Medical Laboratory Science · Michigan

Michigan colleges that awarded Medical Laboratory Science credentials

11 colleges in Michigan reported conferring Medical Laboratory Science credentials to the federal IPEDS collection in 2024-25, and every one of them also awarded in the year before. 11 awarded a degree. That is a record of credentials already awarded, not confirmation that a program is currently admitting.

Colleges and what they awarded

Largest first by credentials conferred in 2024-25. That order measures the size of the graduating class and nothing else: it is not a ranking, and the largest entry is often a certificate provider rather than the strongest degree program. The credential is labelled on every row for exactly that reason.

Colleges in Michigan that conferred Medical Laboratory Science credentials in 2024-25, with the number awarded and whether any was a degree.
CollegeCredentials awardedHighest level
Michigan State University69Degree
Grand Valley State University19Degree
Michigan Technological University19Degree
Andrews University17Degree
Ferris State University15Degree
Wayne State University12Degree
Eastern Michigan University11Degree
Northern Michigan University11Degree
Oakland University11Degree
Saginaw Valley State University11Degree
Alpena Community College3Degree

How much of this field is in Michigan

Credentials awarded
198
Share of U.S. total
4.9%
Colleges awarding it
11
Awarding a degree
11

Michigan colleges conferred 198 Medical Laboratory Science credentials in 2024-25, which is 4.9% of the 4,029 conferred across the 46 U.S. jurisdictions reporting any. Of the 11 colleges here, every one awarded a degree. These counts measure the size of graduating classes, not program quality, and not how many students are currently enrolled.

What level those credentials were

  • Associate: 2%, 3 credentials.
  • Bachelor's: 97%, 193 credentials.
  • Graduate: 1%, 2 credentials.

Most Medical Laboratory Science credentials awarded in Michigan were bachelor's degrees. That is 17 percentage points more weighted toward bachelor's degrees than the field nationally, where they are 80% of credentials. A certificate is a different credential from a degree, not a lesser one, and the level a program awards is set by the program rather than by the student.

We measured how much this varies nationwide, and for most fields the credential level is set by the field rather than the state: is your major a certificate or a degree?

How concentrated it is. The single college with the largest reported graduating class in this field accounted for 35% of Michigan’s Medical Laboratory Science credentials. Activity is spread across several institutions rather than sitting with one.

What these Michigan colleges cost

Median net price across the 11 of these 11 colleges that report it, by family income. Net price is what students receiving federal aid actually paid for the WHOLE college after grants and scholarships, so it is not the price of a Medical Laboratory Science program specifically, and not a quote for any family.

0-30k
$9,098
30-48k
$11,390
48-75k
$13,963
75-110k
$18,508
110k+
$22,274

A family earning under $30,000 paid a median of $9,098 at these colleges, against $22,274 for a family earning over $110,000. Individual colleges vary widely around these medians. See every Michigan college by income band.

What this evidence does and does not prove

This lists colleges that reported conferring credentials in this field to the federal IPEDS completions collection, in both 2023-24 and 2024-25. It does not confirm that any of them is currently admitting students to the program, and a college can appear here after deciding to close it. Confirm with the institution before it affects where you apply.

How this list was built

From the U.S. Department of Education IPEDS completions collection, matched to each college on its exact federal program classification. A college appears only if it conferred credentials in both 2023-24 and 2024-25, which is what separates a running program from one that has already closed.

This page exists because its list of colleges is materially different from that of every closely related field in Michigan — the fields a reader could otherwise mistake it for, such as two engineering disciplines, or nursing and practical nursing. Where a related field resolves to the same colleges, the second page would be the first one with its title changed, and CampusPin does not publish it. Sharing colleges with an unrelated field is different, and not a reason to withhold the page: in most states the same colleges award business, psychology and biology alike, which says something about the colleges rather than about the fields. We measured exactly how often that happens, and published the result: does choosing a major narrow your college list?

What Medical Laboratory Science graduates go on to do

Occupations the federal CIP–SOC crosswalk associates with Medical Laboratory Science, ordered by projected annual openings. National figures: openings and pay do not vary by where you studied, and the crosswalk describes related fields rather than a required or guaranteed path.

Occupations associated with Medical Laboratory Science, with median annual wage, projected annual openings, and the education most entrants hold.
OccupationMedian payOpenings / yrMost entrants hold
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary$105,62027,400Doctoral or professional degree
Medical and Clinical Laboratory TechnologistsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Crosswalk: U.S. Department of Education (NCES), CIP 2020 to SOC 2018. Pay and projections: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 wages, Employment Projections). “Most entrants hold” is what BLS observes about people already in the occupation, not a legal requirement, an admission rule, or a guarantee of entry. Projected openings are a projection, not jobs promised.

Questions about Medical Laboratory Science in Michigan

How many colleges in Michigan awarded Medical Laboratory Science credentials?
11 colleges in Michigan reported conferring Medical Laboratory Science credentials to the federal IPEDS completions collection in 2024-25, 11 of them a degree rather than only a certificate. Together they awarded 198 credentials in the fields covered.
Does this mean these colleges currently offer Medical Laboratory Science?
Not necessarily. Completions record credentials already awarded, so they confirm a program ran and graduated students. They do not confirm it is still admitting. Every college here also awarded in the prior year, which makes a closed program less likely, but confirm directly with the institution before it affects where you apply.
Is a college missing from this list?
Possibly. A new program with no graduates yet does not appear, and CampusPin matches the federal classification exactly rather than guessing, so a college filing under a neighbouring code is absent. Absence is never evidence a program does not exist.

Keep going