,236 Health Sciences credentials in 2024-25, which is 2.7% of the 45,005 conferred across the 51 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 18 colleges here, 17 awarded a degree and 1 awarded only a certificate. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.
What level those credentials were
- Certificates: 2%, 28 credentials.
- Associate: 31%, 386 credentials.
- Bachelor's: 60%, 744 credentials.
- Graduate: 6%, 78 credentials.
Most Health Sciences credentials awarded in Virginia were bachelor's degrees. That is 14 percentage points more weighted toward bachelor's degrees than the field nationally, where they are 47% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.
We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?
How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 35% of Virginia’s Health Sciences credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.
What these Virginia colleges cost
Median net price across the 14 of these 18 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Health Sciences program specifically, and not a quote for any family.
- 0-30k
- $10,936
- 30-48k
- $12,028
- 48-75k
- $15,590
- 75-110k
- $20,233
- 110k+
- $20,764
By the kind of college
The figure above averages very different institutions together. Split by federal sector, for a family earning under $30,000:
| Kind of college | Colleges | Median net price |
|---|---|---|
| Public two-year | 6 | $4,511 |
| Private | 6 | $20,323 |
Sector is the federal classification (IPEDS ICLEVEL and CONTROL). Private covers both nonprofit and for-profit colleges, which CampusPin does not split here because the for-profit sample in a single state is usually too small to publish a median. Each row needs at least five colleges reporting net price, so a sector with fewer is left out rather than estimated.
A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $10,936 at these colleges, against $20,764 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Virginia college by income band.
What this evidence does and does not prove
This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.
How this list was built
From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.
This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Virginia — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?
What Health Sciences graduates go on to do
Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Health Sciences, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.
| Occupation | Median pay | Openings / yr | Most entrants hold |
|---|---|---|---|
| NO MATCH | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.
Questions about Health Sciences in Virginia
- How many colleges in Virginia awarded Health Sciences credentials?
- 18 colleges in Virginia reported conferring Health Sciences credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 17 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 1,236 credentials in the fields covered.
- Which Health Sciences programs in Virginia have the highest graduate earnings?
- Among 1 Virginia bachelor's programs in Health Sciences with federal earnings data, Marymount University graduates earn the highest median, $59,645 four years after graduating, with a median federal debt of $25,078. The national median for bachelor's graduates in the same program is $61,296. (2017-19 graduates, measured 2022-23, College Scorecard.)
- Does this mean these colleges currently offer Health Sciences?
- Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
- Is a college missing from this list?
- Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.